We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carrying coal to Newcastle - er, Genova”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

At the danger of carrying coal to Newcastle, I have to repeat it: the Grand Hotel Savoia is a superb experience. Perfectly located to the harbor and the cruise boats and across from the train station (where the trains were on strike ...). The rooftop terrace affords a look clean across the whole city and over the harbor, and the breakfast is - as mentioned before - at 15 EUR a good deal and very complete. Beautiful rooms, if not huge, and marvellous common rooms on the ground floor. We felt like being in an art nouveau movie. Do come here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisstrainwebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 2,836 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I went in grand hotel Savoia for 2 days...

Deluxe hotel. Nice service and good (not so big) room.

Nothing to complain. Great location, great cleaning, great service, great roof bar.

Breakfast is huge but not as 5 star's Asian standard. .but very nice and cheap (15 euro each)

It is a real 5 star. Nothing to say. It is nice!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank alessioflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was the best hotel during my trip around France and Italy. It is a classical one. Very well decorated. The room is clean, comfortable, quite and the bathroom is excellent. The breakfast buffet is delicious. The variety of food is great and top quality. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was good and really tasty. The price is really reasonable to a hotel that offers so much quality. On the 6th floor there is a relaxing lounge - a bar, a balcony with a view from the harbor and 2 Jacuzzi baths. The hotel is not in the city center. I definitely recommend this hotel. I read that it is creepy. It is Europe with all the History to show and tell us. The streets are narrow all over Europe but Genoa exceptionally has large and long avenues. Beautiful seashore. I loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giselledbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I looked at a lot of hotels in the Genoa seaside city. I travel on business and cost usually isn't too much of a factor. This hotel exceeded my expectations, was a lovely place to stay with excellent service, breakfast was very nice, room was very nice etc. I highly recommend this hotel in the Genoa area. It's a short walk say ten minutes to the harbor square. There are numerous restaurants nearby easily walked to, all in all a very good hotel. The roof top bar was very nice and that was where breakfast was served. Great view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Not just the hotel but I found the whole town to be creepy. It's a typical small town however some streets just feel dangerous to walk down so be ware! The hotel was not impressive from the outside and the inside was an improvement. The building was built in the late 1800s I believe and It still has the old world feel however I felt as if it reminded me of the Tower of Terror ride in Disneyland. The actual room is alright but personally I couldn't seem to lose the feeling. I'm not knocking it, the rooms were an alright size and pleasantly clean etc. But if you're uncomfortable with such an atmosphere, I would not reccomend it. It could be just me though. Otherwise it was actually very good so I would reccomend it if you enjoy that kind of thing.

Room Tip: The lowest price rooms have no view so spending a little more will get you a pleasant one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shloka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I spend a lot of time traveling for work and fun and was impressed with the hotel. Clean rooms, Nice accommodations and an amazing breakfast. Great location in the middle of town and if you have a rental car you just leave it up front and staff will bring it back when you need it. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. On my next visit I will be staying again at the Grand Hotel Savoia and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There was three of us and I requested a large family room facing the port. When leaving I noticed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdallaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a pretty good stay at this hotel over three nights - room was a good size and clean, and air conditioning worked well during what was very hot weather. Location was good for the train - though a bit of a walk to the old town. Breakfast was good, though it was not easy to get cooked eggs or coffee as the staff seemed to leave the area unattended for long periods. Negatives were that the staff weren't particularly friendly, and the towels were really thin, not what we would expect in a five star hotel. But overall, an acceptable experience in a wonderfully eccentric and surprising city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pavlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#1 of 91 in Genoa
1,664 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: £94 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing