We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Memo's Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Memo's Room
Montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean but noisy”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were pleasantly suprised by the bright and clean room. The bathroom was also very clean and the shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure.
The walls however are paper thin. We could hear our neighbors talking at a normal volume. As mentioned elsewhere, you hear the train passing regularly, and on the night we stayed there was a concert in the street that started at 9:45 p.m. Luckily we had earplugs!
There's a wonderful focaccia bakery just two doors down where we grabbed our morning sustenance, and a gelateria right next door to satisfy the sweet tooth before checking in for the night.
If you want a restful night, you may want to look elsewhere. If you're well prepared (with earplugs!) and want to be in the center of it all, then stay at Enrica's.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katakeMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Memo rooms couldn't be cleaner or more comfortable, and the location is very convenient in the centre of town. Very good value for money as well.

Enrica the owner was very helpful and didn't mind our constantly changing plans, and, because of her nice character, I would love to give Memo Rooms a better rating.

Unfortunately, though, due to the extremely noisy freight trains that echo through the town every ten minutes throughout the night, sleep was impossible for my mother and I, who are very light sleepers. Yes, I would recommend it...but bring earplugs!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We showed up in the afternoon with no reservations, and Enrica took care of us. All her rooms are neat, clean, spacious, well-located, and have good bathrooms. Bargain-priced, too. There are lots of great places to stay in Vernazza, but you couldn't do much better than with kindly Enrica.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drobnost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were staying in Memo's Rooms on October 25, 2011, when flash floods inundated the town of Vernazza, leaving the town with no gas, water or electricity. After being evacuated from the train station and eventually being led to the emergency center near the Mayor's Office, Enrica sent her son to escort us to her family home since our rented rooms were located off the main road which was a roaring river of mud, cars and debris. They put us up in their home overnight and shared their food and drink. Not only are Memo rooms wonderful, clean, quiet and an excellent value, her family made us feel as if we were part of their family. A local man named Frederico and the Parish Priest were also life savers.

Room Tip: Not a good choice if stairs are a problem. The rooms are clean and very comfortable but are up a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We loved our Memo room. I believe Memo rooms are located around Vernazza---ours was right on the water! We were in the third floor and faced the central harbor.

We were entranced by the location. Loved standing in our third floor window and looking out over all the activity and the harbor. I believe we were staying in Enrica's own home. Come with cash--it's all she accepts.

We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIDSGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

You can see Enrica's from the train station; it's literally a two-minute walk. The view from the window is of the one main street in Vernazza. One downside was that this made it very noisy at night, between the trains going by and the people at the restaurants. Other than that, we loved it. There is a nice bathroom, a small sitting area with a refrigerator and table, and the room is lovely. Tile floors and wrought iron, a lot of attention to detail. Enrica is very sweet and helpful. Like most places, she has to serve packaged food, so breakfast is some packaged pastries and toast, with delicious coffee and tea. The beach is a four-minute walk, and there are lots of fantastic seafood restaurants with great views. Vernazza is definitely the place to stay, the tourists clear out at night and the beach is lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LisanCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Memo rooms run by Enrica were wonderful! Very clean, modern, excellant location next door to gelateria and restaurants and 2 blocks to the sea. The rooms were quiet and a very good value for the money. Enrica met us at the train station at 9pm and walked us the half block to her home. I would highly recommend this accomadation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.0 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 43 in Vernazza
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 43 in Vernazza
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#10 of 43 in Vernazza
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lisetta Rooms
Lisetta Rooms
#9 of 18 in Vernazza
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Affittacamere da Nicolina
Affittacamere da Nicolina
#6 of 18 in Vernazza
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#25 of 43 in Vernazza
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memo's Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memo's Room

Property: Memo's Room
Address: Via Roma 15, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage suffered in the October 2011 mudslide. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing