We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable in many ways”
Review of La Baia di Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Baia di Rio
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

First, don't stay in Riomaggiori. Restaurants tend to overcharge and under-deliver. Marcella at the Baia di Rio works hard to accomodate guests by picking up guests at the train station and offering restaurant suggestions, but don't expect a regular hotel room. Prepare for 1) a 10 to 15 minute uphill hike carrying your luggage through a cobblestone road looking for the hotel from the train station unless you arrange for a pick -up; 2) a very, VERY small shower; 3) sheer window curtains that do not offer privacy; 4) a 10 minute walk to get a cup of coffee in the morning. The hotel does not offer any services beyond a room to sleep. A dissapointment for us. If you must visit Cinque Terre, a better bet would be to find a room at Monterossa or Vernazza.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mariccabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for La Baia di Rio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were staying at Christopher Columbus, view the sea at right and city at front and left on balcony. A very lovely view. The quiet yet vigorously city viewed on bed when wake up is great. The host is thoughtful and helpful. We are specially grateful to her help on our big luggages as we travelled city to city one way, coming from Hong Kong, and we arrived around 9-ish pm as our booked earlier train has just cancelled last minute when we were waiting on platform!! After few calls updating our situation, she picked us up near station exit and sent us to the place, told us the direction to dining places. Walked-in to La Lampara, food is great and want to come back for the Pesce al Forno (sea bream in tomato sauce) and the fish soup! The dinner place Dau Cila suggested by the host is absolutely great and highlight of our tour of Cinque Terre, with stunning sea view, great food and wine, and excellent service.

Room Tip: Check out their website to choose the room and view you like, clear info!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My and I spent two night this past week in Cinque Terre (both nights at Baia di Rio), and I can say that without a doubt it was the best decision.

We arrived almost 2 hours late from La Spezia (due to some delays out of Pisa and La Spezia), and found ourselves trying to make our way around the small town in the dark. Note: in hindsight, it would have been best to try to find a way to inform Maristella, the host, of our delay, but unfortunately, there was no wifi to be had (and we opted not to get an international calling/data plan).

After 15-20 minutes of walking around the small streets and ristorantes, I finally gave in and tried to get directions from a local woman, who did her best to give me turn-by-turn in italian (haha). I had an idea of hotel was based on pictures and rough google map placement, but even armed with those two things, we found it challenging to navigate the steps up to the level of the hotel.

Eventually, we came upon Baia di Rio, and by the time we got to the front door, Maristella, our host greeted us very warmly; given our delay, I was extremely appreciative that she stayed as long as she did to let us in (she does not reside at the hotel).

She helped us get settled into our room, gave us some tips about getting around the town (showed us a much much quicker way from the train station), and even made dinner reservations for us for the nights we were there. Everything was extremely helpful given how tired we were from a full day of travel, and it made the transition that much easier.

We stayed in the Abel Talsman room, which (other than the Marco Polo room) has the best view in all of Riomaggiore - at least that's what I found. We had a gorgeous view from the top of the town of both the sea, the wharf, up the Main Street, the town, and the mountainside. If you are looking for views and ease of access to the train station, THIS is your hotel.

After seeing the other towns, I was very glad I chose to stay in Riomaggiore; my only other choice would have been Vernazza. The town offers a good selection of restaurants, one of which we spent our anniversary dinner at (amazing seafood, wine, and pasta).

The hotel is a quick 5-10 minute walk down the hill to the train station, and about a 2-3 minute walk (stair descent) from the main boulevard. Get your legs ready for climbing!

The only downside I found was that there wasn't any soap/shampoo available, but we had collected some from our other hotels, so it was no issue. If you needed to, you could always buy some I town.

Thank you Maristella!

Room Tip: The Marco Polo and Abel Talsman rooms have the best views; the Marco Polo has a nice terrace, and th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Amazing view from our top floor room (Marco Polo). This place is spectacular. Apartment was clean, bed was comfortable, kitchen was stocked, powerful hot shower. Huge patio with expansive views of the village and the sea. We rented a car and parked it at the owners house. The owners Emiliano and his mother are very friendly and professional. Best part of our honeymoon was sitting out on the patio overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Marco Polo is amazing. Stayed here on honeymoon
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NatashaIGillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We were met at the train station and escorted up the hill to this lovely hotel. Emiliano and his mother couldn't have been nicer. They gave us a lot of helpful tips for making the most of our stay during the off season when most of the town was closed! The Marco Polo suite was fabulous because of its long range views and convenient kitchenette. Highly recommend this sweet spot.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank atltrav39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were met at our train and escorted to the apartment. He was so friendly and gave us a ton of information on Cinque Terre including hiking, restaurants and train operation. He was available by email and very prompt with his responses. We booked 2 rooms with gorgeous views of the town, sunset and sea. The also included wifi, a bonus for the kids!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A1152014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The place is spectacular. The very nice gentleman met us at the train even though we were EIGHT hours late arriving from Milan (our flight was delayed arriving). We'd hoped to arrive mid afternoon, but it was 10pm. dark. The train was empty for the last few stops, and we were worried about getting off at the right stop. Several other reviewers mention that the train stops inside a tunnel, so get off as far to the front of the train as possible. But the wonderful gentleman met us and helped us walk our rolling suitcases up the easy to walk wide path to the beautiful apartment. Fantastic deck and views. Great location. Great village. One hangup. The railroad planned a strike the day we were leaving so we had to throw away our prepaid tickets and book a 5am train to Florence. We talked to several different train personnel and there was no other option for a refund or change of ticket. But La Baia? Wonderful.

Room Tip: We had the Marco Polo suite on the top floor which was very nice... you could see in 3 directions...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Locanda Ca da Iride
Locanda Ca da Iride
#5 of 11 in Riomaggiore
104 reviews
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#16 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere Edi
Affittacamere Edi
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia di Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia di Rio

Address: Via Telemaco Signorini #177, Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Baia Di Rio Hotel Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing