We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny bathroom and poor service!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tiny bathroom and poor service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

On arrival after a 7 hr drive the receptionist made us empty our entire car into the foyer before allowing us to check in because he needed our passport! Our car was full of bikes and bike bags etc. on arrival to our room which was very warm despite air con at full power, the bathroom was tiny, barely enough room to stand. Bathrooms were old, carpet in bedroom was very worn. At 6am the air con stopped completely and then at 8am the noise outside the room was awful and cleaning ladies started vacuuming at 9.30. The hotel is also located in a rough looking area down an alleyway! The only positive was the very friendly lady serving breakfast and the breakfast itself.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FY1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    108
    97
    33
    19
See reviews for
52
118
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
614 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Considering July peak season prices it was very reasonable one. Another advantage is location. It is just 2 minutes by foot from railway station Genova Piazza Principe. Please pay attention to this name of station because train can stop first at some other in Genova- it depends from which direction you are going of course. Small tip for travellers by train:)
Close neighbourhood of hotel is Old Town so you have everything close. There is also small terrace at the top floor of the hotel so you can admire a little panorama from there. But there are much better places in the city for that.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pawel_hbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed for one night at the Comfort hotel in Genova. Arrived at 11.00AM, but unfortunately the room was not ready yet, however no issue to leave our luggage. People at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom are small but adequate. Walls in the hotel are thin, but there were no noisy guests, so we had a very good sleep. Beds (2 singles in our room) are small (european size) but of good quality. Breakfast was much better than expected. (cold continental breakfast). Cappuchino was perfect. Taking into consideration the rate (80Euro including breakfast for this hotel) I rate it very good. Hotel is maximum 5 minutes away (walking) from the railway station (Genova P.P), and 10 minutes from the center and harbour. Station quarter is however not a very nice area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjan-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The good thitng about this hotel is the proximity of the train station (also easy for the airport bus), the room was clean and free Wi-Fi but the room needs updating and the bathroom had a broken shower head with water leaking from everywhere apart from the shower head and the door to the shower enclosure was broken.
The mainly problem here is that the walls are really thin and you can hear everything. I had a problem with a group of people staying at the same floor but in different rooms that would stay chatting in the corridors or entering and leaving the rooms all the time all night usually past 02:00am. I stayed here for 3 nights and were the same every night.... for the first 2 I just put my headphones on and managed to sleep but on the last night I need to be able to hear the alarm so not to miss my flight so I could use the headphones so for the first time ever I called the reception asking if they could say something to those people. The guy at the reception said that he would but if he did I don't know as they kept doing the same for the rest of the night and I couldn't sleep.
If I need to stay near the station again I would probably try my lucky somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for one night to give ourselves a break from train travel. That is why we choose this hotel - it's proximity to the train station. Upon check-in the lady on reception took our passports and gave us the key to our room. She told us to come down a little later to get our passports back. We were a little wary of this as we are not comfortable leaving our passports behind. We came back down 5 minutes later and she had still not finished with them - talking on the phone seemed more of a priority. We waited while she did what she had to (photocopy them).

The room was ok. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also clean. We did not have breakfast as it was about 10 euro per person, so we grabbed something from one if the bakeries near to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

The previous review is very accurate, in my opinion. Bathroom was tiny and tatty. Bedcover ancient but sheets clean. Breakfast more substantial than most continental breakfasts. Super location, in quiet alley a few steps away from the Stazione Principe. But "value for money" it certainly is not: can do better for the price in Genova.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pomaussie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel could have been a lot better. Our room was clean, but there were many maintenance issues that needed to be addressed. The bathroom portion of our room was VERY small...I mean, put your feet in the shower while you sit on the toilet, small. The shower stall was very small and the shower doors were broken so you ended up with lots of water on the floor. Water was hot-cold and then hot-cold again. The bathroom was cleaned, but not well kept. The room was 2 twins and clean with an AC. The problem with the AC was #1 my American expectations of what AC should be, so my fault, but #2 the management turned off the AC between 6am and 11am. Just cruel. I say spring for breakfast because if you are a tourist it is an excellent value. A hot drink, with orange juice, water, meats, cheeses, delicious focaccia bread, nutella and butter, fruit, other breads...A good spread for sure. The staff was hit and miss. No one was really rude, but no one was really friendly either. Seems like it may be a family business. I would say that this hotel is great for a budget traveler who is not interested in a hostel or sharing a bathroom, but only expect clean sheets and towels. Be ok with fate deciding the rest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.0 mi away
CIT Hotel Britannia
CIT Hotel Britannia
#25 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
#42 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria Orlandini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel della Posta
Hotel della Posta
#54 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#43 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Genova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre

Property: Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
Address: Vico delle Monachette 8, 16126, Genoa, Italy (Formerly Hotel Europa)
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing