We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and close to everything. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to everything. ”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel hoping to park the car and not have to use it for 3 days and I want disappointed.
We have walked, used the hop on/ off bus and the train. All within 2 minute walk.
The hotel facilties are clean and our room was fantastic. We were on the 5 th floor towards the back, the doors are double glazed and also have electronic shutters. Minimal noise.
Disappointed definitely not. Friendly helpful staff.
The young lady in the breakfast room kept everything full and fresh. Credit to her when it was very busy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank debnkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    338
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
183
394
48
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is just across the train station, which made it very convenient for a one night stay to visit the city. Althought the location is not lovely in terms of views, it’s very close to the historical center and the port. (5 minutes to the palazzos and 10-15 minutes to the port- by walking). We did not feel safe in Genoa at all, but the hotel was very safe, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious, which is not the case for many hotels in Italy. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks as if it might hold secrets from years gone by - its elegance is aging pretty well. The caged elevator is a charming centerpiece for the property. The adjacent restaurant is where we enjoyed our breakfast buffet, which was included in our room price. Parking, however, was not, and that was a hefty added fee of about 25 euros per night. The room was large enough for three, and the bathroom was nicely appointed. We enjoyed our walk over to the pier, which was a comfortable distance. The osteria nearby where we had dinner was terrific. This was not a "destination" location, but I felt the hotel was comfortable and safe. And there was that sense if aging grandeur, too, that made it interesting.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our first stop on a trip through Italy, Austria, Germany ending in Amsterdam by rail. We stayed there in mid-June. We arrived to a very pleasant English speaking receptionist and were given an upgrade without even asking! Beautiful room at the back of the hotel (we had requested a quiet room) with everything first class and Art Deco design and very comfortable bed. It is an easy walk with cases over the road from the main railway station and close to the old city and port. Breakfast was excellent next morning. We wished we could have had more than only one night here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Traveled from Rome to Milan by car. Stayed 1 night in Genoa in Continental.

Pluses:

- good location (in port and close to historic center);
- nice and clean rooms;
- hotel take care about car (have own garage and take care about your car);
- ok breakfast (need to pay for it extra);
- very good Internet connection everywhere and without any boring User/password settings;
- very good service and helpful staff.

Minuses:

- after 9 pm nobody on reception (saw this in reception ad).
- during breakfast only 1 person doing everything. Be ready to have empty staff and wait for a while;
- be ready to pay for breakfast 10 Euro and 24 Euro to keep car in their garage;
- don't expect nice view.

Would recommend for passing by Genoa travelers

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotor, Montenegro
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I can understand why this is currently rated at the 3rd best hotel in Genoa by Tripadvisor. The location is pretty good despite what some other reviews say. It is near the Principe train station and also just 10 minutes walk from the port - ideal if you are pre or post cruise. It takes just 10 minutes to walk into the center of Genoa and this walk is through part of the Medieval city past grand palazzos and museums so pleasant. We had booked a standard double room and we were very happy with the result. The room was on the third floor which can be accessed via stairs or antique lift. The lift is great - just remember to close the doors properly behind you!Our room was spacious, immaculate and well equipped. Great views over the station towards the port from the windows. Despite it being quite a busy bus and travel route there was no noise at all from the very good triple glazing. Air conditioning was super efficient as was the high speed internet. Another good thing about the rooms on the front of the building - not sure about the back, was that they had shutters so that you could keep out the direct sun in the day and make the room quite dark at night. Well equipped bathroom and super comfortable bed. In room safe, fridge and tea/ coffee making bits and bobs.
Breakfast was served in the downstairs trattoria which consisted of the usual selection of continental meats, cheeses, patisserie etc.
The Continental is linked to (physically and corporately) to the adjacent hotel Grand Hotel Savoia. This is also a great looking period building with a spa and roof terrace.
There are plenty of small cafes, restaurants in the vicinity of this hotel for lunch and evening meals.
Would definitely stay here again when next in Genoa.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Quite pleasant hotel.

Good points: it's conveniently located if you're arriving by train at Principe train station. The room was quite nice for the price I paid. The antique lift is quaint (although noisy). The attached trattoria was very good and reasonably priced. The bar at the sister hotel next door is very comfortable. The breakfast on offer was too expensive so can't comment on that.

Bad points: It's inconveniently located in terms of the city centre and the metro stops running ludicrously early in the evening. The area between the hotel and the areas you will want to be in may take you through streets and alleys some people may feel uncomfortable in ( although I didn't feel unsafe). The bathroom in my room was very small, and I barely managed to use the shower, and I'm slim. There was no shower gel and despite my requests both at this hotel's reception and its sister hotel next door this situation was not rectified during my stay. The bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel are poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newportonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
2,694 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
1,589 reviews
Quarto dei Mille
AC Hotel Genova
AC Hotel Genova
#21 of 91 in Genoa
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Property: Hotel Continental Genova
Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing