We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Apartment, Great Location, Great Host”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vintage apartment

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
VISTA CHIESA S. MARGHERITA STAZIONE CENTRALE VERNAZZA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
VISTA CHIESA S. MARGHERITA
STAZIONE CENTRALE VERNAZZA
DIVANO LETTO
VISTA MOLO VERNAZZA
DIVANO LETTO 2 POSTI
VISTA VIA PRINCIPALE
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Vernazza, Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Mariagraz...
Tirana, Albania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Horrible experience, the owner Doriano is very rude and ignorant (I'm not talking about his english). He never showed up at the time we agreed to meet to get the keys, 4:30 pm, so well within the limits of check in. I said I would send a sms to confirm the time once we would be sure we got on the right train, so I did at 4:00. He claims he never received it, but anyway he should have been there, because the sms was just a confirm. It took us two international phone calls to find out he was still at his home in La Spezia, then he finally sent a cousin of him more than one hour later!! He never apologized, but he was even rude and offensive in his answers! I travel a lot but I've never met suche a rude and unprofessional person. He definetly doesn't deserve our money!
The apartment is few steps from the train stations, so the trains are shockingly loud, plus you can even hear the loudspeakers announcing their arrival! The local trains stop during the night but not the long distance ones, so you can't rest the whole night. Add to this noisy neighbours upstairs and a food market right under the apartment's windows, you won't sleep for the entire stay.
It is also very expensive, more than 100 euros/night off season, with no cleaning, no change of towels, no picking up of the trash for the entire stay, and you have to pay at check in! The apartment is very basic, no attempt to make it a little bit charming. The hairdryer doesn't fit any of the three plugs in the bathroom, the water heater is too small even for two people, it is dangerous to get in and out of the tub, the bed is narrow and the matress sloping in the middle, the wi-fi unstable at night, very few tv channels. I definetly discourage people to rent this apartment and to deal with the owner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Horrible experience with this customer.. Ignorant and rude to the already stressed out. His arrival did not tell me your arrival time and expected them maybe were not all customers are smart to warn people before they arrive to avoid and not host
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily W
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cold Comfort”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I chose this due to it's proximity to the train station as I had heavy luggage. Unfortunately it also means noise from the trains. And yes the stairs were narrow and steep. There is a lift at the train station but it was out of order when I arrived. It is a whole apartment so you pretty much have everything to yourself so the wifi is good and strong. It's furnishings are a bit dated in style but not old and everything was clean and in good working order. There are also lots of appliances like fridge, microwave, electric kettle and coffee and tea.
Within half an hour of my arrival, the electricity tripped and I was without power for 1 hour. The man in charge had given me his telephone number and came back to fix the problem. He said don't use all the appliances at once. I did not and was worried that it might happen again but fortunately it didn't. Do make sure you get the number of the owner for any emergencies. The "room" had no proper walls. It had curtains on 2 sides which was the problem. Although there was a heater and it was working well, without walls means the heater was trying to heat up the whole apartment! I was cold most of the night in spite of putting on my down jacket and pants. I ended up getting only 3 hours of sleep. I am sure it is great in summer but not so good for colder times.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triparoun...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Apartment, Great Location, Great Host”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spent three fantastic nights at the Vintage Apartment In Vernazza. Light, airy and plenty of space overlooking the village main street. Be aware of the steep steps to the apartment but if you don't like steps, don't visit Vernazza.
Doriano was a great host, giving us directions, met us at the station and even helping us see a doctor (and translating) when our son hurt is shoulder.
He also gave a great discounts at the little bar he ran in the harbour square and introduced me to my addiction to Limoncello.
This little village had everything you needed, a great base for exploring Cinque Terre.
Definitely one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the apartment
Liked least: Washing machine wasn't working
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailChery...
Iowa City, IA
Level 6 Contributor
665 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great price and very convenient location and nice hideaway when the tour boat guests descend each day from 10-5. There are plenty of amenienties that make it easy to cook. The coop or grocery shop is across the street with most that you need. A few problems, the trip advisor listing says that there is a washer and dryer. There is not! The train station is about 30 yards from the windows, and there are many trains an hour, so be prepared for that noise and ear plugs are a must for sleeping. Others have commented on the two dozen steep steps up to the apartment, and they ARE steep. The owner we found to be less than responsive when we had a problem with electricity that went off early morning due to a storm. Our attempts to contact him were frustrating; long waits for replies that were almost impossible to decipher. Though by the end of the day he appeared, and got power restored, he was unpleasant and left before we had a chance to ask questions. Be prepared to be on your own, or make sure you speak very good Italian.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasskate
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“On the strip”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment as all others in Vernazza involves many steep stairs and is not recommended for the Elderly.
It was very roomy with upgraded bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen had a microwave, tea maker and toaster ( the stove could not/ should not be used ??)
Since it was only steps to the train station, earplugs for sleeping are a must, unless you are a train enthusiast and want to keep tabs on the train schedule.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M
Yakima, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in the heart of Vernazza.”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful three night stay at the Vintage Apartment. It was open and bright with a wonderful view overlooking the main street in Vernazza. Doriano was a great host and met us right as we exited the train station. I didn't give it a 5 only because it is near the train station and that could be an issue for light sleepers, neither myself nor my wife are, so it was not an issue for us, but it is something to be aware of. It is up two flights of stairs, but everywhere in Vernazza requires stairs and climbing! As a matter o fact, if you are visiting anywhere in Cinque Terre you are climbing up or down stairs! Pack light!

We really enjoyed our stay at the Vintage Apartments and our visit to Cinque Terre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Right in Vernazza
Liked least: Train noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwannpat...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation but a bit noisy”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment itself is lovely, well-furbished and clean. The owner is also very helpful and friendly. He even called us to let us know about the train strikes that will be taking place which would disrupt our travel plans. All in all, it's been a very comfortable stay. The room is just 5 minutes walk to the beach and almost right next to the train station (which is why it could get noisy sometimes). Apart from the occasion noise from the train, I would totally recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing