We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice people at the front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vittoria Orlandini
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice people at the front desk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

the guy at the front desk was really helpful and nice. my laggage was lost at the milan linate airport and it was to sent to Hotel Vittoria in the morning of my last day in genova and i didnt know the exact time(i had to know since my train left at 1pm). the front desk especially the guy(prob the owner of the hotel) called the postoffice and asked for me. i was so glad cos i didnt speak italian and know what to do/till what time to wait. plus even thouogh they didnt speak english perfectly they didnt give up on helping me with the laggage.

breakast is another nice thing. there were about 4-5different hams and bacons, sliced breads,croissants, coffe, juice, milk, and eggs and they all tasted good too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanakoINM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    184
    69
    12
    5
See reviews for
90
160
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Nice Continental breakfast old fashioned but clean and comfortable.Very helpful friendly staff.
Ideally located within walking distance from cruise termina.Easily found from trai and bus termini.Look along Balbi street turn left at big green chemist sign and follow hotel sign couple of minutes maximum Ican recommend it and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed one night prior to cruising from Savona. The hotel is close to the train station which was a major issue for us since we arrived late in the evening and were leaving in the morning via train to Savona. The hotel is an older place, a bit quirky but it's clean and the bed was comfortable. We slept well. The breakfast was satisfactory, Italian style, with lots of sweets which I don't eat for breakfast. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treesah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Good hotel. Was there 1 night before boarding on a cruise. Spacious rooms, average breakfast, nice staff. Very close to train station and old center. Kind of hard to spot, but once there the view is quite nice

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baba_gabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
949 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very nice greeting by several gentlemen - helpful showing the lifts and room, and providing a city map. It took us less than 5 minutes to walk to the hotel from the train itself. There is a lift from street level to the lobby, and another from lobby to rooms - very nice in a city with so many steep streets and stairs. Room is a comfortable size with room to put luggage on a bench. Also a desk and small closet. Bed is nice and firm with soft cotton linen and a light pretty & clean bed spread. The floor is a nice tile with design and there are two small pretty rugs, one on each side of the bed. Room has one large window that opens, not much of a view, and has shutters. The bathroom is large and also has an opening window. It was quite warm in the room and the air-con stops in September so with both windows open in the evening it cools down quite comfortably. Although with the windows open it is a bit noisy - can hear all kinds of conversations from outside. But is surprisingly quiet later after 11pm. The bathroom towels are large and good quality. The free wifi works well in our room. The included breakfast is in a nice room off the lobby and is well staffed. You can either help yourself to different coffees from a machine at the bar or the senora will make you a cappuccino or whatever with her espresso machine. The food is certainly sufficient - juice, water, cereals, yogurt, cakes, cookies, bread, croissants, cheese, and deli meats. Also a basket with a few fruits. A hoard of people came in for breakfast after us one day and I was impressed with how the staff handled accommodating them and replacing the quickly disappearing food items. The front desk staff were extremely pleasant (some of the same staff from breakfast). I think this is one of the friendliest hotels we've stayed at in Italy. The walk to the old town is bout 20 minutes. There is #35 bus stop right outside the hotel to the old town as well - you can buy a 24 hour bus ticket for 4.5Euro. Don't miss taking the many elevators and funiculars Genoa has around town and you can use your 24 hour pass for these as well. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to you if you are visiting Genoa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We travelled to Genoa in September 2013. We took the shuttle bus from the Airport to the town, which took about 20-25 min. Got off the bus at the first stop by the statue of Columbus and the train.
Hotel is little bit hard to find as it is tacked away from the via Balbi street. If you are walking down the street away from the train station the hotel is on your left hand side about 5 min walk from the bus/train station. You will need to take a lift to the reception of the hotel. The correct lift entrace is clearly marked.
The gentelman at the reception is really lovely and can speak 5 languages.Very polite. He took our suitacses to the room.
The room was perfect size for short stay for 2 people. Very quiete. I believe most of the rooms would be quiete as the hotel is tacked away from the main street.
Bathroom was also good size. The fixtures were more on the older side but very clean.
There is lots of restaurants and shops on the via Balbi and the cash point just cross the road from the hotel.
The walk to the city centre and the harbour takes about 20 min - very convenient location.
In the morning they serve buffet breakfast. Nothing too extravagant, but vey much adequate - Cereals, crissants, bread, jam, cheese, fruits

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a difficult review to write. We were looking for a place to stay after spending the main part of our holiday along the Riviera. When we'd landed in Italy the previous week we'd stayed at the Best Western City (currently no.1 on TA so always a difficult act to follow). Sadly it was booked for the last night we needed, so we did some more research.
The good bits: the room was large and very clean. It was quiet and just a stones throw from the station so it was easy to get to after our train journey. It was also conveniently placed to get the Volabus back to the airport. The desk staff were pleasant enough.
The not so good bits: its very, very dated. The furniture was not of great quality; i went to pull a drawer out and the whole front came off in my hand. Being near the station the area felt a bit run down. This was particularly pertinent when you realise that its possible for anyone to walk into the hotel bypassing the desk by walking up a long flight of steps next to the hotel added to which the door to our room didn't feel particularly safe. Also the breakfast was disappointing, almost to the point of being inedible.
We're really not that difficult to please and stay in a variety of grades of hotels. It cost us €65 for the night including breakfast compared to €184 for the Continental just along the road this truly is a case of you getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxation_Finder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#16 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#33 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
CIT Hotel Britannia
CIT Hotel Britannia
#25 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Olympia Hotel Genova
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nologo
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chopin
Hotel Chopin
#14 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittoria Orlandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittoria Orlandini

Property: Hotel Vittoria Orlandini
Address: Via Balbi 33, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Genoa
#11 Family Hotel in Genoa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vittoria Orlandini 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel in the city centre, close to the Porto Antico (Old Port), to the Genoa Aquarium and to the Principe railway Station. The Hotel, that is run by the Gerolla Family, is housed in an elegant building dating back to the 1920s. Thanks to its off road location above the road level, the Hotel Vittoria is the ideal place for those who wish to stay in a peaceful area and close to the main tourist attraction of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vittoria Orlandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Orlandini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing