We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting and peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monica Lercari Rooms
Ranked #18 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite" during the second week of September. It was lovely. More room than two people needed but oh, the view from the balcony! Sea, town and hills from one incredible vantage point. After two stressful weeks back home, just thinking about is relaxing. The 100+ steps to the apartment are definitely not for everyone, but if you are fit they are worth it. The advantage in addition to the views is the quiet. At night all you can hear is the sea.

Monica is a natural hostess, warm and genuine. When she wishes you a good day you sense she really cares about your experience in the CT. The directions and photos she sent with the confirmation provided confidence. She understands travelers.

Like most apartment or house rentals the room is cleaned after your stay. It was actually really nice to be kind of left alone in that regard. We kept things tidy ourselves and there were plenty of towels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathyDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in Vernazza earlier this month. We stayed in Monica's Madonnina Suite which is right in the center of town. We loved it and could not have been more comfortable there. The room was adorable and had all the provisions you could expect for a room rental. We even had air conditioning. She told us she has more work to do on the room, including adding a kitchenette and TV. The best part was being right in town. We could walk out, go grab lunch, then walk back and change to hit the beach. Even though our window faced the street, noise was not an issue. Overall super convenient and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T20L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed three nights in Monica's Blue Room in Vernazza. Checking in was easy and the maps and information she provided was perfect. The room was small but we knew that going in. Plus, when in Vernazza, you don't want to spend much time in the room. Basic toiletries were provided. Breakfast was served in the house across from her restaurant with warm croissants, cappuccino, cereal and fruit.

Pros - Location in the charming city of Vernazza, Monica is very warm and welcoming and makes the reservation process simple.

Cons - The room was very dusty, definitely could use a deep cleaning. Also, the small fridge in the room had mold but we did not plan to use it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank azmlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Monica made us feel like we were coming to stay with our family. The 105 steps to the apartment were definitely not for everyone, but the view from the private balcony was fabulous. We had two bedrooms, which was perfect for me, my husband, his sister, and her college-aged daughter. We ate lunch at the owner's restaurant and it was one of the very best meals we had in a restaurant during our 3 weeks in Italy. The restaurant also has fabulous views. We had a refrigerator, but no stove. Thanks Monica!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyMcHaupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our family stayed in Monica's flat that has two bedrooms- one being the "Honeymoon Suite." So, the flat is set up with two bedrooms and one extremely small bathroom further away from the two rooms, next to the kitchenette. The bathroom had very limited supplies. We ran out of soap and Monica promised to bring us some and never did. The towels were extremely thin and felt quite rough. The kitchenette had only a fridge and an electric kettle- no microwave. The beds were hard and not too comfortable.
However, the biggest attraction is the view. It was beautiful and worth climbing the 110 steps to get to the flat. We truly enjoyed sitting out and it just felt so relaxing! It was also cooler and quieter than any other location in Vernazza. Monica is extremely warm and hospitable and makes you feel like one of the family. The breakfast is served in her home next door. We had croissants, cereal, fruit and coffee. We paid a little over 200 Euros for the entire unit and I am not sure it is worth quite that much in spite of the view for what we got, hence my slightly lower rating of this property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shad0wstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to had found this place after having lunch at the owner's Restaurant "Al Castello". Monica truly makes you feel at home. The food, views and staff at the Rest will give you royal treatment. I will not hesitate to go back and spent minimum 1 week at her hotel enjoying charming Vernazza. Highly recommended for solo travelers, couples, families.. just make sure to travel light since you have to exercise a little bit claiming a few steps.. it's part of the adventure and beautiful Cinque Terre. Salute!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingAngel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was wonderful! The private balcony views were spectacular, and Monica was so warm and welcoming. The rooms were spacious and large, we had our own little kitchen (no stove but a small bar fridge), and all facilities were in fabulous working order. If you need something, just ask Monica, she's always nearby in her restaurant - she got us toilet paper, extra food for breakfast, anything we needed, and right away. I would highly recommend this place as long as you are okay climbing stairs - we were in great shape by the time we left! Vernazza is a beautiful town, quiet at night generally, and the water is gorgeous. We stayed with Monica in the midst of a 3 week tour of Italy, and it was like a vacation in the middle of our vacation. Thank you Monica!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has the best views and a private balcony - definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CheerfulExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cato
Casa Cato
#3 of 39 in Vernazza
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 39 in Vernazza
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#12 of 39 in Vernazza
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Barbara
Albergo Barbara
#15 of 39 in Vernazza
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monica Lercari Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Lercari Rooms

Address: Via Gerolamo Guidoni 33, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing