We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning view on large private terrace, room very basic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooms La Torre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms La Torre
Ranked #27 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
washington DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning view on large private terrace, room very basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We rented this apt for our family of four three nights in September. I was a bit hesitant due to the reviews, but it worked out just fine. This large private terrace was a dream. The view was AMAZING and worth the stay. Outside the apt on the terrace was a sink, table and two chairs, four beach lounge chairs and a drying rack. All which came in very handy.

If you are high maintenance or are used to lush accommodations, this is not the place for you. It was very basic. And as others have said the furnishings are a bit dated and have seen better days. But all the basics for comfort were there. It had a fridge, and a basic set up of dishes for four. The pullout couch upstairs was fine and a fan helped to keep it cool.

It was a bit musty when we arrived, but after running the dehumidifier, by the next afternoon the musty smell was gone. Be sure to empty the dehumidifier each day as it fills quickly. Sheets smelled fantastic, you could tell they were dried on the line outside. Towels were large.

We didn't miss the tv/wifi, in a town like this who needs it? Hiking, watching the sun set, sunning on the rocks at the beach below will keep you occupied plenty. I would recommend a stay here, just do not expect luxury or a lot of space inside.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank trentanove87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    17
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Come for the view and stay for the view. We stayed in the apartment in order to have more space to spread out after reading previous posts. While there was ample room for the 2 of us and our luggage, the decor and cleanliness was much to be desired. Furnishings are dated, the bedroom (located downstairs) was damp, and the bathroom was old and musty even with dehumidifiers. However, the hot water was plentiful which is much needed after a day of hiking.

The family that runs the place is great and will respond to your emails and phone calls promptly. In particular, Andrea (“Andrew”) and AnnaMaria will enjoy conversing with you and assisting with any needs. They are very warming and entertaining people. The outside terrace is the reason to go - large, semi-private, and spectacular views. We were able to see one of the bedrooms, which looked like it had been re-done. Yes, it was tiny, but it was modern and had it’s own terrace with a nice view. I recommend the apartment for the extra space, fantastic view, and responsive owners. Just don’t expect luxury. I would return to this place, certainly with less luggage, and solely focussing on the welcomeness of the owners and one of the most incredible views in all of Cinque Terre.

Just up the hill, the family owns a restaurant. Your breakfast will be a typical pastry or piece of cake with a coffee and fresh juice. While the breakfast is basic, the view is incredible. Again, the family is nice and generous. I had an order of octopus and potatoes that I took to my terrace one night for dinner, and the meal was excellent! The octopus was very fresh and cooked perfectly. If this is an example of the culinary skills available, I should have eaten there more than our last night.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank digger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived by the regional train after a long trip up from Rome. Knowing vaguely where our room was, we headed into the village. After seeing the La Torre sign, (and after reading reviews about the stairs), we prepared for the worst, especially with 14kg backpacks on our backs...
If you're at all prepared for the Cinque Terre hikes, let me just say...the stairs are a walk in the park!

We found a note from Andrea (the owner) just to welcome us and inform us that he would be up at the restaurant... However we found his mother and she gave us keys.

The room was tiny (literally a bed, a little bar fridge and a cupboard), the pillows were hard as rocks, but to stand on your balcony and experience the view that is Vernazza, it's all worth while. The room was clean and the shower was amazing!

Again, if you're looking for 5 star, this is certainly not the place. We found it a bit pricey for what you got, but certainly don't regret it staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VIX_JADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Vernazza was our last stop on our whirlwind tour of Europe. We decided to come to the Cinque Terre because of all the wonderful things being said about it not to mention the views.

It was easy to find the "turnoff" from the main street to get to the room. We climbed and climbed and climbed some more to our room...(I think someone said something like 250 stairs) If you have heavy or a lot of luggage this would not be ideal. We were traveling with oversized backpacks and it was still a lot. We were shown to our room which I have to say I started laughing when I saw it! It was beyond small! It was big enough to have the double bed in it with about a foot of room at the bottom and then enough on the side that there was a refigerator. We had to stack our bags in the corner where it barely fit. The bathroom was small but clean. On the other hand the balcony was huge! At least twice the size of the room and the view---WOW is all I can say! I actually considered sleeping on the balcony in the lawn chairs!
This is one place that you definitely are in it for the view and not the room. Our balcony was also where the washer/dryer was located so we did have things on the line but it did not block our view. Our balcony also was "behind" another balcony which wasn't an issue but kind of felt we were intruding on the couple that was sitting on their balcony.
Annamarie wasn't very friendly and didn't say much. She did invite us to have dinner at the restaurant (her restaurant) at the top of the hill. She didn't tell us anything else as far as what time they opened, etc. We went up there to enjoy the sunset and grab a bite to eat, however the man that was up there (possibly her husband) was very RUDE and told us that where we were sitting was reserved. He didn't offer any other tables or anything. If we were supposed to have reservations then she should have told us when she invited us to the restaurant. This man actually really made me mad and Annamarie came up while we were trying to see if we could sit anywhere in the restaurant and just looked at us like she had no clue who we were (which I can normally understand since you have so many travelers, however we had just seen her about 15 minutes before that --so she knew who we were).

If you go to the Cinque Terre you obviously go for the view--I would probalby look around for another place to stay or for a bigger room if she had one available.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin, usa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were in the 2nd floor (small) room for 3 nights - 80 euro/night. First, the good things: 1) Great balcony/view that is hard to beat, 2) Fridge in the room, 3) Fan in the room, 4) Connection with a FABULOUS "bar" for breakfast that has just about the best view of Vernazza! (and serves outstanding coffee!). Now for the not-so-good: 1) The room is definitely tiny (about 1 foot on one side and bottom of the bed, 2) REALLY HARD pillows, 3) No personal care products in the bathroom, 4) 1 small window in the room, 5) Near the train station (so hear train noise). As others have noted, it is a long, uphill climb to reach La Torre (then another climb up the tight outside circular stairs) and there is very little space to put luggage. In the room is a bed, 1 tiny table and a small armoire/closet. If you are okay with "spartan" and value most a great balcony/view - then this is a totally fine place. May want to bring earplugs for the train noise, however! Go up to the bar any time of day for an outstanding view (plus great juice and mojitos) even if you don't stay at La Torre!!

Room Tip: I think the very top room may be a bit bigger! Also might feel more secure, as 2nd floor has the cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whynothavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We rented the apartment for 3 nights at 80 euro a night. It was a bit of a hike uphill with our luggage and baby but without the extra weight it was a nice little hike. The apartment had a huge private balcony, small table and fridge with pullout couch on the first floor, a steep set of stairs leads to the main bed and bathroom. There is no AC but the fan and dehumidifer helps a lot and makes sleeping bearable. The apartment has no tv or wifi but considering where you're at we didn't miss it one bit. The views from the balcony were stunning and one of the best in the entire city. Breakfast was included at the cafe up the hill but we never made it there. This really is a average place to stay but the views and the balcony are a wonderful asset.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niqueh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I paid €55 a night for a single with private bath that was an easy climb from the main street. The room had a lot to be desired. No view and it was damp with no a/c or fan. There was a dehumidifier which helped a lot though. The air there gets cool at night anyway. The room comes with breakfast at the bar La Torre up further up the hill. It consists of coffe, juice, and pastries. The Italians aren't big on breakfast. The view is the star though. The place is lovely and charming. The people are warm and friendly. The other rooms at La Torre are not priced much higher but have terraces to die for. The next time around I'm going to try and stay in one of those. Over all the room wasn't much, but I didn't go all the way to Vernazza to hang out in my room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcevans70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.0 mi away
B&B e Camere Solemagia
B&B e Camere Solemagia
#41 of 43 in Vernazza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#12 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camere Elisabetta
Camere Elisabetta
#10 of 43 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#28 of 43 in Vernazza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lisetta Rooms
Lisetta Rooms
#11 of 18 in Vernazza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms La Torre

Property: Rooms La Torre
Address: Via Carattino, 64, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Rooms La Torre 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Rooms La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing