We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware: "la baia di rio" has two different addresses...”
Review of La Baia di Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Baia di Rio
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beware: "la baia di rio" has two different addresses...”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked at very short notice and were delighted that we were offered a large room with a view and balcony. As I assumed that this was a very good deal, I made a reservation for all our three nights in cinque terre. When we arrived, I was disappointed to find that the room reserved for us was not in the building advertised on the internet site and trip advisor. The room is in the gound floor of the building where the owner of La Baia di Rio lives. The building is on the outskirts of town, further up and away from the sea. When we addressed the discrepancy, the owner said that she had informed us and also sent us pictures. When going through our correspondence, it does in fact say the address of the building, but she did not write that it was a different address and we had no chance of comparing this address with the address of the "real" la baia di rio as this is not given at the internet site and there were no photos or links to photos of the place we were assigned. Feeling mislead, but not finding other such experiences on TA, I have concluded that the owner probably forgot to inform about this / send us pictures. However our neighbor (there is also a small apartment on the same floor with its own terrace) also had a dispute with her about this issue.. I asked her to be aware of this in the future so others do not experience the same thing...
That being said, we decided to stay our three nights. Traveling with a young child and arriving late, it wasn't worth the hassle of finding a new room. The room itself was ok, quite large, including two single and one double bed as well as a sofa bed, fridge and small dining table. There are also four glasses and a platter. No eating utensils. The bathroom was quite new, of good quality -it had a modern shower with plenty of hot water. There were many windows but these were high on the wall - not normal windows. They were sufficient to ventilate the room. We were given towels and they were changed after two nights. There was soap in the bathroom and a hairdryer. There was a terrace running along the length of the room. This stone terrace was nice, quite large with a plastic table and chairs. The building is a bit higher and further inland from the real La Baia di Rio. There is a view of the town and the sea as well of the countryside / mountains from the terrace.
Instead of the sound of breaking waves, we went to sleep to the sound of babbling italian voices / small feet pounding upstairs / music, and woke to birds singing and cars driving by.
There is a restaurant a house away. There are stairs on the other side of the street that take you right into the town centre in the matter of minutes, if you take the car road around the bend, it takes less than 10 min to walk to the center, and a bit farther to the railway station.
We payed 110 Euro per night, supposedly a discount because we stayed three nights. I did not compared the price, assuming that it was a really good deal when we booked.Checking later, er found Hotel villa Argentina is a few houses down the road and the max price there is 139 Euro for a double room with breakfast, so I assume that the price is fair.
All in all my husband and son ,who did not know what to expect, were happy staying there. Especially the terrace, the extra space in the room and the relative tranquility compared to the main tourist area made it a good experience for all of us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    96
    22
    15
    5
See reviews for
56
261
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our European honeymoon. Upon arriving at the train station, we walked up the steep paths to the houses/town. We found this hotel easily, pressed the call button outside the door and the manager came ti greet us within minutes (She was at her other property). She showed us to our room and gave us all the info we needed and answered all our questions. We got a great deal on the room as it was a brand new addition to the hotel and freshly done. We had a great view of the ocean, no balcony, just a window. Private bathroom was great. Free wifi. No breakfast included, but there is a market in town and many restaurants. The hotel is in an excellent location in the town. Easy access to everything. Quick walk to the train (to go from city to city). Overall, lovely hotel. Perfect for just a room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I must say that this was a great find, not too pricey great location and great host! I would be back in a heart beat and for sure recommend it to friends and family. We stayed in the room that had no balcony but still a great view!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 751FFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just returned from a great trip during which we stayed for 5 nights in this apartment. MarieStella (our host) was terrific, giving us good information and advice and making dinner reservations for us. The suite was clean and roomy enough and we loved the windows looking out over the village - enjoyed eating on the terrace too with views, one way to the sea and the other to the church and houses up the hillsides. We loved that we could base ourselves in Riomaggiore and each day make forays out to the other villages by ferry - we did a couple of very good walks but mainly soaked up the atmosphere - was funny hearing the crowd down in the town roar whenever a goal was scored at the world cup - a lovely feel to it all greatly enhanced by MarieStella who took care of things but didn't intrude. Be prepared to walk up hill by the street with your luggage rather than tackle the stairs and the outdoor furniture might be due for renewal soon but would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceinwen20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I had the great fortune to stay in the most amazing, picturesque place I've stayed in a long time. This is not a hotel but an apartment block. The Marco Polo room is on the top floor and has a kitchenette too and the views are nothing short of breathtaking! - it is like living inside a postcard and I wouldn't hesitate to return. It was clean and spacious, bright and airy. I had friends staying downstairs but it did not compare to the room we had - so this review is for this room only!! You have to be fairly fit to stay here as it is a steep climb to the top of the village and then up a couple of flights of stairs but more than well worth the effort. Also ask for a detailed map to get there or ask them to meet you at the station to take your luggage.

Room Tip: Must request the "Marco Polo Room"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The place is a set of apartments to-let. Not a hotel. They didn't change towels or clean and our room was facing a garden. The owner and her son were quite helpful. In retrospect i probably would have stayed in monterosso somewhere more like a hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cyrusvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
467 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Our group enjoyed five rooms here for two nights. As others have mentioned getting your luggage to your room from the train station can be strenuous but this location is the easiest in Riomaggiore because it is all an uphill walk with no stairs. The only stairs are within the building when you arrive. The hosts are delightful and very helpful! Arriving is easy and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Some have great views. My bed was the most comfortable I had in all of Italy. And I loved sleeping with the window open and enjoying the cool night air. I would not hesitate to return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.1 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#8 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
5.3 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia di Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia di Rio

Property: La Baia di Rio
Address: Via Telemaco Signorini #177, Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Baia Di Rio Hotel Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Cinque Terre/Riomaggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing