We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in the heart of Genova”
Review of Hotel Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Colombo
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in the heart of Genova”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We had a delightful stay at this hotel over the New Year. The Hotel has a fantastic ovation right in the centre of Genova, easy walking distance from the sights, shops, bars, and restaurants. Each of the rooms is uniquely designed by the owner and full of nice eclectic touches. Breakfast is served on a rooftop terrace overlooking the roofs and terraces of the old town. The owners were very helpful and friendly, and we enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jn2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    57
    26
    13
    18
See reviews for
29
48
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Location: This hotel is right on the border between Genoa's centro storico and the major shopping avenues. So whatever you want to do is mere steps outside your door. There are also a couple of cute bars on the street.

Room: Our room was clean, bright (ask for a room in the front) and comfortable (we had a real queen-size bed, not two singles pushed together). The one potential downside to this place for some guests may be the decor - it's shabby-chic and funky. We really liked it, but our turquoise and purple room was definitely not traditional hotel decor.

Bathroom: We had a brand-new bath with a shower large enough for a full-sized adult (not easy to find in a 3-star Italian hotel). It also had a bidet and a serviceable blowdryer.

Breakfast: We don't usually eat breakfast in the hotel, but there's a lovely weather-proofed breakfast terrace on the roof with rooftop views. Totally worth having at least one breakfast there.

Staff: The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Parking: If you drive to Genoa, you'll need to leave the car in a garage. You do NOT want to drive around Genoa, and you can't drive in the centro storico anyway. We parked in the Marina garage, which is a pleasant 10-minute walk from the hotel, and is about $20 less per day than the municipal garage around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VespaGirlNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2009

A small hotel in a very convenient location just off the Piazza de Ferrari and walking distance to the main historical sights. Our room was stylishly decorated in an eclectic fashion, even though there was a slightly unfinished air to it. The staff were friendly and helpful. There's a pleasant roof top terrace where a decent continental breakfast is served. There is a fabulous restaurant next door and a very good cafe bar for lunches next door but one.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Excellent hotel in perfect location in the old town. Not the cheapest place to stay but the rooms are all quirky and individual with a lovely feel to the place. Very friendly staff and great rooftop terrace where breakfast is served. We asked for a quiet room at the back and it was very peaceful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

After the monotony of business hotels, the Colombo is so refreshing. Not the cheapest, but certainly individual, very comfortable and an excellent location on the edge of the medieval quarter. Our group took over most of the hotel so we were able to compare rooms; each floor and each room has its own quirky theme and is tastefully refurbished. The rooms are surprisingly spacious, tastefully refurbished with big comfy beds and a bathroom you can swing a couple of cats in. No views from the rooms at the back, you can almost reach out and touch the buildings on the opposite side of the street, but very quiet. On the front plenty of light overlooking the main street, but can be noisy. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace six floors up with great views. WiFi is available in the reception area only. Service is friendly and personal, reflecting the family ownership. Only criticisms are that breakfasts are OK but not outstanding. and the lack of few little extras in the rooms. Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 March 2006

For the price we paid, Hotel Colombo was a steal! It is located in the historic center of Genova on a wide, well-lit street (we felt very safe walking to the hotel at night). It is walking distance from all the major attractions including the aquarium and the Palazzo Ducale, and it is about a fifteen minute walk from the Brignole train station. Inside the hotel the decor is ecelectic (candy-striped walls and a chest of drawers made from an antique trunk) and the staff are friendly. Our room was very small but clean. Breakfast is coffee from a machine and plain pastries, but there are several excellent bakeries nearby. Overall I found this hotel charming and inexpensive, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2006

I really loved the Colombo. Apart from the cowhide rug on the floor - yuk - our room 'numero uno' on the third floor overlooking the via Porta Soprana was excellent. The staff were all friendly and chatty, and I can't imagine a better location. The roof-top terrace is a perfect spot to have a couple of drinks while looking out over Genoa. The room we stayed in was especially large and had, as one other reviewer said, a faded charm; huge bed, a couple of old overstuffed armchairs, worn coffee table, and decor that's best described as 'bohemian boudoir'. I've since suggested the Colombo to friends who have all agreed it's a terrific, centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Sottoripa
Locanda di Palazzo Cicala
Olympia Hotel Genova
#4 of 92 in Genoa
638 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Castelletto
Hotel Cairoli
Hotel Cairoli
#33 of 92 in Genoa
358 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombo

Property: Hotel Colombo
Address: Via Porta Soprana 27, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colombo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing