We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with lots of stairs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trattoria Gianni Franzi
Ranked #18 of 40 Vernazza B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Charming hotel with lots of stairs”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was a charming little place. The room was nothing fancy but clean and nice. Unfortunately, I booked late so the only room available was one without a bathroom attached. The bathroom was across the hall, which was not ideal but we made it work. Be prepared to climb many stairs to get to your room. I mean LOTS of stairs. Packing light is essential for this reason. The hike to the room is worth it for the incredible views.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank majacsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    130
    53
    26
    25
See reviews for
44
158
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Finding the check-in was easy enough. From the train station just head down to the square and just look for the sign hanging over the "back bar" which services the hotel's restaurant. Finding your room once you check in isn't as easy. There are two sets of cement stairs leading up from the square. You can take either but depending on which you take determines whether you turn left or was it turn right. To say that the signage is lacking is an understatement. One time you can find yourself scaling a spiral staircase with a central rope providing a handhold. Another time you may find a staircase. If you have anything more than a backpack, good luck. . Once you regain your breath, you'll find the room spare; the furniture old but not in a quaint way, the bed was hard, and the pillows even harder. Our particular room had an in-suite bathroom with liquid soap still in it's commercial dispenser hanging from the wall. Wi-Fi internet service is spotty at best and only accessible on one area. The breakfast, if you can find it, was ordinary cheeses, breads, hams, cereals yogurts and fruit. BUT the view from the breakfast terrace was beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We booked late so got the room with 3 single beds. The room is fairly long & narrow so used the 3rd bed to set our luggage on; no where to put luggage if there were 3 people in the room. Beds were a bit hard but not too bad. Pillows were okay, not as flat as some of the other hotels we stayed at in Italy. Hairdryer was the European style so if you're picky about your hairdryer, better bring your own. Bathroom towels were like tea towels or table cloth material which we found were surprisingly absorbent. Clean rooms. 99 steps to this particular room but from other reviews we knew there would be stairs & it helps warm you up for the spectacular hiking. We were backpacking so it was good fun watching people struggle with their extremely large suitcases. Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace overlooking the ocean: typical Italian breakfast of croissants, buns, meats, cheeses, yogurts etc. Wifi is only in a common area (different area than breakie) but would be nice to have in rooms. Guests receive 10% off at the trattoria. Easy to find the hotel - their bar also serves as the reception area for the hotel - walk straight down main street towards the ocean, their trattoria is the last one on the right & the bar is to the left.

Room Tip: I was travelling with my husband and we ended up in the room with 3 single beds. It was fine in a pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed at this B&B in 1996 amd in 2013. It has only gotten better while the price is still reasonable. The breakfast is served on a lovely deck and is very nice - lots of options. The rooms are clean. I stayed in a room with a very clean bath down the hall in peak season for approximately $65 per night. And the view is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIC-NOFO-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great location by the main square nice rooms and quaint surroundings. Be prepared for 117 steps to the location of some rooms. Brilliant views over sea at numerous common areas throughout the hotel. Good free wifi. No fridge in rooms

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

After you take 100 steps, cause there are no streets in Vernazza, except one, you enter a wonderful, cosy room. We had a partial and nice sea view. But you don't really care because for everybody there are wonderful terraces on the rock. You will have your breakfast on a terrace with full 180* sea view. Fantastic!

Prepare light luggage because the stairs are a lot. If you come by car, you'll park app.1,5 km away from the village so you have to walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay in Vernazza, and expect that moderate accommodations are the norm. The climb to our room on the first night was challenging, especially carrying 2 bags up 8 flights of stairs to a HOT room with only a little fan, however, the views and charm of the town won us over. We had a room with a bathroom, but unfortunately the terrace overlooked the common-area deck which was loud at night. The breakfast spot was beautiful and sufficient for our needs. The staff was unfriendly, however, which is surprising given the fact that it must survive on tourism. The only bad meal we had during our 3 night stay was actually at Gianni Franzi's restaurant - expensive, small portions, and again, an unfriendly, condescending waiter. I would visit Vernazza and Cinque Terre again, but would look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
585 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
3.8 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#30 of 40 in Vernazza
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trattoria Gianni Franzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trattoria Gianni Franzi

Property: Trattoria Gianni Franzi
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 5, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Vernazza
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Hotel Vernazza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing