We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff and good breakfast in a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Helpful staff and good breakfast in a central location”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in a triple room which cost us 98euro a night and is located opposite a lovely church. The hotel is located in a building erected in 1583, not that it's medieval origins are easy to visualize until you go upstairs into some of the rooms and experience the maze like structure and extremely low ceilings. On the first night our triple was a very small room which a tiny ensuite. Everything was clean and the room had air conditioning and as it was supposed to be for one night only, we weren't too fussed as the man on the reception desk had been very helpful and gave us good advice about which restaurants to dine in.
We decided to stay another night and had to move rooms which was great because our new
triple room was significantly bigger and could have accommodated 5 people with 2 separate bedrooms and a large bathroom.

Based on the rooms alone, I would probably rate this hotel a 3 however there were other factors that justify a higher rating. The first is the helpfulness of staff. The hotel also have lots of maps of the city and brochures to hand out to guests with their explanatory notes. They also
speak very good English. There is a cheerfully decorated food dining area for breakfast with a lounge area and a tv and computer which provides free internet access.
Breakfast was also quite varied with a choice of cereals, brioches, cornettos, bread, biscuits, jam, cream cheese, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a selection of Twinings tea bags for the non coffee drinkers.

Staff were polite and always helpful which made it a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask about room size as they differ dramatically as we discovered re our triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathCPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    206
    120
    33
    16
See reviews for
152
118
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
constanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The personal is wonderful
very clean hotel
wireles free,and free computer in reception
the breakfirst very good
its not luxury,just comfort!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
486 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a lovely little hotel across from the most beautiful church. Access to everything was easy, good restaurants, tourist sites, tour buses etc. The hotel is very old but also quite modern. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slwityk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Good:
Perfect location. Very good stuff. They helped us with everything - parking, sightseeing, dining places, etc. Will definitely recommend.

Bad:
A/C is very noisy and not cooling, Breakfast is quite limited and very quickly disappears because of many people for the small amount. Then you need to wait for it to renew.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed in August 2011. Staff immediately told me where to park, and where helpful throughout: always going the extra mile.

Rooms are clean and quite spacious. It isn't a top of the range hotel, but incredible quality for the price. Airco in our room and view of the piazza, but no problem with any noise. Breakfast is typical Italian with mostly cakes and sweets.

Great internet access and location is perfect to discover the city center or the old port.

Thanks again for a great stay, I recommend this wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The hotel is superbly located, just 5 minutes walk from the station and very close to the city center. Very good service, very good breakfast. Hotel would receive the higher score if they were not stopped immediately after the air conditioner out of our room! A day was pretty hot! When we returned in the evening instead of dream chill greeted us pizza oven! :)
Do not forget, get in the elevator up two! :) The elevator is small because the building is quite old. Overall I give a very good score of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TodorStoyanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Tired and late arriving into Genoa train station, I was relieved to be met with a kind, friendly face at the reception desk of this hotel. I looked at a couple of rooms and chose a narrow single room on the 5th floor because the bathroom was new! The tiny lift and the pokey landings on each floor are not terribly inviting. The room was basic, quiet and spotless and had air conditioning, a mini fridge, a tv and two free bottles of water. Breakfast is adequate. I stayed three nights. I was really satisfied with the hotel. The staff were more than helpful, supplying me with city maps, tips, routes, excellent restaurant recommendations and an inexpensive Sambuca nightcap! There were repeated requests however, to pay in cash. As a solo traveller I was not overly relaxed walking in the vicinity of the hotel after dark....thankfully the two recommended restaurants (Pandemonio and Gaia) are located just around the corner and the food is wonderful in both. All the wonderful sights of Genoa are within 15 mins stroll from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a newly renovated bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Castelletto
Hotel Cairoli
Hotel Cairoli
#28 of 90 in Genoa
352 reviews
Hotel Chopin
#15 of 90 in Genoa
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bologna
#32 of 90 in Genoa
133 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#14 of 90 in Genoa
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Piazza della Nunziata 1 | Historical Downtown, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, 3 star rating, is located in an ancient building dating back to 1585 in the heart of the city of Genoa, in the historic Piazza della Nunziata 1.Free wireless fast connection in all rooms and common areas. Free Internet Point ADSL at the Hotel's Hall. The 37 rooms on five floors accessible by elevator (completely renovated, with VIP and No Smoking floors), are completely soundproof, equipped with air-conditioning and heating individually adjustable by each room, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, recent replacement of all the doors of rooms and bathrooms according to the current regulations. The renowned area of Ancient Port (Aquarium, Museum of the Sea, Congress Centre Magazzini del Cotone and Shopping area) at just 200 meters, the Principe Railway station and the Cruises Terminal a few steps, the Carlo Felice Opera House and prestigious Palazzo Ducale at 5 minutes, FREE CCTV motorbikes parking and the garage service (€ 15.00 Per 24 hours) at just 100 meters, make the location of Hotel Helvetia unique in Genoa.Gluten-free breakfast available on request Dog and Cat Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing