We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Friendly Service”
Review of Hotel Cairoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cairoli
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Friendly Service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed recently for 2 nights prior to a Mediterranean Cruise and then again for one night before our flight home a few weeks later. The Hotel is located in an apartment building and occupies a couple of floors in this older building. The reception and common areas including breakfast room on the lower floor and the rooms on the floor above. The greeting and assistance of the desk staff was first rate all the way with good English and a lot of assistance. The Room was clean and while the ensuite bathrooms were tight, they were clean and functional. The only negative is the lack of elevator access to the second floor rooms which meant that you lug luggage up one set of stairs to the rooms. In our case the man that welcomed us and checked us in slugged the suitcases up the stairs which was very helpful. The continental breakfast was good - coffee or tea and a croissant. The location is well away from the harbour area but adjacent to the historic palaces and museums.

This is not the cheapest hotel available, but it is good, clean and in a good location.

All in all I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianSeni0rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    182
    52
    12
    9
See reviews for
98
140
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Pros: Cute boutique hotel with artist-themed rooms. The owner is friendly and very helpful. The location is super convenient, great for strolling around downtown Genoa. There's a nice terrace on which you can sit and relax. Breakfast croissants are delicious and, if you prefer to buy the bigger breakfast, you'll have plenty of options - yogurt, fruit, muesli, ham, salami, cheese, and panini rolls.

Cons: Beds are a bit saggy and mattresses a little creaky. Bathrooms are not small but space between toilet and shower is tiny.

Would definitely stay here again thanks to warm reception and great location.

Room Tip: Terrace-facing rooms have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crosby372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a delighful place. Our room was colourful, lots of space, clean and approx 10 min walk to the city center. The staff was very friendly and eager to show us the "have to do's" on the map. Our room walked out on the balcony and it was lovely sitting there before bed time or when you get up in the morning! We also stayed at a well known hotel brand in the city and i'd be honest to say that i'd choose Cairoli without thinking twice. Oh yes and the wifi was great to have :)

Room Tip: We had the room with balcony and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minnelise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I arrived in Genoa on Tuesday at the start of our honeymoon and were in need of a good rest and a safe place to park our heads at the beginning of our adventure. Hotel Cairoli is well placed close to the centre of the City. Our host Max was forward thinking enough to invite us to stay in the apartment at the same rate as a room as long as we agreed to move to a room should one become available during our stay. The staff were very friendly, accommodating and extra helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It's been two years since I stayed at hotel Cairoli so I was interested to discover if the service levels were the same. And, yes, it's still a great place to stay. Location is perfect - within walking distance of the railway station and the main attractions of the city. Handy to restaurants, bars, shopping. Staff are helpful and friendly. It's more like staying in someone's house rather than in a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
329 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Don't be put off by the entry to the hotel. As the previous reviewer says, it is down a corridor and up in a very tiny lift (be warned, two of you plus luggage will struggle to fir in, and if someone on another floor forgets to close the lift door, it will not work and you will have to use the stairs). This is a basic little hotel which is really very good value for the moderate cost. The staff were extremely helpful (Max had great restaurant recommendations) and the place is indeed 'quirky'. Rooms are decorated in the style of various artists (ours was lost on us) and are quite small. The bed was against the wall and not the greatest in the world, but overall the room was OK. There is a very large terrace which guests can use and our room had French doors directly on to it. Breakfast is basic (Italian croissants and coffee) but you can have eggs and other things if you pay a little extra.
The location of the hotel is good - just on the edge of the old town - and it is very quiet.
All in all it is basic but good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

To find it you have to do the Disney queuing thing: go through doors, along corridors, around corners, up steps, hop in a dinky little old fashioned elevator that clunks you all the way up to the third floor, ring a doorbell and you're in. Nothing simpler.

Our room, which we stayed in on two occasions within a fortnight, was clean, brightly and individually painted, with air conditioning that worked very well (thankfully), windows that opened if you wanted real air, a stocked mini bar, tv and pretty comfy beds. Both times so it wasn't a one off.

As a base for exploring Genoa it's in an excellent position on the edge of the old town. Staff were very helpful and friendly and didn't mind us murdering the Italian language too much.

For the price, and from our experience, I would have no hesitation in returning again or recommending it to those of you looking for a moderately priced, clean and comfy base from which to wander the maze that is the Genoan old city.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank His2ryCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Bologna
#34 of 92 in Genoa
140 reviews
Hotel Helvetia
#35 of 92 in Genoa
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Righi
Hotel Veronese
Hotel Veronese
#77 of 92 in Genoa
242 reviews
Olympia Hotel Genova
#4 of 92 in Genoa
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cairoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cairoli

Property: Hotel Cairoli
Address: Via Cairoli 14/4, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Castelletto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cairoli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Genoa, which, with its splendid Pallazzi dei Rolli was named a UNESCO World Heritage Site in July of 2006, the Hotel Cairoli is located on Via Cairoli, just a short walk from the Museum of the Risorgimento, the Aquarium, the Bigo and the Porto Antico, and one of the most unique and comfortable hotels for your stay in Genoa, for both business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cairoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairoli Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing