We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good hostel”
Review of Manena Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manena Hostel
Ranked #3 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I really like my time in this hostel. The service is fantastic, the owners are the best and the location is great. I will return.
I put A++++++. you should stay in this hostel.
You have a fantastic breakfast very cheap, you have a kitchen where you can cook any time. It is near everything. Yes, need to have some more stuff but is still young hostel and will grow up a lot. If you are going to Genova, this is the best hostel to stay. You don't will have any other in the centre and cheap.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natanael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked the complete hostel for my family for 2 days, everything went perfectly, people very nice and ready to make your stay very comfortable
The Hostel was very clean with a big kitchen

The Place is closed to the porto antico and the old city (party place)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Location was great and kitchen was very nice and spacious. Small hostel with many beds, needs more bathrooms. Owner was rude. Used one of the deals to get a 5 room to ourselves but had to have another person in it and the owner didn't seem to be appreciative.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilliangio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manena_Staff, Manager at Manena Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear guest,

As you'll probably know, if you book a 5 bed dorm and you secretly let 2 more friends come in you're doing something unfair and against the law too!

Thanks for your comment anyway.

Giulio Talamanca
Manena Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This hostel is in a good location, beds are comfortable, showers are clean, breakfast is delicious and staff are friendly, especially Manuel!

Idea for your stay: Walk down the port and along Corso Italia. Then head up into town and visit Piazza de Ferrari and Cattedrale di San Lorenzo. Spend the evening eating genuine Genovese food at Trattoria da Maria and then visit some local bars and try a digestive drink called L'Azzinello. Make sure to buy some fresh pesto from the shops before you leave and eat it with pasta and local red wine - delicious!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I read some negative things about Genoa but my instincts told me to give it a try and I was glad that I did. It's no Florence or Venice but it's certainly not a bad place for a short visit (I liked it better than Milan). As for a place to stay, this hostel can't be beat. I stayed in the large dorm which had very comfortable beds and nice big windows over-looking the narrow street behind the hostel. Never any sound came up at night, so a peaceful sleep was had. Staff was friendly and helpful. They mapped out a great array of things to do while I was in town. Some of the other hostel guests were bothered walking down some of the nearby, narrow streets as it was something of a red light district. Being a big guy, I was never intimidated but some women might be bothered. never the less, this should not detract you. Rather than taking the little streets, take Via Garabaldi to the hostel. This street is filled with grand architecture, is well lit and people walking about even late into the evening (don't miss the 1:30 AM lock out). When booking this location, be sure to note the directions well. The streets in Genoa can be a little confusing but the description on hostelbooker.com (where I made my reservations) were well detailed. I had no trouble getting here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place is clean. The bathroom floor started to get dirty by the end of day so bring shower shoes toilets and showers are in same room. Very clean good supply of cooking stuff. Did not get the breakfast. Coman room was a little small. This is a good place to get sleep they have a lock out at one am so do not plan to stay out late partying. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazyeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I recently stayed at this hostel and was extremely impressed. For the price, I wasn't expecting anything special but was pleasantly surprised. The facilities were excellent, all clean and working, the staff were exceptionally friendly and really helpful, and also the location was perfect, right in the city centre. The atmosphere within the hostel was great and really relaxed, the bed was warm and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious with a certain local specialty. The value for money is second to none and I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone. The only negative is that it has set the standard so high, people will be disappointed when trying to find another hostel with the same value and experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 90 in Genoa
884 reviews
Sampierdarena
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#83 of 90 in Genoa
50 reviews
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 90 in Genoa
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Major
Hotel Major
#44 of 90 in Genoa
58 reviews
Piccapietra
OStellin Genova - Hostel
Victoria House Hostel
#6 of 69 in Genoa
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manena Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manena Hostel

Address: Via Alla Chiesa della Maddalena 9/1, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa > Piccapietra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Genoa
Price Range: £16 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the best located hostel in Genova and your best low cost option for sure: free walking tours, discounts at the best bars, restaurants discos and clubs nearby and free booking of activities (climbing, kayaking, scuba diving) and... no curfew here!!! We're right inside Unesco world heritage historical town and we'll be your guide to all the highlights in this area: history, art, melting pot, shops and nightlife, you got it all. Just try our free walking tour and you'll be surprised! The historical town of Genova is limited traffic zone, so we recommend you to get in contact with us if you're coming to town on a car! Please note tourist tax is NOT included in bed rates (1€ p.n.p.p.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manena Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing