We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good-in and out of Cinque Terre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good-in and out of Cinque Terre”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We dithered about booking this hotel. Other reviews stating it was 'tired', etc., and not super great reviews of Genoa as a city. Our dilemma was that we only needed a hotel for a few nights as we were training in and out of Vernazza, using the Genoa airport to fly from. It was also our anniversary, so we weren't sure if we wanted a purely functional hotel, or something 'nice' like the Savoy (sister hotel) next door. We booked through Expedia, as there was free cancellation in case we changed our mind.

So why stay here?

LOCATION - cheap shuttle from the airport to the train station, which is directly accross the street from the hotel. Easy to see and walk to. There are many restaurants/pizzerias/gelatarias by the hotel, so food was never a problem. Many places were more than happy to offer pizza 'to go'. Surprisingly some of the best pasta (truffle, anyone)? the nearest pizza place accross the street at a reasonable price. Walked to the Aquarium (about 20 mins, relatively easy with a map), and the Palazo Principe (I think) was just down the street, about a 10 min walk. Go see it - there were maybe 10 tourists in the entire building, so it was like having this majestical building to yourself to explore.

ROOMS-clean, great air conditioning (HUGE plus for Genoa in the summer). Requested a high floor overlooking the train station. Pretty view both day and night, and no noise issues. Surprising up to date TVs in the room.

HOTEL-simple, classy, elegant. Elevator old fashioned (in a good way) and reliable. However, easy to take the marble staircase as there aren't that many floors. Air conditioned lobby with sofas, and complementary water/fruit a huge plus in humid Genoa.

STAFF-friendly, well spoken, and helpful. Always the hellos/goodbyes and offers to help with site seeing. They also stored our luggage safely with no problems, while we were in Vernazza for five days (only wanted to take a minimal amount for train travel/stairs). Pleasant surprise with our anniversary - complementary bottle of champagne when we returned.

BREAKFAST-again, a pleasant surprise. Strong, unlimited coffee, tea, juices, water. Usually two cakes (these were quite dry). Cantalope and other fresh and syruped fruits. Assorted breads, cheeses, and cold cuts, including proscuitto (yum!). Tomoatoes and hot stations (eggs, if I recall) as well. Considering this was included in our room price, great value.

In sum: great location, easy walking distance to most sites, accross from train station, solid breakfast, good value for dollar. Glad we picked this over the pricey Savoy next door.

Room Tip: High floor, accoss from train station gives lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukiegirltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    338
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
183
394
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rotorua
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

probably one of the most enjoyable stays I have had in a hotel. This gem of a hotel is situated in the heart of Genoa handy to the cruise ship terminal. The executive room we stayed in was top class. We loved the 1930s lift - in top working order! - which has been retained as a an attraction and adds to the character and decor of this lovely hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly and the free breakfast buffet is out of this world!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakoRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a top notch hotel at VERY reasonable prices. Conveniently located across from the train station, which in Genova is a very safe area. You can walk to Centro Storico and Caruggi District and the Port. I was traveling alone and felt completely safe even at night in the area of the hotel. The room itself was beautiful, the bathroom fantasticl, all very clean and modern. The original elevator adds character and the staff was very helpful and welcoming. Genova is an underrated city with lots to do.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyn1761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tin Shui Wai, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Convenient location near train station Piazza Principe with 5 minutes walk only. The hotel has elegant old decoration and very attentive staff speaking english. Breakfast has a wide selection with good quality of food. We were able to check-in early which allowed us to have some rest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We arrived from Nice, France via Ventimiglia. As soon as we left the train station, the hotel was in full site. Exactly how the pictures show with the flags flowing in the wind. Right next door is a chemist so look for the big green crosses if you can't spy the hotel immediately. When checking in they require you passports and once checked in you can take the so so old fashioned elevator to your room. What a treat. Both the elevator and the room. The from is bright and big and the bathroom quite a big size too. The windows block the noise but the Italian shutters are an extra darkener and noise block. Reception let you get settled then ask you to return when you're ready to receive a map and a few instructions how to get around. We were lucky enough to do some research on trip advisor so knew about the public elevators that get you from the ground to the top of the areas surrounding Genoa for some pretty pictures to take and later admire. The first public lift is right next door to the chemist adjoined to the hotel. There is a machine to buy your ticket in the entrance of the lift area. You can select your language and buy your ticket. You can buy a 24 hours pass or just a 100 minute pass. Once you purchase it, next to the machine is a validation machine so make sure you validate it so the time can be stamped and your ticket becomes "live" so to speak. Once you exit this lift directly opposite the exit is the museum which has gardens to wander through (free) or both the gardens and then pay to enter the museum. When you come back down you can walk up Via Balbi which the hotel is on (keep left) and come to an open area. Keep walking straight for another 20 steps or so past all the young uni kids sitting on the stairs and you will see the entrance to the other public lift. This one is a funicular which you use your same ticket for or buy a new one if the other has expired and you go right to the top which is called Righi. When you exit this funicular the actual building,you arrive in has stairs leading up to a viewing deck over about 4 levels that you can get great pics of the Genoa town and Port. As you exit when you come back down to the bottom turn left so you're back on the road you came on and walk past the cafés and about another 50 metres and you will see Via Garibaldi in front of you as a vehicle tunnel. You then have to get to the right side of the road and turn right (just before the tunnel) at the road named Via Cairoli. Once you have turned right up this road it becomes the Via Garibaldi pedestrian area where you take your time and enter each building to take pictures. There are signs if you can't go any further or they are private property so just explore. We did all this in one day. We wish we had at least one more day in Genoa because we fell in love with the place. There is so much more to see but hopefully we will be back one day. The hotel staff were so friendly upon entering and exiting. The breakfast was unbelievably well stocked of juices, fruits, yoghurt, cereals, pastries, eggs, bacon. Your choice. Coffee too sitting there to have with warm milk or just ask the staff if you prefer an espresso. It's no problem for them to get it for you. The cafe next door to the chemist is so cheap for creamy cafe latte. You pay cheaply to drink standing at the bar and double to sit but even then it's still cheap. Great roll, sweets and coffee. Be sure to try them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I don’t know how long hotel Continental has been in business, but it is has its history. The elevator is from a previous generation and is well maintained; you are required to open and close the door. If you don’t close the elevator door properly then the elevator will not function.

Our room was located in the back of the hotel on a high floor and we had two views: one overlooking a walkway and the other view overlooked an inner courtyard. We stayed four nights and not troubled by outside noise. The room was clean, spacious, the bathroom functional, the bed allowed us to have a peaceful sleep.

The staff were very gracious, helpful, especially the breakfast staff. We were provide maps and staffs always responded helpfully to requests

The breakfast was buffet style, with cooked foods, cereals, fruit drinks, good coffee, and accommodating breakfast staff. We had dinner one night at their restaurant, and wished we ate there every night. The food and wine was good, the service excellent, and the price affordable. Eat here you will not regret.

Genova is a city consisting of many condos/apartments with alleyways being it hallmark. The residents are working class with many struggling to survive. But it is a city that accommodates the down and out and strives for a better future. It is a city worth knowing and exploring. Our only regret is not spending more days here.

We selected Hotel Continental because it was located close to the train station, but if we visit Genova again, we would select to stay here because it is a choice accommodation reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room ask for a transfer to another room. You will find one that you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrellRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The staff was ever so nice and helpful. The room decor was dated but the bed and bedding were first rate. Very clean and quite. Locations excellent for those wanting to be near a train station as this hotel is across from the main Genoa station. It is an easy down hill walk to the Maritime Museum which is great good fun and a short 10 to 15 minute walk to the main tourist area or you can take the bus from right in front of the hotel..The restaurant connected to the hotel has very good food at reasonable cost.
Breakfast at 12 euros is adequate but uninspired although the coffee is excellent
The elevator is a real relic but my husband and I thought it charming.

Room Tip: Eat at the the Osteria Carabas which is just down the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharplesPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,690 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,583 reviews
Quarto dei Mille
AC Hotel Genova
AC Hotel Genova
#21 of 91 in Genoa
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Property: Hotel Continental Genova
Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing