We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of stairs; decent rooms”

Taverna del Capitano Rooms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taverna del Capitano Rooms
Ranked #39 of 43 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lots of stairs; decent rooms”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is in a good location, though with Vernazza, everything is a short walk to everything else. It definitely was nice staying in town, instead of having to take a train back to somewhere else. We had two rooms, one was 5 flights of stairs and the other 6 flights of stairs. So remember that if you have difficulty climbing stairs, and remember that when packing. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bed was pretty mushy, with linens that didn't exactly look or smell fresh. Rooms faced the alley, meaning they were quiet but also very dark. They definitely could use more lights. Bathroom was completely updated and modern, with large shower with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was included, which was nice. Though first morning, breakfast was a companion restaurant (Taverna del Capitano was closed) and was pretty lame. Owners were helpful, though only Julia spoke good English.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We rented room one and room two. They were very nice and clean. The rooms are centrally located in an area which is a little noisy. The room on the alley is much darker quieter than the one on the street. Although the email indicated we could check in from 10am to 10 pm, when we arrived at 4:30pm a man was closing the restaurant and asked us to wait an hour. We stayed with our packs and ate gelato by the water-but would have loved to check in. Breakfast was very minimal for the price of the hotel, one pastry and a coffee.

The price is spendy for the service provided. We did love Vernazza.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonFamily_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The room was in a very good location, close to shops, restaurants, beach, train station, everything. Although Vernazza is quite small and everything is very close anyway. The owners were very friendly and helpful although if you arrive when it's siesta time you might have to wait hours to get the keys, which was a bit stange after a whole day of travelling but we managed to spend some time on the beach and restaurants nearby.
The room we stayed in was clean and quite modern. The only disadvantage of being in the center is that it could be quite noisy at night and forget about sleeping in in the morning! People who have trouble climbing stairs should be aware that the stairs here are quite steep and it's not easy to drag your suitcases up and down. But you can get used to it quite fast, it's good exercise.
Last thing about driving to Vernazza, there is no traffic allowed in town so you have to leave your car outside in allocated parking lots. There is a minibus that takes you up and down for about 1 euro, or you can walk. Actually no cars in the streets adds a lot to the atmosphere so we really liked it.
All in all, it was a great experience, friendly people, perfect location, good service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0Ella0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I really liked these rooms! As an American rooms and showers in Europe tend to be small, but this one was nice and big with plenty of space and right in the middle of Vernazza so we didn't have to walk to far to the shops, restaurants, and the beach! It was decorated really cute too. The stairs were a bit of a climb but I got used to it pretty fast. It also included an italian breakfast at the restaurant which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gboni005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Appartamento Chiara
#14 of 18 in Vernazza
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 43 in Vernazza
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Affittacamere da Nicolina
Affittacamere da Nicolina
#9 of 18 in Vernazza
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#11 of 43 in Vernazza
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B e Camere Solemagia
B&B e Camere Solemagia
#40 of 43 in Vernazza
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rooms La Torre
Rooms La Torre
#31 of 43 in Vernazza
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taverna del Capitano Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taverna del Capitano Rooms

Property: Taverna del Capitano Rooms
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 21/24, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing