We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Savoia
Nearby Hotels
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$317
US$267
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$296
US$266
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$384
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AC Hotel Genova(Genoa)
US$138
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$157
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$393
US$385
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,918)
Filter reviews
2,918 results
Traveller rating
1,886
763
185
56
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,886
763
185
56
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationrooftop barexecutive roomtop floorelegant hotelold world charmstar hotelsister hotelport citymain stationcinque terreold stylechristopher columbusprincipe stationold townfantastic hotellovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 2,918 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Unfortunately no one told us that significant construction was going on across the square at the train station. Jackhammering started early.
That said the hotel, the staff and the location were all wonderful for a walking tour of Genoa.
The waterfront is a 5 minute walk thru an old section.
@ 4pm everyone starts to give (yes free) a generous quantity of snacks with any beverage purchase. Italian Pinot Grigio is much better in country.
The restaurant next door (toward the waterfront) with outside terrace is very good & reasonably priced.
Will return to GHS when we are back in Genoa.

Room Tip: Be sure to get street side
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Its location, history, room size and marvellous breakfasts made this for us the perfect hotel. There couldn't be a better introduction to Genoa than a room that overlooks Christopher Columbus, the elegant railway station and the still-working port. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Those on the higher floors facing the station have the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanBute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Grand Hotel Savoia is a beautiful reminder of the Grand hotels of yesteryear. It has a long and interesting history yet manages to provide all modern comforts for todays traveller. It is a short and easy walk from the railway station. The beautiful terrace has commanding views over Genoa harbour. Well trained and friendly staff provide excellent service throughout the hotel. The food in both of the restaurants was well priced and of a very good standard. I loved the generosity of this hotels check-in and check-out times (2.00pm and 12.00pm respectively) - it was much appreciated. I can't wait to visit the Grand Hotel Savoia again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

After a very early train journey, flight and nerve jangling drive from Bergamo in rush hour traffic jams we could not have been more relieved upon arrival at this hotel. The impressive lobby and grandeur of the downstairs bar and sitting area made a great impression and set the bar high for hopes of our room. Our hopes were not dashed as the room was nicely decorated with all the luxuries you'd expect in a 5 star hotel- including Vileroy Boch sanitary ware. The roof terrace provided excellent panoramic views around the bay and provided a scenic if not especially private place to sunbathe and indulge in a dip in the 2 hot tubs situated there.

In comparison with other hotels we have stayed in on this trip the €25 car parking charge seems very expensive and the car park itself must be quite a bit away from the hotel as when it was brought to us upon check out an unexpected amount of petrol had been used.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGlasgow198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights in June/July 14 and loved every minute.

The hotel feels impressive as you enter with high ceilings, grand pianos and Italian designer furniture everywhere. This continues throughout with beautiful mirrors, desks and chairs even in the hallways, on every floor and in the restaurant and bars.

The spa downstairs was very well laid out with a hydrapool, steam room and sauna. Towels and water/ juices were well stocked. We fell asleep on the loungers down there more than once, swaddled in robes listening to the soothing music under star lights in the ceiling.

On the roof are two hot tubs that were a real treat to chill in after a hard day eating pasta and pounding Genoa's bountiful streets. Quite frequently though the hotel hires out the top floor as a function room. We saw signs for six year olds birthday parties to business conventions. When this happens to get to the hot tubs is tricky. When I asked I was told to walk from the lift straight through the function room to the panoramic balcony and walk round to the hot tub this way. When you are in your robe and slippers walking through a room full of suits watching a PowerPoint this feels a bit awkward. Be great if the hotel found a way to dedicate another route in order that paying guests don't suffer a little for their hired functions. I saw there is a staff lift that circumnavigated this but when I used it once I was told off and advised again to walk through the function! Also normally the roof bar is open for guests but if a function is on this shuts. You are quite discouraged from using the roof at all really which is a shame. One day whilst on the roofs lounger I asked for a glass of wine and was told 'sorry we have a function. I'm too busy but I'll see what I can do'. He walked past maybe ten more times and never said another word so I'm guessing it was a no. They had pulled a curtain across the little bar on the roof but there was still a bar downstairs which is where they normally went to get most drinks anyway. I also witnessed a very upset guy with a massive camera being told he couldn't go up in the lift to the roof until a function was over. If you only had a day and specifically booked for the panoramic views advertised you'd be gutted by this.

The functions were also pretty loud to us on the floor below in the afternoons but were normally finished by the time we got back from our evening meals about 11pm.

Our room was 607. We had a great view of the harbour and Genoa principe train station. It was a large room with truly lovely decor. Lots of sailing ships, golds and reds. We had clean white surfaces in the bathroom and generous toiletries laid out for us. A shower and large bath were present along with a big mirror with spotlighting all round it. There was also a small tv above it!

There was a large tv in the room with about a hundred multilingual channels including quite a few film ones. Minibar and kettle facilities. Two large wardrobes but no drawers.

The bed was a kingsize and incredibly comfortable. A maid came in sometimes twice a day and the sheets and towels were changed daily.

We booked a full body massage each and a lovely friendly lady called Christina worked some real magic at 80 euros for an hour. We would definitely recommend treating yourself to this whilst there. There is a specific massage room on the mezzanine level and couples can go side by side if they choose.

The food was of good quality but quite pricy and we found ourselves eating out of the hotel apart from two nights. One of which was a lazy room service affair after a four hour round trip to the leaning tower of Pisa. The wrong dish was brought up and my husband asked for the right one to be bought instead. When it arrived the staff tried to get us to sign and pay for both the one we wanted and the one they took away untouched that we hadn't ordered. A bit annoying when you have to pay 8 euros room service charge on top of for example 14 euros for Insalata Caprese. Which was compared to places in town quite disappointing and very small.

The location is brilliant however and we walked most days down to the harbour or old town. Hotel is about thirty minutes from the airport. They can organise a taxi collection/drop off for 45 euros one way.

We got trains to Viareggio (two hours 15 mins) and Pisa (two hours) easily from the station Genoa Principe opposite. Also there are plenty of boat trips from the harbour 10 minutes walk away. We took a two hour trip to Portifino from there.

Our absolute favourite thing was the breakfast the hotel laid on though. There is everything you could want.... Continental, American, British fry ups, even chocolate gateau! The 'really fresh' smoked salmon with cream cheese was my staple.. oh and the fruit salads.. oh and whichever omelette you fancied to order.. Oh and the almond tart just because I could. I'm a little bit in love with anywhere that encourages a four course breakfast! It really was a banquet every morning!

We would highly recommend this hotel as apart from a few very minors things it was heaven and if ever in Genoa again wouldn't stay anywhere else.



  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxyBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews