We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Baia di Rio
Nearby Hotels
Locanda del Sole(Riomaggiore)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locanda Ca da Iride(Riomaggiore)(Great Value!)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
US$190
US$184
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Scogliera(Riomaggiore)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NiRia(Riomaggiore)
Luna di Marzo(Riomaggiore)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Affittacamere Edi(Riomaggiore)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Due Gemelli(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Levante(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
265
98
22
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
98
22
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames cookabel tasmanmarco polohis mothertrain stationthe ownercinque terresmall kitchenetterented roomsamazing viewsfamily runpastathree nightsparking garageyour luggagegreat hostsbottle of wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our stay at La Baia di Rio was wonderful! The rooms were clean and lovely. Maristella was incredible! She treated us like family and helped us feel like we lived in beautiful Riomaggiore. It felt like home! We were disappointed to find one of the walking paths closed, but Maristella suggested that we take a boat ride. It was delightful! Cinque Terre is stunning! We hope to stay longer the next time. A few suggestions: It is a walk from where you park your car to La Baia, so if you can take as little luggage as possible up to the room, it will be well worth it; the La Baia di Rio website is excellent and useful when deciding which room to rent. Thank you, Maristella & Emiliano!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tmb1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our first time in Cinque Terre, and Maristella, the owner of La Baia di Rio provided us with a fantastic room, view, location, and advises. Maristella is a very dynamic and fast thinking woman, thanks to her advises we spent two fantastic days and visited all the 5 towns, ate at a great restaurant in Riomaggiore and enjoyed our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Francesco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Riomaggiore and Cinque Terre was the first stop on a 4 week italian vacation for us. And the Baia di Rio was a little slice of heaven to start this vacation right! Emiliano greeted us, gave great information about the town, things to do and restaurants to try.

The Marco Polo room was spacious, clean and bright. And the view is stunning. It was the perfect getaway to return to after a day of sightseeing.

My fiancé and I stayed here from July 22-25 (we actually got engaged on our last night there, sitting on our balcony, gazing at the stars!!!) Needless to say we will never forget this place and would recommend to anyone to stay here.

We are now in Venezia, after visiting Firenze and Bologna and still miss the quiet beauty of this lovely place and the wonderful hosts from La Baia di Rio!

Room Tip: Marco Polo room. Large balcony and best view of the town and the sea!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed two nights - one night in the Marco Polo room and one night in the Cristoforo Colombo room. The Marco Polo room is worth every penny and offers a great view and a kitchenette.

The Cristoforo Colombo room was a solid value and also offered a good view, but the balcony is shared with another room which made it feel much less private.

We arrived by train and found the location relatively easily. The owner appears to have a system that lets the doorbell call her cell phone, which allowed her to coordinate our entry to the room with a cleaner even though the owner was not available at that moment. In general, our experience with administrative aspects of the stay was positive. The rooms were clean.

The pictures on the website are very accurate -- most importantly with respect to the view of the town and the sea.

Room Tip: Marco Polo room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We are a family of 4 and stayed in the second location of Baia di Rio, the 4 person room that is part of the owner's house. It was a large room with a queen sized bed and 2 singles, perfect for us and our 2 teenage sons. There's a large balcony that offers a great view, albeit with a road in front. There are 217 steps straight down to the little town, which is challenging after a long day of hiking. Emiliano, the owners son, met us at the train unexpectedly and helped with luggage. His mom was lovely and all spoke very decent english. When there was a train strike on the day we had to leave, the owner drove us to La Spezia herself. Very lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phillycnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews