We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Colombo
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Excellent hotel in perfect location in the old town. Not the cheapest place to stay but the rooms are all quirky and individual with a lovely feel to the place. Very friendly staff and great rooftop terrace where breakfast is served. We asked for a quiet room at the back and it was very peaceful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2009

After the monotony of business hotels, the Colombo is so refreshing. Not the cheapest, but certainly individual, very comfortable and an excellent location on the edge of the medieval quarter. Our group took over most of the hotel so we were able to compare rooms; each floor and each room has its own quirky theme and is tastefully refurbished. The rooms are surprisingly spacious, tastefully refurbished with big comfy beds and a bathroom you can swing a couple of cats in. No views from the rooms at the back, you can almost reach out and touch the buildings on the opposite side of the street, but very quiet. On the front plenty of light overlooking the main street, but can be noisy. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace six floors up with great views. WiFi is available in the reception area only. Service is friendly and personal, reflecting the family ownership. Only criticisms are that breakfasts are OK but not outstanding. and the lack of few little extras in the rooms. Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Victoria, BC
536
Reviewed 17 March 2006

For the price we paid, Hotel Colombo was a steal! It is located in the historic center of Genova on a wide, well-lit street (we felt very safe walking to the hotel at night). It is walking distance from all the major attractions including the aquarium and the Palazzo Ducale, and it is about a fifteen minute walk from the Brignole train station. Inside the hotel the decor is ecelectic (candy-striped walls and a chest of drawers made from an antique trunk) and the staff are friendly. Our room was very small but clean. Breakfast is coffee from a machine and plain pastries, but there are several excellent bakeries nearby. Overall I found this hotel charming and inexpensive, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2006

I really loved the Colombo. Apart from the cowhide rug on the floor - yuk - our room 'numero uno' on the third floor overlooking the via Porta Soprana was excellent. The staff were all friendly and chatty, and I can't imagine a better location. The roof-top terrace is a perfect spot to have a couple of drinks while looking out over Genoa. The room we stayed in was especially large and had, as one other reviewer said, a faded charm; huge bed, a couple of old overstuffed armchairs, worn coffee table, and decor that's best described as 'bohemian boudoir'. I've since suggested the Colombo to friends who have all agreed it's a terrific, centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hove, England
14
Reviewed 12 September 2005

The hotel's website says the following:


"has been completely

restructurated last December in order to

complish with the most modern exigences of

our kind guests. We have now the privilege to

offer 26 rooms completely new, clean and

equipped by private TV and Bathroom. "

The hotel was NOT completely refurbished... we were given a room on the fifth floor that was drab, shabby that looked absolutely nothing like the photo on the website.
I mentioned to the owner that I feel that he should be honest with guests letting them know that the whole hotel is not redone but he didn't pay me much attention.

It was disappointing as I felt I'd been a bit duped by the info on the website.

Stayed: September 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2004

Stayed in mid-November 2003. It's a nice personable little hotel in an historic part of the city. Our room was large and had that 'shabby chic' look. There is a lift and lots of good cafes and restaurants nearby.

6  Thank actisup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Ipizzaroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Righi
Hotel Veronese
Hotel Veronese
#74 of 90 in Genoa
263 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Genova Liberty
#18 of 90 in Genoa
89 reviews
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombo

Address: Via Porta Soprana 27, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: £73 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colombo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing