We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Baia di Rio
Nearby Hotels
US$100
US$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Luna di Marzo(Riomaggiore)
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Scogliera(Riomaggiore)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NiRia(Riomaggiore)
Sol Levante(Riomaggiore)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Locanda del Sole(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locanda Ca da Iride(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Due Gemelli(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Affittacamere Edi(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
265
98
22
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
98
22
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames cookabel tasmanmarco polohis mothertrain stationthe ownercinque terresmall kitchenetterented roomsamazing viewsfamily runpastathree nightsparking garageyour luggagegreat hostsbottle of wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at La Baia di Rio. We had a difficult time finding the B&B and ended up at the tourist office at the very top of the hill. The hostess met us at the top and helped us carry luggage back down to La Baia. Our view from the Abel Tasman room was absolutely breathtaking. The hostess made our dinner reservations at a restaurant that she recommended, and it was the best meal we had in Italy. Because she had made our reservation, they gave us free Prosecco when we got to our table. She was a pleasure and the room was great. We will definitely be staying here again.

Side note: you do have to be in fairly good shape to climb the stairs from the marina area or just take lots of breaks on your way up and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Abel Tasman room which has a beautiful balcony view of both the ocean and the colorful houses. We slept with the windows open and fell asleep to the cool breeze and ocean waves. I would definitely get this room again.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent two nights at the end of April in the Cristoforo Colombo room. Amazing views of Riomaggiore and the ocean! Clean, well kept room, with comfortable beds. Our hostess was amazingly friendly and offered a lot of helpful suggestions for what to do in our short two days! I would return here in a heartbeat and recommend it very much!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had the opportunity to stay in both the top-end room (the "Marco Polo") and the small basement room (nameless) for a total of 3 nights.

The Marco Polo Suite has undoubtedly the best view in Riomaggiore. It straddles the cliff-face close to the sea but also allows an unobstructed view of the picturesque town (see photos, but go and take your own too). Sunrise and Sunset views are fantastic as you survey the entire scenery from your balcony. This is the penthouse room of course, and thus is spacious.

We also stayed our last night in what I would fondly call a dungeon due to unavailability of the Marco Polo at time of booking. What a change - inability to swing the proverbial cat; small toilet/shower (needed to hang a towel over the bathroom window to prevent direct embarrassing view by neighbours). However, the room is clean. We weren't too fussed as we had planned this last day for hiking and was in the room for minimal required time.

Good: Once again, Views from Marco Polo is unrivalled in Riomaggiore. We were in constant contact with the very helpful Maristella - who guided us from organising personal transport (10E for car ride up from station + driver lugging heavy luggage up 4 flights of stairs), to recommending dinner spots.

Bad: Wifi is very tempermental and almost unusable at times during the length of our stay - for both the Marco Polo and our dungeon.

Would we recommend this hotel? Yes: if you stay in the Marco Polo, you will love it. The small basement room is not bad if your aim is hiking and visiting other towns and only need a place to stay the night.

Room Tip: Book early, rooms tend disappear fast in Cinque Terre. The Marco Polo is the room to get if you're visiting here.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An0nym0us0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Recently spent 2 nights at La baia di Rio and cannot fault it in any way. Great location, amazing view, clean room with the most comfortable bed we`d had in all of Italy!, free car parking and Maristella and her son Emiliano couldn`t have been more helpful. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony and seaview, its worth paying the extra 25 euros a night
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pietuf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location, basic amenities but perfect for a few days as a base to explore the. Cinque Terre.
Given great tips the first day on where to eat visit where to avoid and what the hot spots were.
So easy to get around from this area in Riomaggiore.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone who doesn't mind climbing a,of of steps and who appreciates a great view when you get up in the morning, would definitely go back and this time would book the room with a balcony unfortunately it was taken, but we upgraded our room at a reduced price thanks to Emiliano who kindly advised that there was a cancellation and if I was interested in a larger room which I jumped at the chance, wasn't disappointed at all.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Conneelyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews