We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Racommended”
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have loved our experience at Grand Hotel Savoia. Great restaurant with large portions and very taste. The breakfast was delicious with a gorgeous view for the city in the top roof. The Spa is included for all guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,726)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Savoia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 2,726 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lived up to all its reviews. Staff were friendly & knowledgable. Close to amenities like the sea port & train station only minutes away.
Only bad impression is the taxi that took us from the port to the hotel charging us €20 for barely 5 minutes ride.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great Location by the Station, 5 minutes walk to the port, near old town - location good. Breakfast fantastic - huge selection, stunning views of Genova skyline. Good price too, we were upgraded completely unprompted.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobbspenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed two nights in early July. A gorgeous hotel, very close to the train station and centre of town, but quiet and peaceful at the same time. Very tastefully decorated and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a night in this hotel after an exhausting journey from Milan. It was a good hotel for crashing out. Decent location, near a subway station (Príncipe). With Genoa being a small town, it was convenient to get anywhere from that point.

The room is quite old. Feels like going back to Titanic age. It could be classy and creepy at the same time...but I slept I disturbed.

The highlight is the breakfast area. Breathtaking view over Genoa city. Probably can serve as one of the city's best view point.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank BMMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here only for one night in mid July, asked for an upgrade,(which was at a very reasonable price) as it was a celebration of our anniversary. The room was really nice with a view and on a higher floor. Check-in was a bit slow, I believe we got a trainee to do it, also the check-out was not the smoothest. We enjoyed the rooftop bar all day, as we found Genova to be NOT the nicest place to visit...city centre is not an easy walk in 35degrees, dirty, slum feeling all the way through. Breakfast was very good, with plenty to choose from. The hotel I would recommend, the city not. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerraExplorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014


Just spent 5 days at this hotel In family room after we switched rooms 4 times due to the ineptitude of the management.

The front desk staff needs to be taught that the customer are their purpose for having jobs and not an opportunity to swindle Customer to a lesser room. ( fortunately we had a printed copy of our pre booked room).

None of the staff make eye contact and acknowledge the guest we experienced and observed this repeatedly.

The rooms where not ready or had not been cleaned which caused the additional moves to the least dirty of the 4 rooms. The front desk management did not take any personal responsibility or account ability for their incompetence.

After running our credit card through twice and charging the full stay in advance they asked again on check out to charge our card as it would be less hassle for them to find the copies they made days earlier.

I guess privacy laws and the storage of customer personal credit information isn't very strictly controlled at this property?

We found it to be sad and odd hotel and location. hot tubs on the outside terrace , just what you want if your have your meal is other guest trampling through the restaurant in their bathing suits?

The spa was really weird, the door was locked and when we knocked the noise coming from the room where not what we wanted to wait and find out more about as we had our young son with us.

The gym is as if you put some fitness equipment I to a guest room.

Don't walk in the wrong direction and don't walk to late at night the hotel is not in a save neighbourhood.

It appears to have the highest star rating according to the signs we saw across the city which only made us wonder how much worse are the other hotels a Genoa?

The hotel next door is connected to this with no real security between the two very different hotels.

Can't recommend this property

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank KarlSCoquitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,605 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Spa Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: £99 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing