We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 October 2013

While travelling to France having spent 2 weeks in Italy we stayed here for a night on the way. What a good call. We had minimal time so the location on the edge of the old town was excellent. Neat, tidy clean rooms with good facilities. Valet parking, awesome! We walked the old city for hours no problem. We had a meal back at the hotel which was also good quality and this was backed up by a very good buffet breakfast. More than happy to comeback. This good value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

position was very good

clean throughout

good rooms

decent breakfast

lifts should be improved

be aware that they switch off the air con when it suits them [not when it suits their clients --- this is a very bad fault and not as advertised

Room Tip: if you need to open widows to sleep due to no air con provided when you stay --- be very wary of sta...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunchisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel lived up to expectations. Room was modern, clean and quiet, overlooking the entrance courtyard. Even had tea & coffee making facilities. Something we didn't appreciate at the time was a free safe that was large enough to put our ipad & the rest of our electrical devices in - we didn't find this in hotels in the rest of our holiday.
Breakfast was superb…pigged out on scrambled eggs and salmon - they even had sparkling wine to go with it (all that was missing was the HP brown sauce). This may sound a strange thing to comment on but they had a toaster - is that just a British thing - didn't have them in other hotels we stayed in? Also even had individual portions of peanut butter!
You can also help yourself to free hot drinks throughout the day in the breakfast room. They did do a happy hour "thing" where you could pay for alcoholic drinks & there were some nibbles etc but we didn't try that so can't say if that was good or not.
Some small gripes (but not enough to impact our rating) -the wifi wasn’t that good in the room…kept dropping out due to weak signal. It was fine in the lobby. Also, the travel instructions on the hotel website are not helpful. Best advice is to catch the Volabus shuttle (every half hour in peak season, 6 euro each way, less than 30min journey) from the airport and get off at the Piazza De Ferrari (the big fountain – the bus stop is called De Ferrari/Centro Citta). The hotel is 2 minutes walk from here. We only found this out after we had done the walk from Brignole station (uphill and raised the heart rate) then to Principe station (further than Brignole but flatter/easier) as part of our sightseeing agenda.
Location was excellent and most attractions are within easy striking distance…..Genoa isn’t that big and can be quite easily walked if you are reasonably fit, but we still did the big red bus tour (£15 – toppy but valid for 48 hours and we used it for hop on/hop off as well as walking) to find out more about the local history.
I've added a separate review for the hotel restaurant - Le Rune - but we had a fab meal there.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room & it overlooked the courtyard - it was very quiet & I really love...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relaxation_Finder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed three nights in this hotel with friends; they had a double room and I had a double for just me. The location cannot be beat! Right near one of the hubs of Genoa, we loved being a very short walk from so many sights. When we arrived our car was whisked away by the valet, somebody else took our bags upstairs for us, a wonderful start to our stay and we were happy to have our rooms available earlier than their normal check-in time. They made a well-appreciated suggestion for our lunch restaurant, too.

The staff is helpful and friendly but they aren't necessarily up to speed on tourist amenities, this being a hotel mostly given over to business people. The person at the desk cheerfully called for info about the hop on-hop off bus tours, for example: they didn't have a flyer to give us but got the info over the phone. Fair enough.

The rooms are not huge but are nicely appointed, with all you'd hope for in this price range. Note that the rooms are NOT entirely soundproofed and there's a busy outdoor restaurant in the little piazza out front; voices also carry in the tiny side street some other rooms give onto. The music thankfully ends at 10pm, but enthusiastic conversations outside continue until the wee hours. By coincidence, there was daytime street construction going on during our stay. The hotel offers several European newspapers for free, but not the International Herald Tribune, which is available a couple blocks away at a news stand.

Breakfast is very complete, the huge buffet has lovely food. There's a "happy hour" light supper buffet in the evening, very convenient if you're pooped after a day of sightseeing. The beds are typical Italian extra-firm and the pillows are the predictable sacks of cement style. Free wifi in all rooms, yay! CNN, CNBC, BBC are on the tube.

We would definitely stay here again, and I'd certainly recommend it to friends with the above provisos.

This was my first trip to Genoa and I loved it!

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floors for distance from the street noise; otherwise very light sleepers who go...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbondanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

As others have said this can be well recommended for it superb location, two minutes from Piazza Ferrari , which is a stop on the airport bus route, very friendly and helpful staff, who all speak reasonable English if you don't want to use your Italian, clean, extensive breakfast. Weekends when the hotel is full you have to be down early for breakfast if you don't want to queue - they have a note about this in the lift. My only trouble concerned the wi-fi, which although free, caused me problems and indeed the hotel had to call in a technician to get it up and running again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It is a nice hotel, old but renovated. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is located in a nice little mini-square. The location is pretty central and has lots of Italian restaurants and even an English pub nearby. The room, though small, was very clean and comfortable. The food and the home wine were also quite nice. The lifts are very small but still the waiting was never long.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARUP_RAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is very clean and modern, close walking distance to many attractions and transportation, and has a very helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again! The breakfast is a nice variety for everyone's likes, and the restaurant just across the street is wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevvy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
499 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel

Address: Via di San Sebastiano 6, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#4 Green Hotel in Genoa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#5 Business Hotel in Genoa
#7 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: £75 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4 star Best Western Plus City Hotel in Genoa is located in the heart of downtown, just 200 meters away from the Palazzo Ducale, very near the Aquarium and other tourist attractions. The City Hotel is very much appreciated due to the courtesy of its personnel and the high quality of the services offered: a breakfast full of fresh, genuine products; no compromises when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene; a cocoon-like, new and fresh environment… all make our guests feel particularly comfortable during their stay. The City Hotel’s success is based on a philosophy of hospitality centered on the ideas of satisfying our guests’ 5 senses, commercial transparency and respect for the environment. The results are satisfied clients that return often and gladly recommend the City Hotel to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing