We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable. Beautiful Hotel.”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just across the road from the central train station. Staff very friendly. Beautiful Hotel. Very comfortable rooms. Amazing jacuzzi on the roof with a fabulous view and area for sunbathing. Was amazed at the spacious safety deposit drawer in the room, which had a socket for charging camera/laptop/phone while it was locked away safely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 2,868 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We got upgraded from the hotel continental to grand savoia so were very pleased! The rooms were great although there was very little space for storing any clothes. Bathroom was very well appointed. We loved the roof top area although it was a shame that in the evening the bar staff had to be retrieved from the ground floor!
Very happy with the stay and would def go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gengens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had stayed two nights in Grand Savoia Hotel in Genoa recently. I can easily say that it was one of the best hotel experiences we ever had. The service is very fast and polite at all times. Breakfast was perfect with very big fruit and cake tables. The room and the toilet were spotless clean. The spa which is included in the price, was a very good one with a big bubble bath and different relaxation rooms and sauna. The hotel had a deal with the nearest restaurant ;trellatoria. The location was very convenient walking distance from one of the main stations of Genoa (principe), taxies, sightseeing and airport busses stop 200 meters away. It is close to the Palace Real in via Balbi. I recommend the hotel to anybody on leisure or business travel.o

Room Tip: Executive room was perfect for three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We weren't expecting to be so bowled over by our stay here but we have nothing but praise for everything, including the four course (including wine and water) evening meal at €35 per head and a lovely breakfast including lots of freshly prepared components. On our arrival for our 24 hr stay, and after explaining that this was our first visit to Genoa, the receptionist carefully marked all the points of interest we could visit on a three mile circular walk around the city - perfect for our purposes. The room was clean and well stocked with bathroom necessities and the mechanical blinds meant that daylight didn't penetrate the room at all. Would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rosamund S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This once "grand" hotel is still nice, but getting a bit tired. Our room was comfortable enough and spacious. The decor was a bit dark and the furnishing could use some updating. For some reason, we were given a room with a handicap accessible bath, which did not work for us. The grab bars made the bidet unusable and interfered with normal movement. The best feature of this hotel is the location. It's across the street from the railroad station, close to the port an easy walk to the old city.

The hotel restaurant is great if you like fish. Everything we tasted was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We hugely enjoyed our stay at the hotel, where everything was beautifully presented. There were many things much appreciated, such as the dishes for our little dog! The car parking is quite expensive however!

Room Tip: We booked a superior room and appreciated the larger size of both the room and bathroom, which was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

we stayed during a short city break. the hotel was clean and the room a good size and well appointed. the location is excellent for the old city the new strada and the railway station for trips down the coast to Portofino etc. the bar is nice for a glass of fizz before or after dinner the concierge did a great job of finding traditional little restaurants for us. wifi worked fine. the gym is tiny. we had breakfast one day and it was pretty chaotic

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#1 of 90 in Genoa
1,681 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 90 in Genoa
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: £95 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing