We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CIT Hotel Britannia
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here. Found the staff helpful and friendly. As with the other reviews it is close to transport and the area is ok. Can't believe the dodgy area comments! Would stay again by Italy standards.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STJohnPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The only problem we had was finding the place, the sign on the side of the building says Soglia Hotel, Hotel Brittannia is only visible above the door and we walked right past it. We did have to wait a while for the receptionist as she was on the phone but service was polite. We had a large quiet room (425) on the 4th floor overlooking the rear courtyard which was lovely and cool with shutters on the windows. Bed was extremely comfortable but pillows a bit flat. There was a fridge but unfortunately there were no tea or coffee facilities available. Burn mark on the carpet but otherwise it was clean. Bathroom was also clean and good pressure in the shower. Breakfast was typical continental breakfast. We had no problem with the area, the police station is next door. Conveniently situated to the train station and the Hop On Hop Off Bus stop. They stored our luggage, no charge, on the morning we checked out.

Room Tip: If possible get a room at the rear as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ole20nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Firstly, we arrived at 11.00 and we were told we had to come back at 2.00 to check in, fine however, we arrived back at 2.00pm and were told it would be 5 minutes before our room would be ready, after waiting in front of the reception for nearly an hour we asked what was happening only to be told our room was suddenly ready. Why had they not told us?

It later appeared that the people that were being made to wait for their rooms were British, no Italian guests waited! Customer service could be better.

While the receptionist dealing with us was professional she wasn't exactly welcoming, neither was her colleague who did not smile at any of the visitors and was sitting at the main desk on a computer the whole time. Whatever she was doing should have been done behind the scenes.

The room was not as shown on the pictures. Our room was painted orange and the lighting was poor no centre light and very gloomy. The bathroom was in better condition than the room which was in dire need of upgrading! There was also a permanent smell in the room and although it was spotlessly clean the out dated decor and gloomy lighting made it feel grubby.

At breakfast none of the meats or the milk was chilled. The coffee was out of a machine, very disappointing considering we were in Italy and the so called fresh orange juice, also from a machine, was radioactive looking, almost red!

Not the sort of place I would recommend although I suppose you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutsy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived at about 10 am, so before check in, but the receptionist said our room would be ready in an hour so we dropped our bags in a back room and went for a walk around town. When we returned there was a different receptionist that said we had no reservation (even though I showed her my confirmation email) and she said the hotel was full. After an hour of trying to find our reservation another guest came down to express their disappointment with their room ( said it was dirty and it needed to be cleaned) and she YELLED at them telling them to wait their turn she was busy. She then found our reservation but said she. Had no room for us- but said maybe she would give us someone else's room that hasn't arrived yet (so I can assume she gave ours away) she then said she would upgrade us and sent us to a larger room. Once we got settled in there she called us telling us she had another room for us. So we had to pack up and switch.

The rooms are a good size but have stains on the carpet and top blanket. Sheets were clean. Walk 25 minutes to shopping area in Genova

I suggest staying elsewhere. Too much of a hassle to stay at this hotel. No organization in the office

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessiraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is situated a few minutes from the train station and a short walk from all of the UNESCO buildings. However, it is a pretty rough area and I would not feel comfortable walking alone during the night. The room itself had filthy carpets, weird decor and a type of TV I haven't seen since the 90's. There was also official looking documentation on the back of the door that classified the room as 3 stars, not 4. However, at 40 pounds/night it was still good value. The breakfast was ok and the staff were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

At first the hotel is located in an absolutely unsafe area with absolutely no parking . Second by the time we arrived the receptionist who barely speak any English realized that the room I booked was given by mistake to someone else so we ended up in a dirty smelly room somewhere at 5ft floor ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Generally I saw more than one hotel and Genova hotels are not that amazing.. In this hotel u are minutes walk from the both the train and the bus so transportation is so easy.. The hotel is so clean.i had a big and wide room..the staff is so helpful and friendly..they helped us so much.. The breakfast actually was the same everyday but plenty of options and quality is good and fresh bakery.the hotel is small no other facilities except the lobby but it is cozy .

Room Tip: Actually we were distributed on 5 rooms but were not that different.my room was the best but they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Nord
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#16 of 91 in Genoa
454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Europa Genova City Centre
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental Genova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
#42 of 91 in Genoa
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balbi Family Hotel B&B
Balbi Family Hotel B&B
#29 of 91 in Genoa
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olympia Hotel Genova
Olympia Hotel Genova
#3 of 91 in Genoa
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CIT Hotel Britannia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CIT Hotel Britannia

Address: Via Balbi 38, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: £59 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CIT Hotel Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your CIT Hotel Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing