We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vernazza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maria Capellini Rooms
Ranked #3 of 39 Vernazza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We really liked Vernazza and this room (actually, a main room, plus a kitchen and a bathroom) right on the harbor. Giacomo met us, and he was very helpful and gracious - a delightful man. No stairs - a great benefit, and not so easy to find in a town where the buildings tumble down the hills. Only negative - it smelled moldy upon entering. As with all odors, it quickly ceased to be a problem - one stops being aware of it. But if you're sensitive to mold, think twice. It hit us every time we entered. Otherwise, a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: There is only one room in the building, though we believe Maria has other rooms on the harbor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Maria Capellini Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in the Charming room April 14-17 (4 evenings). The location is fantastic! It is right in the harbor area which means NO stairs to carry your bags. Because of our early in spring visit it would get cool in the evening but the room has a heater although we did not need it. The room has everything and more that you would need for your stay. It was GREAT!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Fan1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here at the end of September 2013 - bit slow with reviews!
Giacomo and Maria are very welcoming, meet us off the train, and check each day that you are happy and not needing anything. And we would meet them out in the square sometimes and have a chat and feel like locals!
The apartment is compact, comfortable, secure and superbly positioned - tho can be a bit noisy at night - but a pleasant buzz of people enjoying themselves
It is right down on the main path to the harbour and in the morning we'd take chairs outside and sit with our cup of tea and watch this beautiful little village come to life.
Right next to a Gelato shop too.
Lots of good restaurants in Vernazza, easy access to train, walking paths and boats.
My favourite of the villages -stayed here 8 years ago in room just above this one.
Have never stayed up higher as not keen on climbing 100 steps tho I'm sure the views would be great.
We love feeling like we are part of this place for a few days.
And would recommend Maria's room every time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Every have the urge to completely immerse yourself in the Italian lifestyle? Have an experience of a lifetime in a small unspoiled Italian village, living the same way and in the same building with the locals? The Cozy Apartment will give you all that and more. Just on the corner of the Piazza Marconi, up a few stairs lies just such an opportunity.

Vernazza has come so far from the devastating floods of 2011 and now offers the same wonderful atmosphere and peacefulness it did before. Maria and Giacomo are the most gracious and beautiful couple imaginable. They will make your stay even more memorable and you will leave with new friends for life. The Cozy Apartment was very clean and well appointed, with a comfortable double bed and equally comfortable single. The bath has plenty of water pressure and we never ran out of hot water. Nice towels, clean floor and shower, obviously well cared for and managed. We also found everything we needed in the kitchen during our stay. All in all a terrific experience. Thank you Mr. and Mrs. Capellini for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: The Capellini's also have a room just off the Piazza, which has no stairs to negotiate, called t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank exracer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for a week in the cozy Charming Room right on the edge of the Vernazza harbour. Maria and Giacomo were the nicest hosts ever - we could easily adopt them as our Italian parents! They were incredibly thoughtful, kind, warm and caring. The little apartment was spotlessly clean and had a tiny kitchen with the essentials. The bed was comfy and the room was quiet at night with only the lovely sound of the waves to lull us to sleep. It was wonderful not to have to negotiate stairs to come and go from the room. Restaurants and coffee bars were a stone's throw away. One night when we came back from visiting another town after a heavy rain storm with some flooding, Giacomo was waiting for us, and gave us emergency supplies in case the power went out. Stay here if you visit Vernazza. It is a real gem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donnawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Maria and Giacomo greeted us like old friends. Maria even met us at the train station and walked us to our room. We stayed in the plaza right on the water. Wonderful to listen to the waves at night. The room was small, with 3 of us, but very pleasant and clean. We took the train to visit 2 of the other Cinque Terre towns, as the weather was a bit unsettled for hiking. This was a nice 2 day stay to recover from the busy streets of Rome.

Room Tip: Stay by the water. No stairs to climb!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved our stay at Maria Capellini Rooms in the Cozy Apartment. We had many stairs to climb and the bathroom is small, but the room is clean, and delightful. We hung our laundry on the line outside our window and shared snacks and wine in the little kitchen. We did not have a view, but we were hiking each day anyway, and the hikes are full of spectacular views! You are in the heart of activity, so don't expect things to be too quite outside your windows at night. I slept with ear plugs and had restful nights. Maria and her husband Giacomo were fabulous hosts! They were readily available and made us feel at home. I would love to return someday and check in with them! Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: The cozy apartment is great for three people.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernazza
3.9 mi away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
600 reviews
2.7 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Franca Maria Rooms
Franca Maria Rooms
#14 of 39 in Vernazza
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Cato
Casa Cato
#2 of 39 in Vernazza
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Sorriso
Pensione Sorriso
#22 of 39 in Vernazza
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Capellini Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Capellini Rooms

Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 26, 19018 Vernazza, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Vernazza
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Vernazza
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Maria Capellini Rooms Hotel Vernazza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing