We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Western Offers A Good Value with a Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Western Offers A Good Value with a Breakfast”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

For us, the challenge was finding this hotel. We had a rental car and kept driving around the block until my husband parked and I walked around to find the entry of the hotel. The staff at BW are friendly, helpful and the accommodations are modern and comfortable. The hotel is trendy and new. There are many restaurants within walking distance including a local grocery store. The breakfast was very plentiful and very good. The hotel itself is smack dab in the middle of Genoa. We did the Hop-On/Hop Off Bus tour to see the highlights of the city. Genoa is a very busy place with lots of fast moving traffic, lots of motorcycles and buses and not many tourists strolling around town. If we ever come back to Genoa, we would stay here again and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kagey805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    515
    92
    15
    5
See reviews for
388
450
33
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Can't beat BW for good quality accommodation in the city Center. Rooms are modest in size but neat and clean and functional. Included breakfast was the best we've had in Italy, with lots of fresh fruit. Only about 100 meters to the Di Ferrari Metro, handy to return to the train station, but only minutes walk to San Lorenzo Cathedral and the port area. Free Wifi in room and open iPads in lobby and dining room for the kids to catch up on their Gmail. €480 for two rooms two nights.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Khufu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Well, the title characterizes the hotel sufficiently and I could stop writing. However, let me add a few lines about my hotel impressions. Based on the Tripadvisor ranking as number three in Genova, I had exaggerated expections in this four-star hotel, which could not be met, because I did not know anything about the classification of hotels in this city. Anyway, the location is excellent, just a few meters away from the Piazza de Ferrari with the Palazzo Ducale and the Nuova Borsa. Since I had a 'Deluxe double room' on the fifth floor looking onto a narrow alley, there was no noise from traffic. However, the walls were thin and I could hear sometimes TV and conversations from a neighboring room; this problem could be overcome with my ear plugs. Well, what else? The shower had a very low water pressure, the used-up courtesy articles, from tea bags to body milk, were replaced on demand, only. Another nuisance was that there was not enough storage space in the bathroom, leave alone the cabinet, which was already half-filled with fridge, safe, water heater, tea and coffee bags, blankets. This might be fine if you stay for one or two nights, but I had to stay for a whole week. To finish with some good news, the staff was very friendly and helpful, there was free WiFi everywhere in the hotel (300 - 30 kByte/sec, depending on day time), and the breakfast buffet was overwhelming not just the proverbial 'espresso and cigarette'.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you want to visit Genoa this place is ideal. Clean and modern with nice comfortable rooms. You can walk everywhere you need to from this hotel and its located on a quite upper class shopping street not far from the main square as well as plenty or restaurants nearby. The breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbfdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for 1 week in a 4 bed room. It consisted on one double bed and bunk beds for the children. The room was very clean and an excellent size for all four of us. The room had a TV and Playstation2 for the children. My only gripe would be there was very little clothes storage space for the four of us for a week, but it was a minor point. The hotel is well situated, the staff are very helpful and professional and the whole stay was an absolute pleasure. Breakfast was excellent and a wide variety of food available. There wasn't even the usual hunt for a table in the morning for breakfast even when the hotel was at its busiest at the weekend. Staff were very efficient and tables cleaned within seconds for someone else to use. We travel from Singapore to Genova twice a year and I would have no hesitation in using the hotel again. In fact I am already looking to book for the year end. Thoroughly recommend the hotel. It also has a computer and printer for no charge for you to log in and print off your flight boarding passes or whatever else you may want to print off. Which other hotel offers that?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel_C1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Had a 4 person bedroom so it was spacious enough for the two of us. Our room came with Playstation, how amazing is that! (think games need to be rented?), slippers, 2 types of pillows, minibar, safe, hairdryer.
The accessories in the bathroom get even better! A complete set for shaving, dental set with tooth paste, shoe sponge, body lotion, intimate care, bath robes, hand soap and shower cap! The bath tub came with an awesome rainshower head and massaging function!
Furthermore, our room had an awesome Nicole Kidman canvas.

People at reception were friendly, valet parking, really close to city centre. Conclusion: comes with all our needs!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chellodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely hotel - clean, spacious and feeling of luxury without the price. It was in a good position and the staff were extremely helpful and professional at all times. Lovely breakfast and very comfortable bed with additional pillow order service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,659 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
457 reviews
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus City Hotel
Address: Via di San Sebastiano 6, 16123, Genoa, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#4 Green Hotel in Genoa
#5 Business Hotel in Genoa
#7 Family Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant 4 star Best Western Plus City Hotel in Genoa is located in the heart of downtown, just 200 meters away from the Palazzo Ducale, very near the Aquarium and other tourist attractions. The City Hotel is very much appreciated due to the courtesy of its personnel and the high quality of the services offered: a breakfast full of fresh, genuine products; no compromises when it comes to cleanliness and hygiene; a cocoon-like, new and fresh environment… all make our guests feel particularly comfortable during their stay. The City Hotel’s success is based on a philosophy of hospitality centered on the ideas of satisfying our guests’ 5 senses, commercial transparency and respect for the environment. The results are satisfied clients that return often and gladly recommend the City Hotel to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Genoa
Genoa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing