We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food if a little toppy, but Charles is the star”
Review of Europa

Europa
Ranked #1,343 of 2,041 Restaurants in Genoa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food if a little toppy, but Charles is the star”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our second night in Genova, and after a poor pizza on our first night, our quest for authentic fodder found Mdme and myself shuffling up the Mazzini gallery to the poorly titled "Europa"

Surely a more imaginative name is required for a restaurant in a city full of flamboyant architecture and artistry (Check out the ceilings on some of the pallazzos, there's no plain magnolia here)

The stuffed artichoke to start was a great recommendation and the pasta with pesto was just what was required to refuel on carbs for future exertions,

hopefully nocturnal if the required mischief could be conveyed in my one good eye,

but probably diurnal, as an earlier perusal of the map by Mdme had identified hills to be conquered, and any midnight advance would likely be met with a "Save your strength for the morning Samson"

Anyway, the food:

The food was good, the wine was good, although the final reckoning was possibly ten euros too toppy,

The service was great and the place is worth the visit for Charles alone, a quick witted chap of Nigerian descent who spoke ten languages (we heard four in our short stay) He should be on TV,

a game show perhaps? or working at the United Nations at the very least.

Cheers Charles, you made our night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    54
    22
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
127 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Genovese food”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

In the middle of an old gallery, you will find this very nice restaurant. The outside wont "invite" you to get in, but once inside you are going to taste a very typical Genovese food, with a great pasta and fish qualities.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great spot for Genovese cuisine”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We loved the location in the Mazzini galleria, and the food was great. It feels like an authentic place, not for tourists but more for people who work or live locally. Reasonable prices, perfectly friendly service and a fine experience all around.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbondanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant so much we went back a second night. Large variety of food and cost so everyone was happy. Specially cooked up some gluten free pasta for one of our group. The waiter was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A place for everyone”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I used to eat at Europa as I was a student and I still eat at Europa being on business! It really maintain its double soul as easy pizzeria and traditional genoese high level restaurant. Very good food (also fish dishes). Prices very cheap at Pizzeria, not so at Restaurant. Nicely located inside Galleria Mazzini (right in the center).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarant0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Europa also viewed

Genoa, Italian Riviera
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 
Genoa, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing