We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT TO BE MISSED!”
Review of Belforte

Belforte
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Vernazza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“NOT TO BE MISSED!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If staying in The Cinque Terre, especially Vernazza, Restorante is a must! We had one of the best dining experiences ever on a recent visit to Italy. First of all the setting: on the base of an old tower, dining areas are high and an different levels. We had dinner there on a gorgeous sunset evening, and the view of the sea and the sky as the sun set was nothing short of magical. Our concierge made the reservation for us, and we we arrived, we were told we ha the lovers' table -- a table for two on its own landing, looking at the sea below and the colorful sun-set sky above. Wow! All that aside, the food was excellent. Our waiter, Andrea, could not have been more accommodating. We were given complementary Prosecco, as we were seated as things were a bit busy in the kitchen before he could give us his full attention. Superb pesto pasta and a salt-baked branzino. We didn't want the evening to end.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    335
    115
    66
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should be on your bucket list!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I had the privilege of eating at Belforte over a year ago while visiting my son stationed in Italy. I can honestly say it was the best restaurant we ate at in Italy and a highlight of my trip! The food is amazing but the atmosphere and food together make it a true experience! We were there on a Saturday and had not made reservations but when we asked, the maitre d asked us if we could be finished in 2 hours. We laughed and said of course, we were Americans and so he seated us at 7pm. Most Italians don't eat that early, and they spend much more than 2 hours at a meal so it worked out perfect for us. We were seated on the best outdoor patio overlooking the Mediterranean and there were several other Americans sharing the patio with us. The food was served faster than any other Italian ristorante we had been to and it was excellent. We got the hot and cold mixed seafood appetizer (5 courses for 2 or more diners)-their specialty and for good reason; the Spaghetti "Bruno" style, Marinara mussels and Mixed grilled fish with the house white...everything was good! So stunningly beautiful; wonderful, friendly service; and to top it off, we witnessed a marriage proposal! (I cried)! Do not hesitate to go to the Cinque Terre and definately make reservations for Belforte...you will be glad you did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing place and surroundings in lovely Vernazza!
Highly recommended for lunch or dinner. Reserve a table (on top if possible)

Helpful?
1 Thank Sigvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great View, Good (but not great) Food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would give this place 3 and 1/3 stars if possible. We ate here the second to last night of our trip. Had been warned by locals that this was a total tourist trap, only good for its view (and warning, oceanfront seating is very, very limited but we could glimpse the ocean from our back porch table and hear the waves crashing, which was quite nice) but was pleasantly surprised by the food and the waiter. The owner is cranky and stern, but she is running the most popular place in the small town. I would recommend this to restaurant to people visiting Vernazza because it is a great experience and remind them to make a reservation (in advance so you can request one of the four upfront tables closest to the water!).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_K_B_216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The long lunch”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place was recommended by our hosts at casa Colleverde and we were not disappointed.

We had to wait fire a table on the busy day and we're glad we did. The view over the harbour and ferries was amazing and the food was better. We settled in to savour the delicious local wine with our lunch in the sunshine.

We did have to leave to make sure we got the train back to la spezia ♥ ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belforte also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Belforte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing