We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying there is like staying with friends”
Review of L'Eremo sul Mare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Eremo sul Mare
Ranked #8 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights here and had a wonderful time looking over the Ligurian Sea from our balcony enjoying the peace and quiet. Marco gave us a tour of his gardens, and we sampled from the fig trees and grape vines. As we were leaving for dinner one evening, he was having a glass of wine with a neighbor and invited us to join them. On our last evening, we drank limoncello together and he gave us a lovely keepsake to remind us of our stay. Breakfast was waiting for us every morning at a large farm-style table: breads, yogurt, cakes, teas, and coffee. My partner has a dairy allergy and they were gracious about meeting his dietary needs. Marco recommended several restaurants in town and suggested going to the neighboring town of Portovenere. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the wi-fi and air conditioner worked well.

The B&B is on the side of a mountain so, as previous reviewers have said, it is a climb to get there so leaving your luggage at the tobacco shop in town is a must. I just put a couple of summer dresses, undergarments, and toiletries in a small bag and that was all I needed. We went to town every day (hiking, swimming, sight-seeing) and, although that was great, I wish we would have spent more time just relaxing at the B&B. Marco invited us to keep food in the refrigerator so I would recommend picking up some groceries (bakery, ham, wine, fruit) and spend a day just relaxing on the balcony. I would definitely stay there again so next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed there as a family of 3 in one of the "attic" rooms and we absolutely enjoyed it. Among our many B&Bs in Italy, this one was the most hospitable and with the best service. The only downside is the many stairs leading there but if you do not bring all your luggage, it is feasible and well worth it. We brought our luggage since we did not want to leave our things behind but we very much regretted it! Do not even try to take your luggage with you, it is not worth it! But the experience that we had in this house made up for it. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy and showed how caring the hosts are of their guests. Marco was a lovely host as he always offered us water, tea or juice when we got there, tired from the steps. We also learned much more about Vernazza and he gave us some tips on where to go for the best places in Cinque Terre. The room and bathroom were very clean and our host even turned on the A/C before our arrival to make sure the room is cool. This family run B&B was above and beyond our expectations and we recommend it to anyone in the area looking for a home-like feeling. Despite the many steps, we would definitely stay there again next time we go in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a lovely stay here and were treated to wonderful hospitality by Marco and Angela! The atmosphere of this B and B was so great. We felt as if we were staying with friends. The terraces were lovely, the room and bathroom were clean and well maintained, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was very good, the A/C and wifi both worked very well. Marco and Angela met our every need with a smile. The only thing to be aware of is the hike to reach this lovely place. It isn't for everyone, but for those who are able it is worth every step! Pack light :) We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The reviewers who recommend good shoes and light packing are right. It is a vertical hike up from the village but worth every step. We stayed upstairs and enjoyed the terrace each night--watch the lights on the few boats and enjoy the cool breezes. Before the sun sets, there are terrific views of the sea, Vernazza and Monterosso. I have stayed twice and it is not just clean and comfortable, it's magical. Every guest I met (usually when they arrive awed by the hike or in the lovely breakfast room) was friendly and from so many different places! We fell in love with the dog. Angela and Fabio are gracious and generous. They let us use the washer and the clothesline--so you don't need to bring a lot of clothing. The house is a refuge from the crush of tourists, quiet at night and welcoming during the day. Do spend time getting to know your hosts--they have helpful information and really enjoy meeting their guests.

Room Tip: Upstairs room has access to the upper terrace. But quiet and light everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnaw0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Fabio & Angela are the most caring hosts we could imagine, embracing us for our warm stay. This truly fabulous couple from Genoa opens their phenomenal home: every single step to get there (not too many, don't worry) will be rewarded beyond your dream with superb location, open space & spirit, peaceful ambience and last-but-not least that unforgetable view. Ask for the only guest room with sea view (and duvet, in Italy!) and direct access to the wide veranda!
If you read this, then you found indeed the perfect place in 5Terre: do NOT travel further in a hurry! Here's the ideal base to explore not only the 5 tiny, narrow villages (UNESCO world heritage site for their 6.000 km (!) of stone terraces), but also famous Portofino (by boat from Vernazza only on Wednesday + Friday at 10am) and precious Portovenere (scienic boat trip leaving Vernazza every day at 10h20). Or just inhale this really "fantastico" view from Fabio's veranda. Final tips: 1. Not every train stops in Vernazza, which is certainly the prettiest of these Five for it's watch tower and harbour. 2. Prepare yourself prior with the DVD "Footloose in Italy" (Grindelwald.co.uk) from Amazon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankDonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Spent one night at L'Eremo sul Mare in June 2013. Had an amazing stay. This B&B had a unique cozy cottage feel. Very rustic and relaxing. Very quite, nestled above Vernazza. The walk is about a 15 min hike up from the main village. The view was fantastic and worth the short walk. Pack lightly and wear comfortable shoes. The owners were extremely welcoming, warm, and friendly, so much so that they invited us to stay the next day for lunch. The nicest people I've ever met. There was a fantastic terrace where you can unwind and relax overlooking the sea. The breakfast was delicious. They made homemade hot chocolate and orange juice made from oranges grown right on their property! I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is a special place...there are some drawbacks...the 30 minute hike and the owners smoke (not much smell) a bit. We loved it. A super unique place to stay. If you like something off the beaten track, stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looking_for_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vernazza hotels
0.2 mi away
Elisabetta Carro
Elisabetta Carro
#9 of 39 in Vernazza
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cato
Casa Cato
#3 of 39 in Vernazza
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gianni Franzi
Hotel Gianni Franzi
#10 of 39 in Vernazza
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
Agriturismo Costa di Campo
#12 of 39 in Vernazza
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Fontanavecchia
Camere Fontanavecchia
#7 of 39 in Vernazza
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#13 of 39 in Vernazza
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Eremo sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Eremo sul Mare

Address: Sp63 19018, Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Price Range: £71 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
l`Eremo Sul Mare Hotel Vernazza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing