We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here, which was a real treat. The jacuzzi on the roof terrace is a highlight, but all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We visited on our honeymoon and when we ordered room service, it came with a bottle of fizz compliments of the house - not sure if that is a honeymoon thing, but it made our arrival all the more special after a long train journey!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thejimbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,681
    697
    167
    53
    22
See reviews for
504
1,304
106
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were upgraded from the Continental, having booked only 2 days previously. Although the room was small compared to some of the pictures of the other rooms that we saw, it was perfectly adequate for our 3 night stay. The bathroom was very well appointed and stocked, with an illuminated magnifying mirror and mouthwash included in the toiletries, something I have never seen in a hotel before - but then perhaps I do not usually stay in 5 star hotels! It was all spotlessly clean and the decor was restful. We looked out on the side over the terrace but the room was very quiet. Having said that, we did have the air-con on and the windows shut for most of the time we were in the room.
The beds are extremely comfortable and we slept well every night. The shutters which black out all light help.
Reception were pleasant, efficient and helpful. In fact all staff were very friendly and helpful, if, at times, over zealous in clearing up!
Breakfast was delicious with lots of variety catering for every palate.
We did not go to the spa as so much more to see in Genoa itself, and are not really 'spa people'.
The hotel is located a short distance from the station so is very convenient if you arrive in Genoa by train. It is also near to the Balbi lift to upper Genoa and the Palazzo Reale, which is a must visit.
All in all, a lovely place to stay in Genoa.

Room Tip: Look out for deals online, which make this very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just across the road from the central train station. Staff very friendly. Beautiful Hotel. Very comfortable rooms. Amazing jacuzzi on the roof with a fabulous view and area for sunbathing. Was amazed at the spacious safety deposit drawer in the room, which had a socket for charging camera/laptop/phone while it was locked away safely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We got upgraded from the hotel continental to grand savoia so were very pleased! The rooms were great although there was very little space for storing any clothes. Bathroom was very well appointed. We loved the roof top area although it was a shame that in the evening the bar staff had to be retrieved from the ground floor!
Very happy with the stay and would def go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gengens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had stayed two nights in Grand Savoia Hotel in Genoa recently. I can easily say that it was one of the best hotel experiences we ever had. The service is very fast and polite at all times. Breakfast was perfect with very big fruit and cake tables. The room and the toilet were spotless clean. The spa which is included in the price, was a very good one with a big bubble bath and different relaxation rooms and sauna. The hotel had a deal with the nearest restaurant ;trellatoria. The location was very convenient walking distance from one of the main stations of Genoa (principe), taxies, sightseeing and airport busses stop 200 meters away. It is close to the Palace Real in via Balbi. I recommend the hotel to anybody on leisure or business travel.o

Room Tip: Executive room was perfect for three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We weren't expecting to be so bowled over by our stay here but we have nothing but praise for everything, including the four course (including wine and water) evening meal at €35 per head and a lovely breakfast including lots of freshly prepared components. On our arrival for our 24 hr stay, and after explaining that this was our first visit to Genoa, the receptionist carefully marked all the points of interest we could visit on a three mile circular walk around the city - perfect for our purposes. The room was clean and well stocked with bathroom necessities and the mechanical blinds meant that daylight didn't penetrate the room at all. Would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosamund S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This once "grand" hotel is still nice, but getting a bit tired. Our room was comfortable enough and spacious. The decor was a bit dark and the furnishing could use some updating. For some reason, we were given a room with a handicap accessible bath, which did not work for us. The grab bars made the bidet unusable and interfered with normal movement. The best feature of this hotel is the location. It's across the street from the railroad station, close to the port an easy walk to the old city.

The hotel restaurant is great if you like fish. Everything we tasted was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evamaria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#2 of 92 in Genoa
1,526 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#8 of 92 in Genoa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Property: Grand Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing