We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap(ish), very clean, quite...”
Review of Ostello di Genova

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Genoa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ostello di Genova
Ranked #49 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Genoa
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cheap(ish), very clean, quite...”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

N.B. This hotel is also known as Ostello Per La Gioventu Genova, and Youth Hostel Genova. Tripadvisor has it listed under TWO seperate hostels, this one, and also 'Genoa Youth Hostel'. THEY ARE THE SAME PLACE. I have put this review up on both to avoid confusion.

The hostel being the only "affordable" place we could find that did not have terrible review on sites like trip advisor, we decided to go for it and feel eternally young (at 38 there is still room for "youngness"... We booked a twin room with ensuite bathroom and ended up having a complete dorm for 5 just for the 2 of us... Great! The room was very quite at night (partly thanks to the second door, but also because the rules about making noise at night are well respected). Also, I ended up putting my mattress on the floor (the bed being way too soft).

The place was very clean, rooms being cleaned every day. But the wifi was extremely slow, the breakfast quite a joke (unless you like a croissant out of a plastic bag etc...) but cheap (2 euro). We made use of the water boiler and microwave but did not dare chosing something out of the vending machines... One thing really missing in a hostel was a fridge or facilities for self cooking (which led us ending up looking for a restaurant on a Sunday night, which isn't all that easy...).

The building is quite high, but there is an elevator.
We had read it was a "modern youth hostel", but everything had already undergone quite some wear and tear and the place seemed to miss some modern amenities.

Travelling by car, we were happy to find a free car park at the facilities. Downtown (litterally) being far away (30 minutes by bus, don't know how many steps down...), you should buy yourself 24 hour public transportation bus passes. The buses drive quite regularly (but again: on a Sunday you should prepare your trips quite carefully if you don't want to end up waiting for 40 minutes because you just missed your bus).

One tip if you like your sights from a height: walk just a little more up to the castello. You will have great sights on Genova, from the ruins of the medieval defense system... (and enjoy some fresh air in the woods).
And also: the view from the terrace is terrific! Being nearly at the highest point of Genova, you have a great view of the port and the city...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FVM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    16
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
9
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

i stayed there for four nights while in Genoa. overall i had a good time and while its distance from the city center is bothersome a late bus does run to the hostel until 1am but just be sure you get off at the right stop!
the wifi worked fine, beds were good and the place was kept clean. the only real issue i had with the place was the breakfast which costs €2 each morning and is nothing more then a paper bag containing vending machine food, a juice box and the usual machine made coffee. still it was an alright place and i would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

First of all, the rooms are clean,we could change the bed sheets everyday.It is a little far away from the city center, but there is a wonderful sea-view, and it's very qiuet in night.The price is bretty,and the breakfast is nice,I like the capccino very much.By the way,they have a gratis park.
The staff are very kind and helpful. We have gotten much information from them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summermoon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Helpful staff, clean, spacious, good showers !
Its the only hostel in Genova and the cheapest place to stay by far. So you don't realty have any other options.
Love/Hate location amazing view, nice and quiet but 30min bus ride away from the town.
At first it feels like a hospital but it's simple and clean.
No kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

N.B. This hotel is also known as Ostello Per La Gioventu Genova, and Youth Hostel Genova. Tripadvisor has it listed under TWO seperate hostels, this one, and also 'Genoa Youth Hostel'. THEY ARE THE SAME PLACE. I have put this review up on both to avoid confusion.

The hostel itself is clean with 8 bed dorms. From Genova - Brignole station, it is a 30 minute bus trip on the number 40 (at night buses 64, and 640). The bus goes right through the middle of the city, so it's quite convenient.

This hostel is high up in the hills, overlooking Genova, and there is only a small supermarket, and one restaurant (not open Mondays) nearby. There is also a pizzeria that delivers, but just be aware, there is not really anything to do there.

In the hostel there is a common room/cafeteria area, with a coffee machine (don't get one, it's disgusting), drink machines, plus food vending machines. There is a microwave and kettle. You can purchase pasta meals from the vending machine for 4EU, and there are also some paninis and premade pizzas.

Breakfast is pretty awful. It cost 2EU, and you got a 'breakfast box' with a small juice, a cup (for a coffee or hot chocolate from the vending machine), a prepackaged croissant, and prepackaged mini toasts, plus a jam and a nutella type spread. Blehrg.

The hostel is closed from 10 - 2.30pm, and you cannot access your rooms/showers etc. You can, however, stay in the common area if you need to. No curfew though.

Wifi is free and accessible only in common areas.

Dorms are single sex. I was in room 120, and on this floor there is a shower room with four showers and a toilet room with four toilets, which can get a but busy in the morning, as it is shared with at least 5 (8 bed) rooms. Two powerpoints in my room.

Outside the hostel is an area with seats that overlooks the water, really nice views.

The negatives are:

- There is nothing to do near the hostel
- LOCKERS ARE OUTSIDE THE ROOM - You need your own padlock or you can rent one from reception.
- Closed from 10 - 2.30
- Beds have reading lights that don't work
- Hostel does not have a comfortable homey feel, feels definitely like a high school cafeteria, no couches, only a few powerpoints, etc.
- Quite a bit of street noise at night, but there is no air conditioning so you have to open the windows

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I wanted to like this hostel more. The lock-out hours only apply to the bedrooms, not to the lounge to check (free) email and eat. The lounge has an electric water kettle, microwave, and 6 vending machines. However, the location is really inconvenient and Genova's bus system sucks. That was a downer!

On the bright side, the bus is direct from the main rail station. If you need to get back late at night, you'll need to take a taxi or rent a bike (for serious bicyclists, given that the area is full of hills.)

You should know that an IH membership card is MANDATORY here. If you don't have one, you will be OBLIGATED to buy one. The man at the front desk explained that Italy's hostelling association should require it at ALL Italian IH hostels, much to my surprise! I have never heard anything like that before, and I've stayed at probably 40 IH Association hostels, in Italy and around the world.

So, before you travel, ORDER YOUR MEMBERSHIP CARD BY MAIL ahead of time-- it will save you a headache later. I was only staying here for three nights, and therefore I couldn't even buy a full membership card. if you don't buy the card ahead of your travel-- while in your home country-- you have to pay non-member prices for each night towards 6 nights of hostelling, plus a "buying-your-membership-card" surcharge of 3 Euro. After 6 nights, you finally get to pay member prices. So, be smart and think ahead.

The staff's English is fairly good, and the premises was clean.

Most of this hostel has those weird three-pronged Italian outlets (in America you typically can't buy the adapter for that one, even in a "World Travel Adapter" kit). Ask for the adapter behind the front desk, so that you can use your two-prong European adapter with their adapter, (equalling two adapters). If you're staying in Italy for several weeks or months, you should go to an Italian hardware store and buy the three-prong adapter.

10 Euro deposit for the locker's lock and key.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Ostello per la Gioventu
#42 of 61 in Genoa
12 reviews
Piccapietra
OStellin Genova - Hostel
B&B Delfino Blue
#25 of 163 in Genoa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 92 in Genoa
2,619 reviews
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 92 in Genoa
760 reviews
Sottoripa
B&B Dell'Acquario
B&B Dell'Acquario
#11 of 163 in Genoa
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostello di Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostello di Genova

Property: Ostello di Genova
Address: Passo Costanzi 10, 16135, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Genoa
Number of rooms: 64

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing