We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, business-oriented hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location, business-oriented hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed three nights in this hotel with friends; they had a double room and I had a double for just me. The location cannot be beat! Right near one of the hubs of Genoa, we loved being a very short walk from so many sights. When we arrived our car was whisked away by the valet, somebody else took our bags upstairs for us, a wonderful start to our stay and we were happy to have our rooms available earlier than their normal check-in time. They made a well-appreciated suggestion for our lunch restaurant, too.

The staff is helpful and friendly but they aren't necessarily up to speed on tourist amenities, this being a hotel mostly given over to business people. The person at the desk cheerfully called for info about the hop on-hop off bus tours, for example: they didn't have a flyer to give us but got the info over the phone. Fair enough.

The rooms are not huge but are nicely appointed, with all you'd hope for in this price range. Note that the rooms are NOT entirely soundproofed and there's a busy outdoor restaurant in the little piazza out front; voices also carry in the tiny side street some other rooms give onto. The music thankfully ends at 10pm, but enthusiastic conversations outside continue until the wee hours. By coincidence, there was daytime street construction going on during our stay. The hotel offers several European newspapers for free, but not the International Herald Tribune, which is available a couple blocks away at a news stand.

Breakfast is very complete, the huge buffet has lovely food. There's a "happy hour" light supper buffet in the evening, very convenient if you're pooped after a day of sightseeing. The beds are typical Italian extra-firm and the pillows are the predictable sacks of cement style. Free wifi in all rooms, yay! CNN, CNBC, BBC are on the tube.

We would definitely stay here again, and I'd certainly recommend it to friends with the above provisos.

This was my first trip to Genoa and I loved it!

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floors for distance from the street noise; otherwise very light sleepers who go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbondanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    523
    95
    15
    7
See reviews for
398
458
34
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

As others have said this can be well recommended for it superb location, two minutes from Piazza Ferrari , which is a stop on the airport bus route, very friendly and helpful staff, who all speak reasonable English if you don't want to use your Italian, clean, extensive breakfast. Weekends when the hotel is full you have to be down early for breakfast if you don't want to queue - they have a note about this in the lift. My only trouble concerned the wi-fi, which although free, caused me problems and indeed the hotel had to call in a technician to get it up and running again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It is a nice hotel, old but renovated. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is located in a nice little mini-square. The location is pretty central and has lots of Italian restaurants and even an English pub nearby. The room, though small, was very clean and comfortable. The food and the home wine were also quite nice. The lifts are very small but still the waiting was never long.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARUP_RAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is very clean and modern, close walking distance to many attractions and transportation, and has a very helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again! The breakfast is a nice variety for everyone's likes, and the restaurant just across the street is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevvy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very well run hotel. Our room was a good size for Europe standards. The breakfast was complete, they have everything you could want including cappucino. The location is perfect for walking about Genoa. If we go back to Genoa, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystravel_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I've nothing to say more than this. I only add that there was not enough space to sit in front of my computer because of the king bed behind the chair. Also, a bottle of water is now something that is complimentary and not charged in many hotels...Here is 3.5€. But there is a coffee/tea machine (good).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefx65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Easy to find, got the Velabus from Airport to Piazza de Ferrari, then 2 minute walk to the hotel. Pleasantly welcomed. Was a little disappointed with the size of the room but saying that it had everything I needed. Single bed was really comfortable, great view, Wi-Fi was fast. On 6th floor so needed the lift which occasionally took forever to get. Breakfast was great, huge selection, from fruit, cereal, cheese, hams, salmon, breads, cakes etc.... Staff always there for you. Great location, central for everything & the hop on/off sightseeing bus can be picked up in the Piazza.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
478 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus City Hotel
Address: Via di San Sebastiano 6, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#4 Green Hotel in Genoa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#5 Business Hotel in Genoa
#7 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4 star Best Western Plus City Hotel in Genoa is located in the heart of downtown, just 200 meters away from the Palazzo Ducale, very near the Aquarium and other tourist attractions. The City Hotel is very much appreciated due to the courtesy of its personnel and the high quality of the services offered: a breakfast full of fresh, genuine products; no compromises when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene; a cocoon-like, new and fresh environment… all make our guests feel particularly comfortable during their stay. The City Hotel’s success is based on a philosophy of hospitality centered on the ideas of satisfying our guests’ 5 senses, commercial transparency and respect for the environment. The results are satisfied clients that return often and gladly recommend the City Hotel to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing