We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have stayed in this hotel many times, and it's always welcoming and warm and friendly. It must be nice to work there, too, as Dmitri, our lovely barman has been there seven years, and the maitre d' in the restaurant seems a permanent fixture - he's there at breakfast time, and still there at dinner time.
We had a couple of glitches this time - no wifi on our floor (6th) and no English language tv channels - both issues being addressed we were informed.
Our room was lovely, as was the bathroom. Not big, but well appointed. Breakfast was excellent (for a continental hotel) and so was dinner, with excellent staff.
And it's in such a good spot. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Genoa.

Room Tip: To guarantee wifi, choose a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seawife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were traveling through Genoa from Cannes, France headed to Cinque Terre, Italy. We stopped in Genoa for one night and decided the Hotel Moderno Verdi would be a nice place to rest. When we arrived, they upgraded us to their nicest suite and it was gorgeous! Such an old world feel with classic beauty and decor. The room had two balconies overlooking the city, which was beautiful.

The breakfast was also very good compared to many others I have had at similar quality hotels. Cold cuts are a must!

Room Tip: Let them know if you are there for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed here for a month on business and then returned with my wife because I had, had a great experience. Each time I stayed in a massive room that had two balconies. It is an old hotel, but it's very clean, comfortable and steps from everything including the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifesbeengood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Prebooked a double room and it was only prepared for one person. Tried to call reception or housekeeping ( the phone was grimey) but got no answer (no indication of what number to call anywhere in sight) so had to go back to the main desk to have them remediate the set-up. Shower handle fell off the wall since the bolt was rusted through. The general condition of the hotel upholstery and carpeting throughout facility is very shabby. Breakfast consists mainly of processed, packaged foods.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwixtTwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Spent 3 nights in the room 318.
Pros: the hotel is very convenient located, in the Verdi square, just in front of the Central Rail Station. A nice park with impressive Mediterranean pine trees is located near by. The Old City Centre is 10 minutes walk from the hotel, as well as the waterfront and the beaches. The harbour is also not far away.
The room was large and clean, furbished with massive, vintage furniture. The bed was okay, the lighting and ventilation worked fine. The window was large, overlooking the street.
The street noise was almost absent - very good phonic insulation.
Various maps, museum guides and other tourist magazines and brochures were available at the reception.
Great coffee for breakfast!
Cons:
The shower cabin was quite tiny.
Very strange location of the toilet seat: just in the bathroom's corner, almost under the sink. The access to the toilet seat was obstructed by the bidet. I managed to use the toilet seat by keeping my legs under the sink, after sneaking between the bidet and sink (see the picture that I took in the bathroom)
Breakfast: not so many choices. For example, they offer low fat plain yoghurt or fruits yoghurt but not normal (regular) plain yoghurt. However, you can manage to have an English breakfast (scrambled eggs, fried bacon and tea), an Italian breakfast (coffee, cakes, Nutella) or a French breakfast (croissant, butter, jam, marmalade) or a healthy one (fruit juice, cereals), but if you have to stay many days, don't expect much variety.

All in all, it was a good experience, I would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Had gone to Genova for an official visit and landed in Moderno Verdi for 1 week. Though a small entrance which you can easily miss it is situated at an excellent location, bang opposite the main line station and. As you get inside it give a feeling of ancient Italy. We had a twin room which was quite spacious and cosy. The room was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was good but had a limited spread for vegetarians. The staff is quite friendly and very helpful too. The WiFi works in the reception area only, in the rooms you can connect thru the cable provided by the hotel so it was not much of a trouble. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValterMariani, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Sir.
Thank you for choosing Moderno Verdi Hotel.
We are pleased that the hotel was a nice surprise to his expectations.
The wifi service was implemented and is now also available in all rooms as well as the cable connection.
We hope to meet you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A typical Italian hotel; slightly staid but offering everything you need and very clean.
We were able to park our car in the underground car park for 15€ the night. The hotel is well situated opposite a main line station and just 7 mins walk from the ancient town and the port.The rooms has very comfortable beds, 2 english channels on the TV, good shower, good towels. Breakfast was good. The only draw back is no wifi in the rooms, but there is free wifi in the reception and bar, so all is not lost. Excellent value for money. We would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValterMariani, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Sirs.
Thank you for choosing Moderno Verdi Hotel and for your appreciation.
The wifi service was implemented and is now available in all rooms as well as the cable connection.
The English channels are 3 but it is now possible to select the English language also while watching Italian channels.
See you soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 91 in Genoa
873 reviews
Starhotels President
#25 of 91 in Genoa
986 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
574 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Quarto dei Mille
AC Hotel Genova
AC Hotel Genova
#21 of 91 in Genoa
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Verdi 5, 16121, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range: £58 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi enjoys a strategic location that makes it the ideal starting point for your stay in the city of Lanterna as the railways station, the underground, the bus stops, the air terminal are really close and the highways and airport are a few minutes far away. By a pleasant walk you can reach the main points of interest of Genoa as Teatro della Corte, the International Fair, the Stadium, the Palazzo Ducale, Teatro Carlo Felice, the Porto Antico Congress Centre and the Aquarium. The rooms are furnished with style and elegance in order to ensure guests maximum satisfaction and comfort: boiserie, beds, pillows, duvets, parquet, electronic safe, shower with hydro jets, plush bathroom towels but also modern technologies to meet the needs of business and leisure guests. A powerful Wi-Fi system lets you surf the Internet at high speed and to move inside the hotel without losing connection. Mediaset Premium tv programs and multilingual satellite channels allow to be always updated about worldwide events. In the morning the smell of freshly baked croissants, fresh fruit yogurts and the delights of the buffet with the Genoese specialties will greet your new day. The main newspapers are available in the lobby as the free Internet point to enjoy you the first news of the day. The private garage in the basement and directly connected to the lobby is the perfect solution for your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Moderno Verdi
Golden Tulip Genoa
Genoa Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing