We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great hotel, I recommend it. the spa is as clean as it gets, although towels could have been changed more regularly and the jacuzzi was not accessible. we waited quite a while at check out to get our car back, and that's really the only downside there was (but a big one since we waited over 30minutes!)
otherwise great hotel, perfectly clean, rooms are spacious, breakfast was good and service impeccable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,681
    697
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
504
1,304
106
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here last year and the property is enchanting. Impeccable service, clean, and well kept. However, the city... not so much. We weren't comfortable going out after dark and morning time didn't fare any better. Witnessed policemen running, chasing criminals with stolen bags from the train depot at 7:00 a.m. Hotel and hotel staff were excellent. We suggest learning Italian or some Italian to assist in your travel around Genoa...our little knowledge of Italia helped a great deal. And as with any travel destination, keep your belongings in your sight and reach at all times...we saw people become victims to quick opportunists.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

to be honest this is the number one hotel in genoa and I believe it, the biggest problem with the hotel is that genoa is a dirty, dingy, nasty port city, if you are a tourist I would plan not to stay in genoa at all if you can avoid it, the surrounding neighborhood although walkable was the most unsafe I felt in all of Italy with many unsavory underclass types, the hotel is over a hundred years old and it shows, the elevators were too small to fit us and our luggage and always a long line to wait for it with lots of non English speaking travelers rudely cutting in front, the room was 80% filled by the bed which was large and nice itself, minibar was excessively pricey as opposed to free at other luxury hotels we stayed in, there was lots of street noise, although technically a "nice" room above motel standards....I would not stay here again and we couldn't wait to get out fast enough because mostly genoa is a depressed place, if you are looking for a place to base a cinque terre trip from just make the trek back to milan or florence....if you went to America would you plan a special trip to cleavland? nope

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bggz7c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was a really nice hotel and loved staying here for 2 night before our cruise. It is only a few minutes walk from the cruise terminal and next door to the train station. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. Cannot fault it as a place to stay at all. The bonus was the spa in the basement which was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked this hotel via a tour operator 118cruises as we we're joining the Ventura. We could not have wished for a better start to our holiday. On arrival we were offered an upgrade for a great price which we took, wow what a view....

The room was excellent with everything you could need and such a huge huge bathroom with a super shower, I could go on and on about the view, we only had two days in Genoa so did not stay too long in the hotel itself.

Drinks at the great bar was a must, the service was excellent - I wish I could remember her name but the lady who poured our wine was fantastic and a great asset to the hotel.

The bar reception was stunning, almost out of a movie, we commented in a hugely positive way how the Grand Hotel Savoia looked and felt like the Grand Budapest Hotel - a recent movie we'd just seen.

We knew about the Terrace when we were looking to book and wished we'd come in the 'season' as this was not fully open but we did enjoy a few drinks up there anyway soaking up the atmosphere.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the great service from everyone, super breakfast and drinks at the bar and although Genoa was not to our liking the hotel itself is a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasemaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whalley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

very good service, this is an excellent hotel, attractive building with wonderful decor. Breakfast a little sparse, you need to ask for eggs done to your liking, but otherwise quite good. Rather expensive if it is not included in your booking as the y charge 12euros

Room Tip: ask for one that does not overlook the front of house area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We found a bargain deal over booking.com and where overwhelmed checking in at our arrival. The Hotel is not quite in the city center where all the shops are, bit within 5-10 Minutes walk your there. (The Same for the harbor)
The Reception was very professional, and also the other staff friendly. Our standard room into the inner Side was very nice. The whole Hotel was clean. Nice marble and wooden floors and a fantastic breakfast area. (Including the breakfast. You get everything what you wish for...English breakfast, pancakes, continental, and so on)
We'll surly pop in on our next trip to Genova.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms ar located to the inner side...so the view ist not really spectacular. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick-Hotwaterbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#2 of 92 in Genoa
1,526 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#8 of 92 in Genoa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Property: Grand Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing