We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitoes and dingy rooms”
Review of Hotel Major

Hotel Major
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Major
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mosquitoes and dingy rooms”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have proven to my wife that even sound proof windows couldn't stop mosquitoes from attacking us in this eye opening hotel. Yes, it's family run, yes you get the real Italian signora treatment - loud, proud and unfriendly. The room we got was stuffy, sheets were bug ridden and had eccentric lights which only worked during the day. It's clearly the rooms were not properly cleand and ventilated as there's this lingering smell which is still embedded on my backpack. Was planning to stay for 2 nights but decided to pack up and head to Milan the next day instead. It's near the red light district, so go figure the location. Of all the B&Bs and hotels we stayed for the 1 month, this ranked amongst the worst. There were many more 'cheaper' hotels and B&Bs which are better, cleaner and friendlier. Only for the adventurous few who seek discomfort traveling

Room Tip: Find another hotel, seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    23
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
2
18
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I am pleased to report that the babies mentioned by an earlier reviewer appear to have grown up somewhat and the only children I could see were of primary school age
This is quite clearly a family run hotel, and the family quite clearly lives here
Once you get your head around that you'll hardly notice they're there!
The location is great, right in the old part of town
But as a result the building is old, musty, sparsely furnished, and lacks an elevator
If you have trouble lifting your suitcase then I recommend you stay elsewhere
There didn't seem to be that many patrons but I was still given a room on the 4th floor which irked me greatly
On the other hand the room was clean and spacious, the common shower clean, and a PC was provided in the lobby for free internet access

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed there just for one night coming from Cinque Terre.
Good Location, near the train station and to the main sites of the town.
Staff: a typical italian family: babies and loud talks at the entrance.
The beds are the top for the hotel; mattress excellent and the windows are sound proof.
There wasn´t a frigo in the room.
Breakfast was good.
You´d better call in advance to confirm time of arrival

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

No hotel experience quite compares to the Hotel Major in Genova. I booked the hotel for 2 friends from California who were coming to visit me for a week in August. The day that my friends arrived at the Hotel, I called to ensure that everything was still okay with the room.

The signora who answered the phone began shouting at me that two people (she used the term "crazy people", who did not have my name, were claiming my reservation. I apologized profusely for the confusion and asked only to resolve the problem. "Resolve it with your friends not with me" she said, "Good Evening, Sir."

I called my friends and they informed me that they had been put in a terrible room with malfunctional lights and that the signora had yelled at them.

I tried to call the signora back to confirm that my friends would be able to stay for the 2 nights they had planned to stay in Genova, but when she picked up the phone and I said it was me, she told me not to call again--and hung up!

Once again I called back (and I stress that in all my conversations I remained humble, polite and above all penitent about the case of mistaken identity, remaining optimistic that we could come to a mutually satisfactory solution), and she told me that they could stay but they would get no discount and breakfast would not be included as previously agreed.

My friends decided to find a room elsewhere.

Thus, while the rooms are a bargain (at around 60 EUR a night for a double), the surly service far outweighs the discount.

  • Liked — The price of the rooms
  • Disliked — The worst service I've ever seen in my life.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zoltan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Sampierdarena
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#79 of 91 in Genoa
41 reviews
Hotel Bernheof
#78 of 91 in Genoa
80 reviews
Hotel Armonia
#68 of 91 in Genoa
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
Mini Hotel
Mini Hotel
#77 of 91 in Genoa
158 reviews
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 91 in Genoa
784 reviews
Soana City Rooms
#44 of 91 in Genoa
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Major? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Major

Property: Hotel Major
Address: Via Spada 4, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Major 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Major reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing