We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect overnighter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect overnighter”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for one night June 2014, mainly due to the Tripadvisor reviews and proximity to the train station (we were going to Santa Margaharita the next day). We were not disappointed. Good clean rooms, easy check in and out, nice staff. Great rooftop jaccuzzi and bar. Good location on the edge of the old town. We managed to walk down to the old port then a tour of the old town in 2-3 hours. Excellent breakfast buffet, and lovely staff who made up an extra table on the terrace for us. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChubbysHiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    678
    164
    53
    22
See reviews for
487
1,245
102
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Got a good rate online and then got upgraded to a deluxe room when we checked in, probably because a tour group was taking up all the standard rooms. We were very happy with the room, which is tastefully appointed with old-style furnishings befitting a historic city, but has modern fittings where they are needed, like in the bathroom.

The hotel is right in front of the exit of the main railway station (Piazza Principe), making it extremely convenient if you are travelling in and out by train. Key attractions like the Palazzo Reale and the maritime museum are just 10-15 minutes' walk away. We did not opt for the breakfast, as there are many places for breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirconditionedNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very close to the train station, just some meters, walking distance to several location. About the Hotel itself, is a 5 star and 117 years old hotel, but with modern changes, as soundproff windows, free wifi, breakfast very complete, nothing to complain. My view was directly to the train station and the port, where my wife and I went in the next day to embark on a cruise (several other guests did the same).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acordts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights following our cruise, it is within easy walking distance from the cruise ship terminal. Staff were excellent and friendly. Hotel is clean and furnished with style. There is a great jacuzzi on the top floor offering amazing views of the city. The breakfast provided was top class. My only observation of a negative point would be that it is situated quite close to a very run down area and having walked through the area whilst strolling, it can be unnerving, however, we encountered no problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrahamwinkleury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Oldfashioned and stylish hotel. Friendly concierge. Fantastic roof terrace. Booked a executive room. Whoooa! Huge! Lovely! Seaview! Lovely bed!
We will definitly choose this hotel the next time we are in Genova! My wife loved it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Knut M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We loved your hotel; it was very elegant and beautifully appointed. If we ever return to Genova, we would gladly stay with you again. This is a very Old World quality hotel; it has both the advantage (easy access) and disadvantage (not the most picaresque neighbourhood) of its location near the train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
737 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Successful mesh of the old and the new
This hotel looks traditional but has been modernized with efficient air conditioning,elevators and wifi(although it can be temperamental in the early morning).
Good breakfast,friendly staff.
I asked for a quiet room and indeed I could sleep with open windows.
The hotel is next to the train station which is a mixed blessing as it is on the edge of the old city.
Not sure that there are better choices nearer the center however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILOUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
1,458 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Property: Grand Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing