We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel & Location”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night and it was perfect. Everything was spotless clean, the beds were really comfortable and loved the old chic style of the hotel.
There's complimentary tea, coffee & mineral water at the room, which was very nice. Staff are very helpful too.
Location is prime; right in the center where you can take a walk through the old city, to the old port (Porto Antico) and it's a 2-min walk to the train station (Principe).
The street is very lively and there are lots of shops and restaurants around, some that are open till 2 am.
The only inconvenience maybe was that our room was overlooking the main street and it was a bit noisy at night, but maybe it was just that night we stayed and was our bad luck! You can ask for an inside room if you want a quiet room.
Overall I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NohaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    338
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
183
394
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

So, basically, the hotel continental Genova is sister hotels with the Grand Hotel Savoia. When you book at the Continental, you actually don't know which one they will give you a room in once you arrive.
We arrived around 10pm, parked, dragged out all our luggage and walked into the Continental. The woman at the desk in a bored tone told us to walk over at the Savoia and check in there without explaining anything.
The Savoia is just beside the Continental so its not a big deal, however, it would have been nice to get someone to help us drag the luggage from one to the other, rather than just sitting there, chewing gum and watching.
The Savoia is 5-star while the Continental is 4-star, so one would think that being surprisingly upgraded to a room at the Savoia would be a good thing. However, I would say the Grand Hotel Savoia is the worst 5-star I've ever stayed at and I"m honestly not sure why they have that rating. Other than a lush front lobby, this hotel is NOT a 5-star in any shape or form.
We stayed at 7 different hotels on this recent trip to Italy, raging from 3-5 star, and I honestly preferred the cheapest 3-star to this.
First of all the rooms were miniscule. It was like sleeping in a broom closet.
I asked to be moved to a larger room. The staff was basically too lazy to do it that day. They literally said (without even looking on the computer):
It's too late tonight. Come back tomorrow when the new staff starts and they will help you.
There was no door man.
There was no one to help with luggage.
There is no parking. Apparently they have valet parking, however, you have to go in the hotel and ask them to please do it at the front desk. Then the guy calls another guy. THis guy comes 5-10 min later, waits while take out things from your trunk without offering to help, and when you are done, he graciously takes the keys from you and parks it somewhere.
For this parking job you get to pay 25 eu per day.
There is no iron or ironing board in the rooms (which seems to be the case in most of the european hotels these days for some reason). Generally in this case you can call the front desk and room service will bring you an iron and then take it once you are done.
At the Savoia, they refuse to do this. You MUST use their ironing service which is EXTREMELY overpriced. We paid over 100 EU for a couple of shirts and a pair of pants, simply because we were there for business and had to iron them. I was not impressed to say the least. I could have bought 5 irons for this.
I wouldn't have minded any of this in a 3-star, however, this is supposed to be a 5-star. Again, I'm just honestly not sure why it has a 5-star rating other than having a pretty lobby and a hot tub on the roof. It's not that this hotel was terrible, it was simply horrible value for the money and really lacking in the service department.

And being moved here from the Continental (especially in such an uprofessional way) obviously made me really uinpressed with the Continental. So I wouldn't choose to stay at either again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlenaTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is perfectly located across from the train station so very convenient if you are traveling Italy by train. The staff were friendly and spoke perfect English. Our room was a little small, particularly the shower, but had all the necessities and a comfy bed.

I don't know if many tourists stop in Genoa but it is a good spot for a day trip to Portafino and is on the direct train line to Milan. Not as pretty as some Italian spots but wharf is interesting and the town has great seafood. Prices are cheaper than some spots in Italy.

This hotel is nicely located to see the sights of Genoa.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearfam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a very comfortable, friendly and excellent value hotel in an ideal location directly opposite the main railway station (Principe) in Genoa - also buses for the airport stop just across the road. This is a character property which has been recently restored: the lift from reception is still the original old-fashioned design. Our room was immaculate, spotlessly clean, & well furnished with a very comfy bed and swish flat-screen TV with numerous channels. The staff were all very helpful, and we had a delicious meal in the adjacent Trattoria where they also served a tasty and abundant buffet breakfast. There is a computer in reception for guest use and wi-fi as well. We were in transit so were only able to stay the one night, but we would definitely return for a longer stay in order to explore this vibrant city further. The Hotel Continental would also make a very good base for visiting other places along this coast easily reachable by train, such as the beautiful Cinque Terre region to the east, and the 'Riviera dei Fiori' to the west.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful sunny corner room on the 2nd floor overlooking the leafy square - there was some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geecee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here three nights. Very convenient to train station and central to anywhere you want to walk. The hotel staff are pleasant and very welcoming and helpful. Breakfasts are great so If you go hungry it is your own fault! This is the first hotel I was given a full pot of coffee for breakfast, a treat for me as I'm not a fan of espresso. If we visit this lovely city again we would certainly go "Continental".

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genjohn186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just over the road from the train station and close to all the sights. Value for money hotel to explore the city and surrounds. Genoa is an interesting place. We found the lifts to the upper areas overlooking the city. The lifts are located inside the cliff faces. Hard to describe but worth looking for. There is one near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMA1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

When I booked this hotel I didn't know what to think. After I arrived I was most happy that I did book this hotel.

The hotel is directly opposite the entrance Piazza Principe Railway Station which is very handy if you are travelling by train. With Genoa being quite compact it is not to far to walk to most of the sights of Genoa.

The room was well set out in an art nouveau style, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was well priced and there was ample choices to suit everybody. I ate at the trattoria that is attached to the hotel, this was excellent and I ate there again the following evening.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Genoa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freoshocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,686 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,583 reviews
Quarto dei Mille
AC Hotel Genova
AC Hotel Genova
#21 of 91 in Genoa
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Property: Hotel Continental Genova
Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing