We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel with perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent in the hotel a week at bussiness trip. And all in all I was satisfied. The location is perfect close to downtown. Usually I walked to the downtown and I do not need to use public transport but the train station Principe Sotterranea is close as well - 10 min of walk. The bus from airport stops at this stop as well. The staff was very polite and willing to help. The breakfasts were good. Only view from window disappointed me I watched to the windows of the next house across narrow street. That is why the room was quite dark. But, on the other hand, it is typical for Genoa historical downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    207
    120
    33
    16
See reviews for
153
118
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights and found it absolutely perfect for my needs.Upon arrival,I was greeted with a welcoming smile by the young lady at reception.Always a good start,check-in was quick and I was shown my fifth floor room at the back of the hotel,furnished with a very comfortable bed and a brand newly decorated shower/bathroom.The lady in reception,the male night attendant and the manager in the morning were always helpful and informative.I must say all of the staff were amongst the best I've encountered in any establishment anywhere.A delicious continental breakfast was accompanied by copious good coffee.The location is within five minutes walk of the port,aquarium and Via Garibaldi and less than ten to Piazza De Ferrari and Stazione Principe.Check out was rapid as my bill had been pre-paid.This was my first but hopefully not my last visit.

Room Tip: My fifth floor room at the rear of the premises was perfectly peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yambol, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Hotel “Helvetia” is situated opposite the one of most beautiful baroque churches of Genoa, the Basilica della Santissima Annunziata, on the homonymous square. The hotel is in the historical heart of the city, between main streets “Cairoli”-“Garibaldi” and “Balbi” on which can be seen the most magnificent palaces. Because of that it is on short distance from main historical monuments of Genoa, such as Palazzo Rosso, Bianco e Tursi, Palazzo Reale, Palazzo Spignola. The hotel proposes convenient, not very large but clean rooms. The continental breakfast which is served on the ground floor with accompaniment of the classical music is enough rich. The hotel’s staff is very kind and useful for tourists. For drivers there is possibility to use guarded garage near to the hotel for acceptable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kraspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just back from a three-night stay in Hotel Helvetia and cannot praise it highly enough. The welcome I received the minute I walked through the door made me realise immediately that I was going to enjoy my time here. My room was on the 5th floor at the front of the building so was a bit noisy during the night as I sleep with the window open but this did not bother me at all as I just love the buzz of Genoa anyway. All the staff I met were very friendly, the room was perfect for my needs and the breakfast was of a really good standard. This is my 5th visit to Genoa and Hotel Helvetia is without doubt the best hotel I have stayed in. I definitely recommend it and it will be my first choice when I return next May.To top my weekend off I saw Genoa defeat Roma 1-0. Forza Genova.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A convenient location for a stay in Genoa. Rooms fairly small and a bit dark but clean and quite adequate if you are not intending to spend much time in them apart from sleeping. A room at the back will be less noisy but you may still need to keep the windows shut - there is air conditioning. Staff friendly and helpful. Compared to other hotels in Genoa the room rate seemed very reasonable and no problem about paying with a credit card. We didn't have a car and I wouldn't recommend using one in Genoa !
An overall rating of 4 circles is a little generous but 3 would be too low.

Room Tip: Go for the back ! Visit the church opposite a magnificent ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Mr.Jamesread,

thank you very much for your nice words, very appreciated from the whole staff. The hotel is centrally located indeed, so you're right about not using the car!!!
We're looking forward to have you back as a fine guest at the soonest!

Nedo Ottonello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Ideal location, on the edge of the old town and a 5 minute walk from the old port area, and less than 10 minutes from the main train station. The service was excellent, very friendly with lots of great advice about the area, restaurants and so on. Breakfast was reasonable, and the size of my room was good. The facilities in the room were very basic, and it was dark, as it looked on to a side alley, which isn't necessarily a problem if you just want somewhere low-cost to sleep. The bathroom smelt incredibly musty, which was unpleasant. I'd an OK back-stop if cost is an issue and you've not got a lot of time to find something else, which was my situation, but to be honest, I'd probably take the time to look for something else next time to see if I could find something better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

For a 3 star hotel, rooms are very old and breakfast is very poor. Have to pay €15 daily for parking your car two blocks away and you have to leave the keys with the parker. What you see in pictures is not what you get.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genoa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Castelletto
Hotel Cairoli
Hotel Cairoli
#27 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#16 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bologna
#33 of 90 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Hotel Chopin
#14 of 90 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Balbi Family Hotel
#28 of 90 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: Piazza della Nunziata 1 | Historical Downtown, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, 3 star rating, is located in an ancient building dating back to 1585 in the heart of the city of Genoa, in the historic Piazza della Nunziata 1.Free wireless fast connection in all rooms and common areas. Free Internet Point ADSL at the Hotel's Hall. The 37 rooms on five floors accessible by elevator (completely renovated, with VIP and No Smoking floors), are completely soundproof, equipped with air-conditioning and heating individually adjustable by each room, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, recent replacement of all the doors of rooms and bathrooms according to the current regulations. The renowned area of Ancient Port (Aquarium, Museum of the Sea, Congress Centre Magazzini del Cotone and Shopping area) at just 200 meters, the Principe Railway station and the Cruises Terminal a few steps, the Carlo Felice Opera House and prestigious Palazzo Ducale at 5 minutes, FREE CCTV motorbikes parking and the garage service (€ 15.00 Per 24 hours) at just 100 meters, make the location of Hotel Helvetia unique in Genoa.Gluten-free breakfast available on request Dog and Cat Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing