We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with modern conveniences in great location”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Old world charm with modern conveniences in great location”
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Right across the road from Brignole Station, next to Via San Vincenzo (shopping) and short walk to Via XX Settembre (more shopping). Very comfortable hotel with beautiful old lift (and a little modern one). Friendly staff, particularly at the bar. Rooms were not big, but bathrooms were excellent - clean, modern, lots of hot water. Felt our room was a bit warm, but sister (who lives in tropical climes), did not. Breakfast was usual continental, plus fried eggs. Dinner was excellent, and the maitre d' was a character. Service was impeccable. Real silver service. Turn down service at night (yummy sweet on pillow) and free sweets at reception. And dangerously available snacks when you have a drink at the bar, too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seawife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    305
    145
    50
    12
See reviews for
116
179
38
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harnosand, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Wired Internet in hotel rooms (bring cable) and wireless in the lobby. Nice rooms and good service. Rooms are not very sound proof though.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank marcussundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Old, worn and dated. Air conditioning non existent. Very small rooms. But the one thing that this hotel is going for it are the cheap rates and central location. I would gladly pay more if they remodeled and updated the rooms.

We arrived on Sunday during the month of August. Not a great combo since all of the shops were closed (we went searching for lunch and found NOTHING OPEN). Best bet unfortunately is the MacDonald's (URGH!!! Fast food in Italy but when there are zero other options....) on the corner of Via Fiume and Via Settembre. Do take advantage of the breakfast offered by the hotel every morning. Do be aware of the times shops closes (both after lunch and in the evening) since the streets literally become deserted and unsavory characters start appearing. STAY AWAY FROM THE MAZE OF THE OLD CITY during Sundays and evenings since it is both easy to get lost and dangerous because of muggings.

This hotel is well located in the "new" city of Genova. Literally steps from Genova Brignole train terminals and to shopping along Via San Vincenzo. 5 minutes walk to the wet market (you can access it via Via XX Settembre or Via Galata) where the locals shop. 15-20 minutes walk to the wharfs ( if you travel Via San Vincennzo -> Via Settembre -> Piazza Ferrari -> Via San Lorenzo). The restaurant in the middle of Via Colombo (with the outdoor patio) is decent. SIM card stores can be found on Via Settembre. You can also take a bus to Corso Italia where there are pebble "beaches". We also found a great Balianese restaurant (Borobudur Ristorante Indonesiano) just a tiny street parrallel south of Via San Lorenzo that was worth checking out if you are craving for ethnic food (which we were after 20+ days in Italy). Great authentic food, excellent service, but the food was a little slow to arrive (my guess is that everything is cooked to order).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattiasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I make it easy: Parking costs $21 extra, Parking in garage quite limited, hard to find and not good for big SUV's * Internet free in room, if you bring own laptop and cable * Located perfect: right by the train & bus station * Shopping, restaurants and Sightseeing places are in walking distance * Staff could be a little more friendly * Room with Queen size bed was quite tight, especially the bath room. Shower not very roomy. * AC didn't work very well * Breakfast was quite a dissapointment: rude, cranky staff, breakfast items not the best quality like fruits out of a can, limited items, hard rolls. Eggs were empty and didn't get refilled right away * Check-out was slow * Overall I would say, I wouldn't stay there more than one night and I do not know how they became a 4-Star Hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogdoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

I have no problems with the location of the hotel. The staff were friendly and the breakfast excellent...BUT we travelled in October- the weather want warm and the room was like a sauna. When I enquired about the air-conditioning I was assured that it worked...and it did- IF you wanted it hotter! I complained...and a bell-boy came to show me how it worked...But the trouble was, all the COLD air conditioning had been switched off - so if you want it cooler "just open the window!".
Obvious...but not helpful because the location was noisy and we spent four nights being bitten by mosquitos. So...not much sleep was had on the overly firm beds.
Not a great experience...which is a shame as the rooms were spotless, the breakfast (as I have said) was lovely and there is a great restaurant round the corner which speaks English...and does great food!
i will not be going back however...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearhug142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Stayed one night in June. Very good location near the train station. We couldn't find it at first as the small neon sign out front wasn't on during the day. When we called the hotel for assistance, they hung up on us. Great intro! Staff was indifferent to rude for most of our stay. I was particularly impressed when they sent us to a restaurant for dinner more than an hour before it opened. It ended up being funny, like walking into some 1980s caricature of travel in Italy.
Rooms were decent size, comfortable bedding, good size desk and chair. Very quiet at night. Breakfast was pretty sad. Free internet was a huge plus.
You could do much worse in this city, though. Would stay here again for a night if I had to be in Genoa for some reason.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Moderno Verdi is a comfortable, red in colour and not so hyped hotel specially suitable for family visitors & corporate stays. The reception is extremenly helpful and speak english, which is very important. Although the room i stayed in was not so big, but very intelligently designed to accomodate the necessasities. They have hi-speed internet in every room and its very fast!! It is located very next to the genova metro and visible distant from shopping place and market. Breakfast is complimentary and sumptuous. Vegetarians will also have many choices to make.
Lookwise, very elegant, roomservice is very prompt, AC is comfortable and overall I really enjoyed staying in this hotel.
One minus point is scenic view is no no. Tarrif is very reasonable.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere & helpful staff
  • Disliked — outside window view
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank voice4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Piccapietra
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels President
#23 of 91 in Genoa
910 reviews
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
455 reviews
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi

Property: Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Verdi, 5, 16121, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi enjoys a strategic location that makes it the ideal starting point for your stay in the city of Lanterna as the railways station, the underground, the bus stops, the air terminal are really close and the highways and airport are a few minutes far away. By a pleasant walk you can reach the main points of interest of Genoa as Teatro della Corte, the International Fair, the Stadium, the Palazzo Ducale, Teatro Carlo Felice, the Porto Antico Congress Centre and the Aquarium. The rooms are furnished with style and elegance in order to ensure guests maximum satisfaction and comfort: boiserie, beds, pillows, duvets, parquet, electronic safe, shower with hydro jets, plush bathroom towels but also modern technologies to meet the needs of business and leisure guests. A powerful Wi-Fi system lets you surf the Internet at high speed and to move inside the hotel without losing connection. Mediaset Premium tv programs and multilingual satellite channels allow to be always updated about worldwide events. In the morning the smell of freshly baked croissants, fresh fruit yogurts and the delights of the buffet with the Genoese specialties will greet your new day. The main newspapers are available in the lobby as the free Internet point to enjoy you the first news of the day. The private garage in the basement and directly connected to the lobby is the perfect solution for your car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Moderno Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Moderno Verdi
Golden Tulip Genoa
Genoa Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing