We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the station and very friendly”
Review of Albergo Astro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Astro
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had a nice stay at this hotel. The reception is very friendly and the receptionist spent a good 10 minutes highlighting places to visit in Genoa, including showing pictures of places with he visited with his son. They have this adorable parrot at the reception, which was extremely cute. At breakfast it flew onto my partner's shoulder and was quickly retrieved - it was rather hilarious! The breakfast was good (a pastry, tea or coffee, yoghurt and there is cereal available) and in a nice room. The room we had was HUGE! It was 'marina' themed, so it was covered in shells and painted blue and had ship models and other quirky things inside. It is on a main street in Genoa so it can be a bit noisy outside, so best to bring ear plugs. It did quieten down at night time though so it was not a problem. My partner did notice, however, that our room smelled quite strongly of cigarette smoke. We are both non-smokers so this wasn't particularly pleasant. Other than that, it is very close to Brignole Station (5 mins walk) and it is in walking distance of other attractions. We liked it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is near Brignolle station (5 mins). It took us a while to find as there are two numbering systems used on XX September street but got there in the end.

We didn't speak much Italian at all and neither did the receptionist when we arrived, but not a massive problem. Other reviews say they speak good English so it is certainly possible this was just because we arrived late (10pm)

We had an ensuite and it was quite nice. Only problem was horrible quality of reading light. Probably wouldn't go there for a long stay but was good for our purposes.

Breakfast was quite nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blutac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This little gem of a B&B in Genoa is really great!
Love the singing breakfast attendant, the friendliness of the staff and the house keeping crew who really are very friendly and very good.
The rooms are good sized, clean and comfy.
Excellent location in the center of town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imagesbelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

if you can find a way to tune out neighbors or headphones that are soundproof, i say book it immediately. if you are sensitive to noise, do not book this hotel.

i was VERY hesitant to book this place as i anticipated the variety differentials of the rooms, the 1 star rating, and the lack of soundproofing. and that was ON POINT. not all rooms are created equal here and that is your most important key consideration. BE SURE WHICH ROOM YOU ARE BOOKING. A RENOVATED ONE with beautiful new floors and newer furnishings (not the beds or bed linens) or one of hte older ones with the marble like flooring and lack-luster budget decor. new rooms are lovely, old ones are papitable. some rooms have bathrooms, some do not. some staff speaks english (some very well) and some doesn't.

bed mattresses could use replacing, but at least they are comfort however, have no firmness for bad backs. definately time for some new linens. newly rennovated bathrooms. standard miserable italian block shower but decent water pressure and heat. oh, and speaking of heat, its hit or miss pending the room. same with air conditioner the windows are nice and are pretty good at tuning out street noise. breakfast is mediocre but its like everywhere in italy so i'm not gonna complain, i don't eat it anyways. the entire place is super clean--including the bathrooms. the lighting, in my opinion, is awful but that's what you can with cost saving flourescent lighting so i understand. the personal touches of the room decor are sweet and endearing.

however despite all its growing pains, i loved the family run business. i was treated like a queen here and really appreciated the special attention. especially after i fell, twice, in the crazy sidewalk craters and twisted my ankle up good, did i say twice, i was given a glass of red wine, a snack, an icepack, lots of empathy, and oh and door to door service.

i'm super glad i would stay here but i would be sure to book a new room and one where the neighbors were not inconsiderate, rude, and noisy. despite it all, even the bad, i would without doubt stay here again for the right price.

Room Tip: just ask for a newly rennovated room and find a way to ensure a guarantee. if you need private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EUwunderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prodigioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikkaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 91 in Genoa
884 reviews
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 91 in Genoa
690 reviews
Hotel Fiume
#23 of 91 in Genoa
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Genova Centro
#9 of 91 in Genoa
583 reviews
Piccapietra
Hotel Major
Hotel Major
#44 of 91 in Genoa
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Astro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Astro

Address: Via Venti Settembre 3/21, 16121, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: £41 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Astro 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• L 'Hotel Astro is located in the center of Genoa, in the central Via XX Settembre; is for everyone a strategic point from which to reach the international fair, the historical center, the aquarium, the strong and the heights. • On the 5th floor with a lift. You will notice the beautiful staircase in typical Art Nouveau building dating from the end of 800. • The bright and silenzione, offer good visual spaces and a romantic setting and the whole rest; and they are all with TV and telephone. • The helpful staff is always available to provide customers with precise directions, maps and brochures free of charge, you can visit Genoa and thoroughly grasp the extreme charm. • In addition, the 'Hotel in collaboration with several partners, offers guided tours in' fascinating underground world of the city and the region that includes both urban and natural caving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Albergo Astro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing