We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected breakfast "surprise"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Genoa City
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected breakfast "surprise"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

It's funny how something not really positive can make you write a review...
I'm a Platinum Elite member, and was quite unpleasantly surprised during breakfast today - the on-duty person at the restaurant started eyeing me the moment I tried to wrap a couple of cupcakes for my 7 year old (who isn't a great eater and didn't have much breakfast) to take with us, and then was told off - no food was supposed to be taken out!
I very much like the hotel and the whole Genoa experience but this sort of attitude is really intrusive and leaves some bitter aftertaste...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancunian3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Client,
thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
We regret if something during your stay was under your expectations. Your suggestion are
precious and we will do everything to improve in the areas indicated by you
hoping to welcome you again in our hotel we remain
best regards,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    594
    204
    45
    26
See reviews for
378
340
38
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is ok. Maybe not as quiet as you'd like it and there was an issue in the bathroon, which cleaners should have seen and reported to the facilities team for fixing, but overall an ok service for the price tag.
However: they did say they offer wifi, and that's where it all falls down.
It's not that important, whether it's free or not (though I think for hotels in this pricerange free wifi should be the norm). It's important that it works for the normal business requirements.
Holiday in gets it the wrong way round: it's free, but it doesn't work.

the service is too slow to use even simple web sites (like trip advisor). Business travelers these days often need to rely on wifi. They need to access cloud stored documents, access customers' systems for any IT related tasks, run video calls and much more.
None of these things is possible with the terrible wifi at Holiday Inn Genoa City. I relied on ot to do some work in the evenings and now I have to find a coffee shop with wifi opening late.

Lesson for the hotel manager: not all travelers need wifi, but if they need it, they need to be able to rely on what you promise. Otherwise, it's not far off not having a bed or a shower in the rooms. If you can't deliver, don't promise! Easy as that.Then you won't get these lor ratings (and the 2 points are already generous, given that you completely f... up my trip)

Room Tip: higher floors for quiet and harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanicBritTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Client,
thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
We regret if something during your stay was under your expectations and we apologize if the wifi service was not good, ut we are susrpised about it, cause nobody claims for wifi service last week. our suggestion is to ask to the reception desk for every problem, in order to let us solve it. hoping to welcome you again in our hotel we remain
best regards,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as we have regularly stayed at holiday inn in states and other european countries but the Genoa city italy,hotel was a total disappointment.I was travelling with my twin daughters and they stopped me from taking even 1 orange from the breakfast room which was insulting.I was coming from Nice Hyatt Regency where they used to ask me if i needed anything for kids!its not personal but i asked for english breakfast tea bag in room but that also i did not get.
Then they said their luggage guy was too not available so had to carry it ourselves.When we check in at Holiday Inn this is not what we expect.Very insulting and disappointing.My kids now are scared of ever staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shwetagoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Client,
thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
We regret if something during your stay was under your expectations. Your suggestion are
precious and we will do everything to improve in the areas indicated by you
hoping to welcome you again in our hotel we remain
best regards,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel has pretty nice infrastructure, the room was larger than average for European standards and the breakfast hotel was very good. On the flip side, the location is just bad, hard to get to, especially if you want to get to the parking garage - that is an odyssey. This is not a good place to stay if you go to Genoa on vacation. Ok for business travel, especially if you will move around the ferry port area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestolebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your stay and your review. We are sorry to note that the area around our structure has a negative impact on your experience at the hotel, but unfortunately we are in a slightly secluded area than that of the center, where there are restaurants and bars. While the day is very busy in the evening is almost deserted and ourselves suggest our guests to move quietly until dinner time by public transport and taxi back after dinner, and in a few minutes at a moderate price.
however we hope to be able to have as our guest again and best regards.
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very clean Hotel with excellent breakfast, but a bit poor with the hospitality tray in the room, metro was very cheap and just a 100 yards away, supermarket opposite with everything you need, also a couple of restaraunts close by where ihad my best Italian meal ever, would definately stay again

Room Tip: ask for one that faces the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kclos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Client,
thank you for your stay and for the time take to leave your opinion!
for us and for other future guests your review is very important and helpful.
hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Genoa City, we remain.
Best regards,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel in general is good. We were a group of four couples coming on bikes. We had a trouble to reach the hotel from the highway. The road showed that it is a must to U turn under the bridge which was an entrance to the port and caused us some troubles with the port security. When we reached the hotel very tired, the reception was not welcoming. He was entering letters as slaw as a kid in kindergarten! Rooms are good but very small as most of Europe hotels. We had to take a Taxi to reach to the city attractions as they are not in nearby.

Room Tip: Be carful if you are coming by car or bike to the hotel as the rout may take you to the port entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andijani_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience writing on tripadvisor..

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

the room was very clean, the bathroom was very big and nice.
located 2km from old city and harbor.
wifi is very good, good coverage and good speed.
breakfast if very good.
nice people with good service.

Room Tip: i got the executive room, very big with a balcony. great sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Client,
thank you for your stay and for the time take to leave your opinion!
for us and for other future guests your review is very important and helpful.
hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Genoa City, we remain.
Best regards,
Ilaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Grand Hotel Savoia
#2 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Novotel Genova City
#33 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Genoa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Genoa City

Property: Holiday Inn Genoa City
Address: Via Milano 47, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#12 Family Hotel in Genoa
#15 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Genoa City 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Genoa City is the ideal choice if you re looking for a hotel in Genoa. Don t miss the chance to stay at this new designer hotel that opened in early 2009, and just a few steps away from Europe s largest city centre and the city s main attractions: the Genoa Aquarium, Via Garibaldi, the Palazzo Ducale and the Carlo Felice Theatre are only a few minutes away, and the ferry and cruise terminals are next to the hotel itself. We re easy to reach: the Ge-Ovest motorway exit is just 300 m. away, the P. Principe station less than 1 km away, and the Cristoforo Colombo Int. Airport is 6 km away. The Cotone Conference Centre and Genoa Trade Fair Centre can also be rapidly reached. Fully noise-proofed rooms, Wi-Fi Internet, flat screen TV, Sky channels, garage with direct access, bar and mini-gym. The Newport Restaurant offers Genoese and international specialities, and is a splendid bonus for our guests, welcomed every morning by our generous buffet breakfasts. For meetings and all other events, the Holiday Inn Genoa City offers 5 multipurpose rooms seating up to 200 persons. Our strongest point however is our highly professional staff, who will make you want to return to us as soon as possible. Elegant design, friendly hospitality, professional service and the finest quality for the price: all this is the Holiday Inn Genoa City, more than a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Genoa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Genoa City Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing