We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$147
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$128
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Hotels.comUS$133
PricelineUS$147
eDreamsUS$147
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,065)
Filter reviews
1,065 results
Traveller rating
534
418
87
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
534
418
87
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station sister hotel piazza principe lovely hotel hotel savoia nice bathroom executive room old city tea coffee excellent location elevator port facade euro espresso
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 1,065 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The Continental is a quality Hotel, very much along traditional lines in style, appearance and ambience. It is really convenient to the main train station, just a short, manageable stroll, and well located as a base for exploring the attractions of Genoa.

From the time you arrive at the small reception area and thereafter throughout the Hotel the decor and furniture certainly reflect a traditional Italian era. The staff at reception were welcoming and helpful and it is easy to feel quite at home here.

Our room was surprisingly spacious and attractively furnished with the Italian theme. It had an interesting small "reception" or sitting area as well as the standard bedroom, a walk in wardrobe (very handy) and a well equipped bathroom. The bed is firm but comfortable, there are a couple of comfortable chairs and the air conditioning was well appreciated after exploring in the warm to hot late summer!

It is worth noting that the shower is in a very high sided bath and it is, frankly, no small feat to comfortably climb in and out of it! A trap for the less agile! And bear in mind that that dangling cord is a "help" alarm and not a switch for an exhaust fan. The phone will ring very quickly if you get this mixed up - another trap for the unwary!

There is a quality buffet breakfast served in the adjoining restaurant. There is a good range of "standard" continental breakfast items in a pleasant dining room. On one of our visits the hard working single staff member struggled to keep the scrambled eggs replenished but overall it is adequate and appropriate to a good three star Hotel which is realistically about where the Continental sits.

The actual Hotel does not have a bar or guest lounge in house but excellent facilities are available a short walk along the corridor to the adjoining Savoire Hotel (the bigger sister of the two). This has an excellent rooftop bar and restaurant which has some superb outside tables and well worth a visit. And there are lots of suitable eating and drinking establishments just a short walk from the Hotel.

All in all the Continental is a good quality Hotel which provides comfortable accommodation in a convenient location at ( based on this experience) a reasonable price. It is recommended.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales_GHS, Director of Sales at Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Peter,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us!
We are so happy to hear your kind words about our staff and our location, perfect for exploring all of what Genoa has to offer.
Thank you also for your notes about the room, a good help to make them even more comfortable
We really hope to welcome you back to Genova very soon.
Best regards
Gloria De Palo
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Handy if your training anywhere as the central station is across the street 1 minute away.
But the downfall of this its pretty noisy with traffic, however the automatic metal blinds/shutters will block out most noise buts its then pitch black in your room. Lift elevator bit tricky so chose the stairs most if the time. average breakfast nothing to rave about. Does have lovely seafood restaurant on site and italian restaurant right next door and 3 -4 pizza/pasta restaurants all within a 1-2 minute walk. The walk from the hotel into the main tourist area and attractions takes about 10-15 minutes or take the bus and it will be there in 5.....ladies at front desk were always friendly and ready to help. Rooms were surprisingly quite large and plenty of room.
Overall our 4 day stay was ...nice....

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank swesty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Great hotel, very helpful concierge re sights and routes. Great valet parking, other parking is only fo the brave in tiny cars. Very attractive old city walk on circular walk down to the port for sunset. An elevated motorway slices thru city in the port area in front of some classic houses. Old city has very very narrow passage with tall buildings that pass for streets. Before dark, charming old city, after dark really sinister, seedy down by the port.

Room tip: Not at the front
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BernardB1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We loved our two night stay. Our room was delightful, and certainly not a stereotyped "anywhere in the world" hotel room. Well-planned and thoughtfully equipped.
All the staff were lovely - helpful and accommodating.
The hotel's own trattoria is a great place to eat, both dinner and the included breakfast.
The welcome we received makes us want to return

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LongTallSilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I wasn't expecting that much for some reason, but I loved this hotel. It's 5 mins from the main station so is very handy. It doesn't look much from the outside but as soon as you step inside it's gorgeously traditional and welcoming. Our room was on the first floor at the front on the main road, so it was a bit noisy, but it was so bright, airy, clean and uplifting that the noise really didn't matter. The roof terrace is fabulous as well....complete with open air jacuzzis. Very much enjoyed it.

Room tip: Go higher up, away from the road
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SallyL321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews