We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good. Service needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Caledon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Location is good. Service needs improvement”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

1. I had to ask for my room to made up having been missed and specifically asked for more soap. The request was partially granted and little was replenished. Given that I was there for 4 nights this was an issue.

2. I had requested for a wine bottle opener over the phone and I was put on hold and then the phone was hung up. I went down to front desk to make the request and received an abrasive, derogatory, rude response instructing me to go outside to the restaurant to get one.

3. I had an early checkout and I had to go next door with all my luggage to the adjacent hotel to close out the checkout.

Overall I am surprised that this hotel has an excellence rating. My experience would not support this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele F, Direttore at Hotel Continental Genova, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Shirley W.,

I would like to thank you for choosing and staying in our hotel.

I have read your comment and I have appreciated it very much, as you took your time to write it.

I am very sorry to know that we have missed an opportunity to make your stay enjoyable.

I would like to apologize for not being carefull with making up your room and not being sensible to bring to your room the bottle opener.

It is our aim to make our guest satisfy.

I hope, if you come back to Genoa, you will reconsider staying in our hotel, it will be my pleasure to welcome you and upgrade your room.

With my best regards
G. Fortunato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    338
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
183
394
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from 3 wonderful nights at this charming hotel! The location is great, directly opposite the train station and just a 25 Euro taxi ride from the airport.

We walked everywhere from the hotel and really enjoyed the Saturday street market where the locals were really friendly! We took a taxi to Nervi which has a beautiful park and promenade and a lovely place to have drinks by the sea!

The hotel was excellent! Really charming people, very friendly and they gave us great recommendations and accurate directions to all the sights! We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the front of the hotel. The room was immaculately clean, spacious, air conditioned and well equipped. Bottled water at no charge everyday and a comfortable bed and tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast was excellent! Hot and cold freshly prepared food along with, fresh fruit, juices, cereals and the most delicious cakes! Every morning we were given a warm welcome and great service!

We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food was really good. The menu is not exhaustive but the specials are great and the wines are excellent quality and great value for money!

Really super, comfortable, friendly and great value for money hotel which I am happy to recommend!

Room Tip: 436 was spacious, had a lovely balcony and a great view and despite being front facing, was very pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Lovely period features with the best of modern facilities. The adjacent Grand Hotel Savoia has a fabulous bar and restaurant and guests at The Continental are able to share the facilities. Best of both worlds really and the Continental's own restaurant punches above its weight. In summary, well worth the money and staff service first class. Great location for train station and walking distance to all main attractions in the city. Don't miss the palazzos or the aquarium. Funiculars and lifts to the suburbs great fun and give excellent views of the skyline. Best way to get there from places with no direct flights is to fly to Milan and then head for Stazione Centrale and take direct train to Genova - less than two hours and Stazione Principe in Genova is literally across the road from Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaycationScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Small and "old fashioned", (in a good way), it is ideally located near to the Genoa Piazza Principe train station. If you want to go into old Genoa, or to the Porto Antico, it is only a 10 to 15 minute walk. The old city has very narrow streets and is not very pleasant to walk through at night. The hotel staff are very helpful, and happy to take time to look up train and boat times etc. The rooms are modern and up to date despite the old fashioned character of the hotel.

Room Tip: Surprisingly, the area around the station isn't too noisy, but if you want a totally quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We loved this hotel - perfectly located opposite the station and bus stops. Our room was large and comfortable, and the old-fashioned lift was fun and efficient, (as long as fellow users shut the doors properly). It is very classic - lots of marble floors etc - and the water available in the lobby was very welcome. Reception staff were friendly. The highlight was dinner in the Tralalero Restaurant next door - great food, value and service. The public lift to the Castell Albertis is just around the corner, and from the top there are great views, a lovely garden and a friendly café. Genoa is an interesting and under-rated city - most tourists were Italian - and we made good use of the hop-on / hop-off tourist bus.

Room Tip: Our room as at the back, and on the second floor, so the view was uninspiring, and with the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
782 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As many have already written, the location of the hotel is superb, especially for those traveling by train: the hotel is at few steps from the main station "Piazza Principe".
Furthermore, the hotel is not far from the most typical, colourful streets around the harbor (warning for those who are too choosy: Genoa is a beautiful city, in my opinion, mostly because it's not artificially modified for and by tourists: the nearby "Via Pré", for instance, is a typical street for sailors, as we can imagine it a century ago, also for what concerns women who sell themselves in public alleys). Also, the hotel isn't far (through "Via Balbi") from the most typical monumental city neighborhoods, adorned with ancient, splendid palaces.
Even the hotel itself refers (in sophisticated form) to a past time, with its architecture, with its old (but efficient) elevator, with the beautiful room's furniture.
However, when the "picturesque" is also uncomfortable, the management didn't hesitate to introduce modernization: for example the windows of each room are double, to avoid the street noise.
The breakfast is the height of a 4-star hotel, the staff is courteous and professional. The price of a single room per night is fair: 99 Euros.
I must therefore explain why I don't give the maximum score. I do this for two (slight) flaws into the bathroom.
First, from the exhaust pipes of the sink and the tub occasionally some smell goes. Second, why in the shower in my bathroom the sprinkler didn't well comply to the support, and I had to secure it with makeshift means.
However, overall this is a hotel to be recommended without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on Easter Sunday. We were greeted at reception by a friendly and very helpful staff (Wahid). He have us aa city map and took the time to point out the sights to see and the best route to walk. He also gave us the timetable for the Hop on Hop off bus, Airport Shuttle bus and recommended seafood restaurants in the area. Being greeted by Wahid made a very positive start to our trip in Genoa.

The hotel is centrally located in the old town and across the road from Metro Principi (local train station) and a pick up/drop off point for the airport shuttle bus. It is within 10 walk from the harbor front where you can find plenty of cafes and restaurants. The historical centre (Via Garibaldi) is within a 15min walk and is well known for its ancient palaces. We felt safe walking around this hotel as we explored our surroundings until 11pm. One thing to keep in mind is after 11pm they lock the main entrance, and you will need your hotel room key to gain entry.

We stayed on the third floor overlooking the main street. The rooms are clean, well furnished and large enough to accommodate travellers with large suitcases. We enjoyed our short stay in this hotel and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CultureStamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,688 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,583 reviews
Quarto dei Mille
AC Hotel Genova
AC Hotel Genova
#21 of 91 in Genoa
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Property: Hotel Continental Genova
Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing