We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Genziana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Genziana
Ranked #133 of 164 Genoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The location is very central, but you must accept that this area is where the prostitutes work day and night.
It can get noisy at night as they argue, but I always felt safe.
I found the room very basic but clean and spacious.
The Wi-Fi was great and free!
The owner and the other staff were exquisite and always happy to help.
I'll stay here again if I come back to the beautiful city of Genoa.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Abady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Genziana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Recommendation on booking.com web portal for this hotel was 7.5. We were first time in Genoa and based on comments we made reservation the hotel. We arrived and checked in at the hotel Genziana around 8 pm.
We brought all our baggage in the room and when we left the hotel by Italian police officers saw us with children and give us advice the area where the hotel is situated is very dangerous and uncertain. The rooms are terrible.
The street is full of alcoholics, ladies of the night, thugs and pickpockets. Hotel is always locked for security and you have to wait outside the door for someone to come and help unlock.Since we were traveling with two small children, the police warned us to be careful because of the frequent abductions of children. We immediately went to the front desk receptionist and explained everything (as much as it was possible because he did not know English very well) and he immediately accepted everything without any fee.
After that we were forced to look for new hotel in Genoa on better location during the night with small children. We have extra expenses because of that unpleasant situation.
Most unpleasant experience ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snezana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

It is really a great hotel with reasonable price. The staff can immediately check us in by mentioning my name upon our arrival as I booked 2 nights online. He was very nice and friendly. Only a bit noisy at night outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is located in the old city of Genoa very close to the harbor and San Lorenzo cathedral. All other major Genoa sightings are also very close — Palazzo Reale, Palazzo Ducale and all other palaces on Via Garibaldi. Genoa main train station — Genova Principe — is about 30 min walk from the hotel. So, the location of the hotel is ideal if you plan to explore old town of Genoa, visit its main historical monuments, museums, palaces and churches. Famous for its food and moderate prices Trattoria da Maria is also not very far from here. But, anyway, you better have a detailed map of the old city to find the hotel as it is located in the labyrinth of narrow streets (so called "caruggi"). The best way to find it is to walk along Via Degli Orefici to Basilica delle Vigne , and from there you will be able to find hotel Genziana easily.
We spent there one night during our two-day trip to Genoa from Nice — you can go to Genoa from Nice by train, which costs about 65 euros for two-way ticket and is a very good opportunity to visit one of the most famous cities of Medieval Italy and to diversify your French Riviera vacation. The personal of the hotel were very friendly and welcome, room, which was located on the first floor with bathroom inside, was very comfortable and clean with large double bed. We checked-n and -out easily without any problems enjoying our stay here. The only downside was that the window of our room was next to the Muslim prayer house on the opposite side of the street, so during the evening and some of the night we had to listen to their so called "prayers" which the local Muslim emigrants did very loud. I believe, that if Dukes of Genoa and Italian Crusader knights were alive now and would listen to this, they would, of course, take care of them, but now and here, at the heart of the old city of Genoa, it is now a part of modern cultural landscape.
Generally speaking, hotel Genziana can be recommended to the people who wish to visit and explore historical center of Genoa during two or several-days trip to the city. Hotel is economy, but yet very comfortable, and the hotel personnel are just great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxim_Domasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stop in Hotel Genziana just 1 night in our trip to Aquileia on june 2013. The hotel is in the city center and near porto antico. Great location and the room was clean in spite of the room has not a modern and new furnitures. The best for us was the staff. The staff is very kindness and we love their authentic italian coffee. They got it for free and it's the authentic italian coffee !! and we have a nice conversation with native people.
It was a nice experience and I'll come back again.

Room Tip: We tried the room for 3 people. A room with a big bed and a single bed. It's perfect for a short...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAB_QUIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Hotel is in a city center. Clean rooms. There is no bathroom in the room so you share it with others. We stayed there for a short, weekend city trip. Great for experienced travelers. Reception is open 24 hrs. Staff of the hotel was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aragorn65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were supposed to arrive for a two-day stay, but missed our train from Milan. When we finally made it to Genoa, the owner/manager was nice enough to only charge us for half of our canceled night (despite a no-refund policy) and even went so far as to help us carry our bags to our floor (unfortunately, due to the age of the building, there is no elevator). The staff speaks very limited English, so it helps to have at least a few Italian phrases in your arsenal when you visit, but all that is more than made up for by their friendliness and willingness to help. The next morning, as we were leaving, they offered to make us coffee without being prompted - an offer that was appreciatively accepted.

The room itself was a lot more spacious than we would have anticipated, even if we could have wished for a better-appointed bathroom, given the amount of available (and unoccupied) real estate. A smaller bedroom with a bathtub in lieu of a shower would have been preferable, but I realize that I am being overly picky for 55 Euro/night here. The double bed was also made up of two twins - something that we've come to expect from budget European hotels.

You are going to want to bring ear plugs as the location of Genziana is both its high point and source of annoyance. Our room's window overlooked the street (if you could call it that, since the distance to the next house was about that of an arm's reach), so we heard party noises well into the evening. And in the morning we were regaled with the dulcet tones of a couple of prostitutes' either arguing or sharing the latest social news - it was tough to tell based on the levels of their voices. Speaking of the members of the world's oldest profession - they are ubiquitous in the narrow streets, one scarier-looking than the next.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the street if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highlanderfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Righi
Mini Hotel
Mini Hotel
#76 of 91 in Genoa
161 reviews
Balbi Family Hotel B&B
#30 of 91 in Genoa
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sottoripa
La Rosa d'Oro
La Rosa d'Oro
#40 of 164 in Genoa
29 reviews
Righi
Benoit Room&Breakfast
Benoit Room&Breakfast
#53 of 164 in Genoa
33 reviews
B&B Delfino Blue
#42 of 164 in Genoa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genziana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genziana

Address: Vico delle Mele 7, 16123, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Sottoripa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Genoa
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Genziana 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Genziana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing