We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel... but suite we had didn't look like the photos.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
Ranked #46 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel... but suite we had didn't look like the photos.”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

- Relatively Clean
- Older rooms... older shower...
- Washrooms were nice
- No Wifi in rooms
- Gave us free bottle of water from the mini fridge.
- VERY close to train station
- Good place for the money.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    81
    60
    16
    11
See reviews for
33
93
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kazan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We chose this hotel because it was centric and had parking. What I liked: the location, their closed parking, and their price was okay compared to what we saw for other hotels. What I didn't like: the room needed renovation, the carpet on the floor was quite old, one of the receptionists wasn't very nice and helpful at all. But as we stayed only one night - it was okay overall. I would probably find another hotel for next time. Oh, their breakfast was outrageously expensive, so we didn't take it in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noskis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo Ca
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We travel by train so near the Principe was our choice and this little place fit the bill. Nothing fancy but decent price for a night or 2, clean rooms, OK bathroom with shower and friendly front desk. Easy to get around if you are a walker, Down a little alley from the main street but a good hotel sign on the street to lead you. Farther down the hill on stairs are the back streets of the harbor. A bit on the seedy side once down there probably not good after dark. A good restaurant across the main street and others around. We'd probably use this again if we needed a stay in Genoa.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This hotel is in a great location next to the Principe rail Station (a few minutes walk). The airport bus stops at Principe and we also got a train to Santa Margherita Ligure and a connection to Portofino after a less than 2 hour journey from Principe.

The hotels are of a good size but be warned- we stayed for 3 days and had no hot water the whole time- the best it got was a little tepid. The rooms are clean, the caretakers are friendly and very helpful- probably among the best that I've come across. We wanted a room overlooking the harbour but given the overcrowding of the Genovese waterfront, you could see glimpses of the harbour and built-up harbourside.

The best kept secret is a Genovese restaurant located near the hotel as you exit left onto the main street- it serves great Genovese style baked fish and the local delicacy 'Trofie Genovese' (potato flour pasta with pesto).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silkcashmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed for one night in Genoa while travelling from France to Cinque Terre, Italy, so we only need a cheap stay close to the station. Hotel Agnello D'Orco is a cheap hotel that met our needs. Wouldn't stay here any longer, but then again, wouldn't want to stay in Genoa for more then a day either!

Good: 100m from the train station. Good cheap place for overnight stay - does the job. Friendly staff. The breakfast staff fussed over us.

Bad: The room had a funny smell and was stuffy. The bathroom was small. Breakfast was included but there was not much food - mostly sweets and cakes (I had a croissant and a banana).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bey0nd_The_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
188 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

From the reviews on trip advisor we were expectingmuch better. The bathroom was huge and modern buttthe room itself was cramped with an uncomfortble bed. The breakfast was good and although we had no real specific complaints about the hotel, we are certain that better value for money can be found in Genoa.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australian
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Great little hotel. We had a room with a view over the port, saw the fire works from the celebrations surrounding the submarine beiong taken on by the maritime museum. Wow, what a turnout ! one of the biggest social nights out in Genova for a while I would say. Why would you stay in an antiseptic very expensive 5 star hotel when you can get an experience like that and be very comfortable at the same time. Every 5 star in the world looks and feels the same, no character an no chance to get to know any of the locals or any of the little things that make a place interesting. I quite like to stay in older hotels, they all have a sense of belonging, of having a place in the world, and of having a history of service and people. Much better than stainless and glass with no character at all. The staff were very good, spoke good English, and nothing was too much trouble. Good service will sell me every time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderaustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.0 mi away
CIT Hotel Britannia
CIT Hotel Britannia
#25 of 90 in Genoa
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balbi Family Hotel
Balbi Family Hotel
#27 of 90 in Genoa
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#14 of 90 in Genoa
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chopin
Hotel Chopin
#15 of 90 in Genoa
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria Orlandini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agnello D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agnello D'Oro

Property: Hotel Agnello D'Oro
Address: Vico delle Monachette 6, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agnello D'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Agnello D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Agnello d Oro
Agnello d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing