We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First anchovies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gianni Franzi

Gianni Franzi
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Vernazza
Price range: US$17 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Thibodaux, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First anchovies”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

There was nothing to dislike. The service and prices were great. I ate my first fresh, as in caught last night, anchovies in a seafood salad, along with octopus, scallops ,squid and shrimp. The pasta and pesto was also outstanding

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ernieh329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    200
    118
    68
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average food, somewhat overpriced, great view”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Apparently many of the Vernazza restaurants are closed on Tuesdays, so we opted for view. We had Genovese style minestrone which was adequate, trofie with pesto which didn't have enough pesto but was otherwise very good, and a flat black spaghetti with shrimp sauce which didn't have enough shrimp flavor, but was interesting nevertheless. The bread on the table was not worth the calories. Service was indifferent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TouristfromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Out of this world pesto”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I see a variety of reviews for this restaurant ranging from outstanding to so-so. I have to say, our experience was great. The indoor-seating ambiance may not be the absolute best to be had in Vernazza, but the outdoor is right on the bay. The food was really good, and affordable. I highly recommend their specialty - pasta with pesto, and especially the gnocchi with pesto. And don't miss the local seafood specialty- fresh sardines, prepared in several delicious ways. Our dinner for four (shared primos, secondos, and dessert with no alcohol) was 107 E.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nv
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just ok for me”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had dinner at Gianni Franzi. I had the special regional fish dish. I felt the restaurant was a little pricy, as many are when you dine outside on the square.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank renodecor8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Polska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant with fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have ordered there few starters and fish as a main course. Everything was fresh and delightful.
You have to try their tiramisu dessert. That's must-eat at that place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikolayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gianni Franzi also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Gianni Franzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing