We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service as cold as ice. Sad. SO much potential!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trattoria Gianni Franzi
Ranked #18 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A month in Italy and my ONLY bad accommodation review....
Had it not been for the outstanding views from the 2 decks overlooking the ocean at Tratorria Gianni Franzi, I would have given this place a "terrible" rating. From their website, on the history of the tratorria,"Before WWII the Trattoria della Stella was the property of a local character known as Virgilio who liked to drink in the company of his paesani but who closed his doors when the train brought the rare tourist to town." Apparently they still hold hard to that philosophy!!!! Having travelled all over Northern Italy for 3 weeks, and experiencing THE most gracious, genuine, and friendly people, our greeting by Gianni Franzi staff was like a punch to the junk. The lanky crone with resting b!t@&face behind the bar must have liquid nitrogen running through those veins. We walked in exuding excitement at being in such an wonderful new part of Italy....greeted her with respect by speaking Italian, happily complimented her on her extensive whiskey collection and ordered one to enjoy while waiting for our key (A least we thought they were getting the key, she never really addressed us personally about it.) but our attempt at warm human connection fell flat. She never even cracked a smile. Awkwaaaaaaard......
It's a popular hotel. They don't HAVE to be friendly.
Finally we were ushered up, up, up to our very basic room containing THE most cruel mattresses EVER. You could feel every.single.niggling.spring. We're an athletic family so the climb through alleyways and the steep narrow spiral staircase up to our room was no biggie, but if you are out of shape and/or carrying some big ole luggage, this hotel is NOT for you. Breakfast was meh, lorded over by a miserly and suspicious kitchen aid. Espresso from a machine? Classy!
Personally, when I travel, I value the WHOLE experience- the hosts, the service, the atmosphere....the CONNECTION to people and place. But if you're the type that doesn't give a spit about service and feeling welcome and comfortable-you're just looking for a place to rest your head- then you may feel Tratoria Gianni Franzi is worth it for those 2 fantastic decks. Oh, and a shout out to the artists who created the works displayed there. I definitely dug the art.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stairs....first word...if you can't carry your own luggage you either packed too much or need to find another place to stay. The value, charm and excitment we felt when we opened our room's shutter to the hillside view was magical. I finally felt like I was "in" Italy. Our room had no air but had a fan and two large windows which kept us cool. The staff gave us a "take away" breakfast of pastries and juice since we caught the 6:30 train on our checkout morning. No problems, just nice nice people and a very nice inn.

Room Tip: Building 47 has the common area with the free WiFi. If you need to connect frequently this might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memyrcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After arriving by train and temratur +40 C it vas a bad experiens with 125 steps up to a small room without air-condition.
Bad explanations and a expensive restaurant
Nice breakfast and good wi-fi

Nice city and surroundings.
I will to stay in Monterosso and visit Varnazza for eating, shopping and walking

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Tone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

If you aren't in good shape, do not book a room. You literally climb up 100 steps to the hotel then even more up a winding staircase to reach your room. I was huffing and puffing. The view made it all worth it!! Breakfast was the best I'd had in Europe. Pastries, meats, cheeses, yogurt, coffee and tea.

My em suite shower was a bit cramped. It was quite awkward but doable. Wifi is located on the top floor which was inconvenient, but I knew that going into it. You also get a 10% discount when you eat in the restaurant. It's a bit pricey so you'll need it.

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay here. I would stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We loved our room at the top of the B&B. While it was a bit of a climb to get to the room, it was worth it. The room had character. There was an outlook open to all guests on the cliffs that was a great place to relax. Breakfast overlooking the water was beautiful and the food was good too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank timandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We weren't that impressed with the ensuite we had. Although it was fairly clean, it felt a bit old and dated.

The wifi was only available on the top floor, making it a bit difficult when you needed wifi in the room.

The best part about the hotel is the seaview from both the breakfast deck and the cliff terrace.

You pay a lot for location, but at the same time you need to climb a fair amount of stairs to get there. Don't remember to check in first in the town centre at the bar.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mariuskavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Vernezza is my favorite town in cinque terre an the location of the restaurant is good right in the piazza with the see view.we had a light lunch with caprese e prochiutto e melone which was ok.but the attitude of the staff(one in particular who appeared to be the boss or pretending to be something like that)was very rude.ı think he is selective of nationality ,likes the english .did not want to seat a group although the table was free .I think they were Rusian.ı speak perfect italian so he did not know where we were from but still very rude from the beginning.ı don't advise this restaurant if you don't want to ruin a beautiful day in Vernazza.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Aysun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.1 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
209 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#10 of 39 in Vernazza
163 reviews
0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Albergo Barbara
Albergo Barbara
#11 of 39 in Vernazza
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Graziella
Agriturismo Graziella
#7 of 19 in Vernazza
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
Affittacamere Tonino Basso
#27 of 39 in Vernazza
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trattoria Gianni Franzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trattoria Gianni Franzi

Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 5, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Vernazza
Trattoria Gianni Franzi Hotel Vernazza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing