We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian Elegance and first class service...”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Elegance and first class service...”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is probably one of the best hotels in Genova (Italian spelling). I have just returned from a mid-week stay and would definitely recommend it for the following reasons:

It dates back to the 1800's and has been restored nicely (there was once direct access to the station)
It is within 100 meters of the main station Genova Principe
The staff are very intuitive & helpful, speak very good English and are readily available at all times.
The Spa is very relaxing with various different rooms and treatments available
The beds & linen are some of the most comfortable I have used (better than a Sheraton hotel!)
Competitive room rates can be found on line (£80 a night via otels.com)
Children's play area with Pirate theme

Dating back to the 1800's with many famous names in their guest books the hotel retains some of its original glamour, high ceilings, chandeliers, long drape curtains and floor to ceiling mirrors. Most rooms have a small Juliet balcony, we where in room 406 and it directly faced the train station. There is no noise from other rooms or outside (although the hotel was not very full) There are three lifts and many function rooms. The hotel looks like it is used quite a lot for businesses as it has good facilities. I would say its brilliant for any type of stay even a family one as there is a brilliant outside playground. We did not have breakfast here but the room service menu was very reasonably priced with a traditional pesto pasta dish at around 12 euro.

WiFi was available via a code given to you at reception. The Sky channels are limited to only 3/4 English ones. The showers where very powerful and temperature was easily to control. Toiletries are available but a little word of warning if you are one of the rare few who relies on these the conditioner is pretty useless and is more like a soap.


MAIN REASONS TO VISIT?

Location - Old Italian Glamour - Luxury Spa

Room Tip: Take a room between 402-408 to get a good view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bananna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    697
    166
    53
    22
See reviews for
504
1,301
106
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Grand Hotel Savoia surpassed my expectations. The staff was extremely hospitable and the accommodations were amazing. Friendly staff such as Jessica in the dining area, Gabriele & Federico greeted me with a warm smile and great service. And lastly, Vincent who assisted me with parking ensured my stay was a memorable one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Korey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very good value for money. They had managed to mess my reservation up and it took some time to sort that out. Perhaps as a result of that and as I was travelling on my own I was assigned a very compact room - I can't tell if this is the normal size or not but it would be very small for 2 people.

Breakfast buffet was nice but I had to physically go into the kitchen, after 15 minutes waiting, to find someone to provide coffee.

I would stay here again, but review the room types on offer first.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monday1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

What a lovely hotel! We got a pretty good rate and expectations were exceeded with how lovely this hotel was - particularly the foyer and bar.

We booked a room without hotel breakfast to keep the price down, but unfortunately once we eyed-off the breakfast we couldn't resist! What an amazing selection! I think we ended up paying more for the breakfast because it was an add-on, so do yourselves a favour and get the room with the breakfast included!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cottagepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We only stayed two nights at the Grand Hotel in Genoa back in March, 2012. We wanted to see this city and also go to Cinque Terra. Our room was spacious for European standards, elegently decorated, clean, and despite the hotel being across from the train station, it was very quiet. Service was great and staff was very friendly. The buffet breakfast was unbelievable. We loved the hotel and the location. We also obtained an excellent price for this 5 star hotel. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time to take advatage of the spa.
The food in the hotel restaurant was very good but so was the food in it's sister hotel next door. The restaurant next door was not as elegant as the Hotel Grand, but the staff was very friendly, they spoke Spanish and a little English, and the food was absolutely great and very reasonably priced. We not only recommend this hotel but we also recommend both restaurants (I cannot remember the name of the restaurant next door but it was inside the Hotel Continental).

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mireli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

What a great find. This hotel is a quick 3 min walk fron the train station and as backpackers this was fantastic. The room is the largest we have encountered after 4 weeks of travel in Europe. It offered all the extras and staff were very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was extensive and would cater to all tastes. We would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

You get a sense of the style of old Genoa staying in the Grand Hotel Savoia. From the outside, the hotel looks very ordinary, but step inside and it's like you've gone back a hundred years. Not in terms of comfort though - it's all very modern and the wifi works a treat. I booked a Deluxe room, and it was very spacious, and beautifully decorated with a huge painting of the Genoa harbour behind the bed. Parking is easy, if a little expensive at €24 per night. Just give your keys to the concierge and they'll park it for you in a secure garage. The service is friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is expansive, with a full range of fruits, cereals and eggs made to order. My cappuccino both mornings came out from the kitchen a little cold, but that's a minor quibble They also have freshly baked local focaccia. Beautiful. The location is about 15 minutes walk to the centre of the old city - longish. But it's right beside the beautiful central railway station. All up the Grand Hotel Savoia is a very beautiful elegant hotel with great service and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms have a view out over the station and are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billbennettoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#2 of 92 in Genoa
1,523 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#7 of 92 in Genoa
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Property: Grand Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing