We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda di Palazzo Cicala
Ranked #68 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Rome
Level Contributor
202 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

If you want to be in the very centre of the historic part of the city and you like small charming hotels this is the right place to stay. We had room 4 which is large, quiet and comfortable. The style is minimalist but the original features of the building stand out. I agree with the previous review that some things are missing - especially in the bathroom. Tiny shower with huge shower head means you get soaked and no bath caps are provided. No hooks and not much shelf space. But for a short stay this is not a problem. In the room there was a nice work station and tea & coffee making facilities which are not that common in Italy.
Breakfast was ok - except fort long life milk (UHT) only - yuch! Cannot understand why a place that charges this much can't be bothered with getting fresh milk! The rest was ok with fresh fruit and focaccia.
Common parts of the locanda are a bit shabby and the ultra modern decor did nothing for me.
In tha final analysis this is a characterful place for a short stay close to everything and for under 150 euros I would definitely reccommend it.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms look onto the little square and this is quiet. Room 4 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    85
    54
    51
    61
See reviews for
104
116
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This old palazzo is very centrally located in the old town of Genoa. Breakfast is generous, and many restaurants nearby. Rooms are very big, but there some things which are missing. I think the designer of the rooms did not think too much of the needs of a traveller. For example, in the bathroom there is nothing to hang your wet towel....so when you come back from town, you have your still wet towel. Staff is very friendly, if ever you see some of them...the palazzo is quite big and we just saw any staff member they day we did leave...I felt a little bit like in the hotel in the movie "Shining", just nobody around. But if you want a quiet place, then this must be your choice. However, a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Location looking put over the Piazza San Lorenzo really doesn't get any better, and it is wonderful to ascend the marble staircase to reception.

But the truly above-and-beyond service was the real winner, with the staff most helpfully taking on our rental car agency when our linguistic skills weren't up to the task...while we went out to lunch!

If it matters to you, ask whether your room is in the hotel itself. We considered the self contained apartment deep in the alleyways of Genoa to be an upgrade, but I can imagine being thrown by that.

Breakfast was excellent. Eat in.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Palazzo Cicala is a perfect setting to enjoy the best of Genova. It is a great location with the top places to visit in Genova all within walking distance, beginning with il Duomo right outsdie the front door. The building itself is fabulous and a perfect mix of modern italian design and functionality with the romantic authenticity of an italian palazzo. My room was lovely, and the bathroom almost too good to be true. The staff very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in the Palazzo Lomelino apartment in Via Garibaldi – an apartment with real grandezza, overlooking the inner courtyard with a grotto fountain, wonderfully spacious rooms, very cozy sofas to spend some time indoors, well equipped bathroom. Breakfast is delivered in the morning in a basket – very charming.Tea and coffeemaker as well as a fridge (minibar) are available in the apartment.
The Palazzo is very centrally located so most of the sights can easily be reached on foot. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We can warmly recommend a stay in Genoa in this apartment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint cezaire sur siagne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

As you climb the main staircase to the first floor. You will be amazed by the architecture and the feeling of excitement of staying in such a beautiful building. The entrance hall of the hotel says trendy. The welcome was very lovely and then...I have to say the room was disappointing. We stay in boutique hotels in New York, hong kong, south Africa, and London. So, we were disappointed by the amenities, furniture, and special details that make a boutique hotel. I agree with other comments saying that the bed was very comfortable and the location is brilliant. As for a period building the rooms are not very quiet and we were unfortunate enough to have families staying in the hotel who were like a herd of elephants up and down the stairs. Windows are traditional windows so street noise can be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Quirky and different.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room facing the church as the palazzo in the rear is like a speaker for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyagermundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Just across the San Lorenzo Cathedral in the heart of the charming "old city" of Genoa and a stone's throw from the acquarium this stylishly refurbished boutique hotel was a memorable destination in itself.

An easy transfer from the train station to the subway and a short uphill walk up from San Giorgio metro (or alternately downhill from the Piazza de Ferrari), Palazzo Cicala is easy to access even by public transport.
The location itself was fabulous and allowed for a lot of exploring on-foot of the charming cobbled streets and alleys of the old town and the porto antico.

The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, making me feel right at home with offers of coffee and breakfast and detailed information about places of interest in Genoa, while they made up my room for an early check in. (Later, when I had to check out a day earlier than planned, there was no fuss and no extra charge for cancelling at the last minute).

The extremely spacious rooms, with high vaulted ceilings and elegantly fitted with modern Italian funiture and fitments were a designer's delight. Although located at the edge of a rather busy piazza, they were very quiet with a high degree of privacy and comfort. I was surprised to find that my room even had a desktop computer to access the internet!
The continental breakfast was well laid out although perhaps not the best I had during my Italian vacation.

A wonderful stopover in my extremely memorable Italian vacation!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di Palazzo Cicala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di Palazzo Cicala

Property: Locanda di Palazzo Cicala
Address: Piazza San Lorenzo 16, 16123, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Sottoripa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda di Palazzo Cicala 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda di Palazzo Cicala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Di Palazzo Cicala Hotel Genoa
Locanda Di Palazzo Cicala Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing